We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place to come home to!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pousada Cauca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pousada Cauca
Ranked #5 of 92 Ilha Grande B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A good place to come home to!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

This Pousada is a must stay ! Beautiful and well maintained gardens, friendly and welcoming staff. The lists of positives are endless. The breakfasts are healthy, beautiful fresh fruit salads. Fresh bread rolls. The garden is immaculate, they are watered and pruned daily. You always see the gardeners raking up leaves and picking up branches which have fallen off overnight. The two hammocks are a must try! There is even a meditation hut with a thousand pillows, which you can sink into and forget your worries. The Pousada is close to the bakery, supermarkets, restaurants and jetty area. Remember. if you have a trolley bag, get a local porter to transport it to the Pousada, the roads are sandy. Whilst staying here make sure you visit Lopez Medes beach for the day. The only negative about our stay was wifi, which constant was slow or no existent. However, in saying that, it is an island, so ditch the wifi and enjoy the relaxing time. We stayed in a superior suite, which had a bigger room and bed. The beds in the general suites are hard, so it could effect your sleep. A great stay..

Room Tip: I recommend a superior room for sleep quality. We stayed in a general room, and noticed the harder b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barramax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    101
    13
    6
    0
See reviews for
41
181
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Excellent place, excellent staff and very cosy accommodations! The cost/benefit is worthwhile and it's the middle of everything! The owner also recommends places to go and the agencies to go with! Totally recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalterEmiliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

It's Ilha Grande, so don't expect the Ritz. This place is clean, the breakfast is decent, the wifi is free and mostly works, the staff is generally kind, and the garden is pretty. The rooms are basic, the shower's water pressure is low, and the water gets only warm, not hot (but that's probably to be expected in this location). Pousada Cauca really deserves a 3.5 rating: better than average, but not "very good." Basically: a place to sleep and wake up when you're not tramping through the jungle.

Note: Not a lot of English speakers on the staff, so if you need/want help planning your Ilha Grande activities and aren't good in Portuguese you might opt for another pousada.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler1983_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volta Redonda, RJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

I have stayed at the Pousada twice. The rooms are clean, breakfast varied and tasty. There are hammocks and a nice garden for a chill-out time outside. And in case of rain, there is a big comfortable space with pillows ideal for book lovers (books, in many languages, are available in the lounge). There is a special shower for guests once they have checked-out, so one may enjoy one additional day at the beach and before leaving the island wash off the sand and salt (a small thing that makes you feel clean and great before heading back home). However the best part is the helpfulness and easy-going service. I truly recommend Pusada Cauca!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank umienk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Although there are many pousadas in Abraao, Cauca has one of of the more favorable location. Although very close to the main streets and center, the backyard is removed and relaxing with hammocks and areas to lounge. The rooms were very clean and the grounds were well-maintained. The staff was friendly and attentive and the breakfast was pretty standard but good! I would recommend Pousada Cauca!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, UK
Level Contributor
244 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

Nice gardens to relax in, good location near main pier so not far to carry luggage, and also near bars/restaurants/tour companies/shops, good range of food at breakfast, comfortable rooms overlooking garden area.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo_Aberdeen_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mendoza
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 4nights. Except for a pyramid bed the room was nice, clean and has an excellent ensuite. The breakfast was excellent but we had to avoid the owner whenever he breakfasted as he would snort all his nasal Flem in a loud vile way almost constantly. I've spent time in India and China and this was up there with the Best! What a shame as it really bought the tone down and ruined the chilled vibes in the lovely pousada garden. If it's a tactic to stop guests eating so much at breakfast it certainly works!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celesteviotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0.2 mi away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#2 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hospedagem Acorde
Hospedagem Acorde
#13 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pousada Casablanca
Pousada Casablanca
#10 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Asalem
Asalem
#5 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
11.6 mi away
Pousada Lagamar
Pousada Lagamar
#6 of 92 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pousada Riacho dos Cambucas
Pousada Riacho dos Cambucas
#9 of 92 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Cauca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Cauca

Property: Pousada Cauca
Address: Rua Getulio Vargas, 300, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23900-960, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Ilha Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Cauca 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ready to welcome you! Pousada Caúca is a haven of peace surrounded by a large green area. Inaugurated in 1991, our main goal is quality of service. Our staff is trained and able to guide you about walks, boat rides and give guidelines of the best bars and restaurants in the village. The Inn's environment is familiar and offer tranquility and privacy in the comfort of the suites, so you feel at home. Thank you for choosing our Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Pousada Cauca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Cauca Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing