We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice relaxing gardens in a good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pousada Cauca

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Pousada Cauca
Ranked #5 of 92 Ilha Grande B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, UK
Level Contributor
244 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing gardens in a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

Nice gardens to relax in, good location near main pier so not far to carry luggage, and also near bars/restaurants/tour companies/shops, good range of food at breakfast, comfortable rooms overlooking garden area.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo_Aberdeen_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    102
    13
    6
    0
See reviews for
41
182
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mendoza
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 4nights. Except for a pyramid bed the room was nice, clean and has an excellent ensuite. The breakfast was excellent but we had to avoid the owner whenever he breakfasted as he would snort all his nasal Flem in a loud vile way almost constantly. I've spent time in India and China and this was up there with the Best! What a shame as it really bought the tone down and ruined the chilled vibes in the lovely pousada garden. If it's a tactic to stop guests eating so much at breakfast it certainly works!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celesteviotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey County, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

First the positives: good location, and quiet.
However, after staying 2 nights, we actually left and went to find another room for our last night on the island, mainly because the bed was literally LIKE A BOARD! We travel a lot, and have had our share of hard beds, but this was ridiculous. Also, the decor was rather hideous (Lavender walls!), the breakfast was swarming with insects, the air conditioning went out in the middle of the night and the internet didn't work (when asked about the wifi, they could only manage..."we have a problem...". altho to be fair, they did say they would fix the ac)
The staff could definitely be friendlier, and they made little attempt to speak any English.
There are tons of pousadas on the island, it wasn't difficult to find a much nicer one for our last night.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mndb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

we`ve just spent three nights at pousada cauca on Ilha Grande and I can´t speak highly enough of the service we receieved. The rooms are spacious with both air-con and a fan. They are cleaned everyday with fresh linen. The garden area is pretty and with better weather woudl have been a nice area to sit in and relax. They have a selection of DVD´s available for those rainy days. The location is a short two to three minute stroll to the shops and beachfront.

I reserve the best for last as my girlfriend was ill during out stay. The owners went out of their way to make sure she was ok. They pointed us in the direction of the local clinic and wrote a portuguese translation of her symptons. Truly very kind hosts.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2011

Ilha Grande is superb - we stayed for 4 nights (could have easily stayed longer) and in that time stayed at two pousadas - this one, and also Manaca Inn. We had a good sized room with a very clean and modern bathroom, which was a plus. The large garden is a highlight and there are some quirky touches which add something special to this place. The breakfast was delicious. That said, we preferred Manaca (see separate review) - probably due to its beachfront location, staff, and more intimate experience. However, the staff at Cauca were also good and the location, while not beachfront, was very central in the Abraao village (but with the rooms nicely tucked away from street noise etc). I would happily recommend Cauca, as well as Manaca.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CDM001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

Hi, This is a lovely pousada with a quiet internal garden that is very relaxing. The pousada is nice and quiet while still located only a couple of minutes from the action.

The staff were lovely, certainly a place worth checking out.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EDH_1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0.2 mi away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#2 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hospedagem Acorde
Hospedagem Acorde
#13 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pousada Casablanca
Pousada Casablanca
#10 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Asalem
Asalem
#4 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
11.6 mi away
Pousada Lagamar
Pousada Lagamar
#8 of 92 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pousada Riacho dos Cambucas
Pousada Riacho dos Cambucas
#9 of 92 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Cauca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Cauca

Property: Pousada Cauca
Address: Rua Getulio Vargas, 300, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23900-960, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Ilha Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Cauca 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ready to welcome you! Pousada Caúca is a haven of peace surrounded by a large green area. Inaugurated in 1991, our main goal is quality of service. Our staff is trained and able to guide you about walks, boat rides and give guidelines of the best bars and restaurants in the village. The Inn's environment is familiar and offer tranquility and privacy in the comfort of the suites, so you feel at home. Thank you for choosing our Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Pousada Cauca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Cauca Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing