We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, but nothing special”
Review of Pousada Cauca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pousada Cauca
Ranked #4 of 96 Ilha Grande B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Clean, but nothing special”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

It's Ilha Grande, so don't expect the Ritz. This place is clean, the breakfast is decent, the wifi is free and mostly works, the staff is generally kind, and the garden is pretty. The rooms are basic, the shower's water pressure is low, and the water gets only warm, not hot (but that's probably to be expected in this location). Pousada Cauca really deserves a 3.5 rating: better than average, but not "very good." Basically: a place to sleep and wake up when you're not tramping through the jungle.

Note: Not a lot of English speakers on the staff, so if you need/want help planning your Ilha Grande activities and aren't good in Portuguese you might opt for another pousada.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler1983_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    103
    13
    7
    0
See reviews for
43
188
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Volta Redonda, RJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I have stayed at the Pousada twice. The rooms are clean, breakfast varied and tasty. There are hammocks and a nice garden for a chill-out time outside. And in case of rain, there is a big comfortable space with pillows ideal for book lovers (books, in many languages, are available in the lounge). There is a special shower for guests once they have checked-out, so one may enjoy one additional day at the beach and before leaving the island wash off the sand and salt (a small thing that makes you feel clean and great before heading back home). However the best part is the helpfulness and easy-going service. I truly recommend Pusada Cauca!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank umienk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Although there are many pousadas in Abraao, Cauca has one of of the more favorable location. Although very close to the main streets and center, the backyard is removed and relaxing with hammocks and areas to lounge. The rooms were very clean and the grounds were well-maintained. The staff was friendly and attentive and the breakfast was pretty standard but good! I would recommend Pousada Cauca!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, UK
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

Nice gardens to relax in, good location near main pier so not far to carry luggage, and also near bars/restaurants/tour companies/shops, good range of food at breakfast, comfortable rooms overlooking garden area.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo_Aberdeen_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mendoza
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 4nights. Except for a pyramid bed the room was nice, clean and has an excellent ensuite. The breakfast was excellent but we had to avoid the owner whenever he breakfasted as he would snort all his nasal Flem in a loud vile way almost constantly. I've spent time in India and China and this was up there with the Best! What a shame as it really bought the tone down and ruined the chilled vibes in the lovely pousada garden. If it's a tactic to stop guests eating so much at breakfast it certainly works!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celesteviotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey County, California
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

First the positives: good location, and quiet.
However, after staying 2 nights, we actually left and went to find another room for our last night on the island, mainly because the bed was literally LIKE A BOARD! We travel a lot, and have had our share of hard beds, but this was ridiculous. Also, the decor was rather hideous (Lavender walls!), the breakfast was swarming with insects, the air conditioning went out in the middle of the night and the internet didn't work (when asked about the wifi, they could only manage..."we have a problem...". altho to be fair, they did say they would fix the ac)
The staff could definitely be friendlier, and they made little attempt to speak any English.
There are tons of pousadas on the island, it wasn't difficult to find a much nicer one for our last night.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mndb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

we`ve just spent three nights at pousada cauca on Ilha Grande and I can´t speak highly enough of the service we receieved. The rooms are spacious with both air-con and a fan. They are cleaned everyday with fresh linen. The garden area is pretty and with better weather woudl have been a nice area to sit in and relax. They have a selection of DVD´s available for those rainy days. The location is a short two to three minute stroll to the shops and beachfront.

I reserve the best for last as my girlfriend was ill during out stay. The owners went out of their way to make sure she was ok. They pointed us in the direction of the local clinic and wrote a portuguese translation of her symptons. Truly very kind hosts.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0.7 mi away
Asalem
Asalem
#6 of 17 in Ilha Grande
286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pousada Casablanca
Pousada Casablanca
#9 of 17 in Ilha Grande
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#2 of 17 in Ilha Grande
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
#12 of 17 in Ilha Grande
310 reviews
11.6 mi away
Vila Pedra Mar
Vila Pedra Mar
#3 of 17 in Ilha Grande
207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pousada Riacho dos Cambucas
Pousada Riacho dos Cambucas
#7 of 96 in Ilha Grande
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Cauca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Cauca

Property: Pousada Cauca
Address: Rua Getulio Vargas, 300, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23900-960, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Ilha Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Cauca 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ready to welcome you! Pousada Caúca is a haven of peace surrounded by a large green area. Inaugurated in 1991, our main goal is quality of service. Our staff is trained and able to guide you about walks, boat rides and give guidelines of the best bars and restaurants in the village. The Inn's environment is familiar and offer tranquility and privacy in the comfort of the suites, so you feel at home. Thank you for choosing our Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pousada Cauca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Cauca Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing