We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”
Review of Pousada Cauca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pousada Cauca
Ranked #4 of 96 Ilha Grande B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Room was tiny and cramped and the AC was high up on the wall and hard to reach! The bathroom was tiny. The wifi was non existent. The morning breakfast was an utter disappointment with stale fruits with flies hovering over them which made the experience unhygenic. Ilha grande needs a good 5 star hotel. The pousadas just don't cut it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank me m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

This little pousada is a sanctuary all in itself. There is a large garden area besides the rooms that screams relaxation. Our actual hotel room was decent and clean but it was good enough for the price. The walk from the main road to the pousada is quite dark and can seem a bit unnerving at first [at least it was for me] but by the second day you'll realize its perfectly safe. There are tons of kids and grandparents running around, even late at night and it made me feel a lot better.
Anyway, the staff didn't really know too much English but we were able to communicate good enogh. The breakfast in the morning was excellent! The bread was so fresh and warm and the fruit was magnificent!

Overall this is a great place if you desire to stay at a quite little paradise while visiting paradise

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerkfacedeersandwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Great place for its value. Really cozy, lots of nice details, good people. Breakfast is also tasty and clean. The only not positive thing was that the bed matrix was worn out and was not comfortable. But it's fair to say that they really cared about that issue, gave us options and told us new mattresses were on they way (there's no reason not to believe them). Overall, I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcasanueva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This pousada was a lovely place to stay for a few nights - very friendly and helpful staff, clean and very pleasant rooms, and very nice breakfast. The grounds also provide a great environment to relax, in hammocks or elsewhere in the large and peaceful garden. We also stayed in another pousada for a few days (due to availability when booking), and preferred this one - definitely worth the extra few reais a night!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisLondon1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The hotel was very clean, and room was nice (and my girlfriend is demanding on this aspect :)). Breakfast was brilliant, without a doubt. Lots and varied fruit, good natural juices, cakes (different every morning).

A place we would definitely return!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luispe000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Stayed 3 nights in total at Pousada Cauca. Loved the atmosphere of the place. You could relax in the hammock or relax and meditate in the meditation area. Breakfast area had open feel to it, great breakfast enough fruit to choose from, along with usual cold meats, cheese, cereals, breads etc. The manager and the owner were very pleasant and helpful. We liked the personal touch given to the place by the owner.

Room Tip: The room with a lady 's statue in the window was nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Genoa21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in Pousada Cauca. The place is at a short walk from the center, has a very nice garden. The manager is very helpful and she speaks english. At night, the guy even spoke a little french ans it was nice to speak with him also. Breakfast was good, a lot of fruits. And there is a quiet place in the garden with small lights and cool music to relax. Rooms and bathroom were very clean, with fridge, air conditionning and flat TV screen. Well I would recommande this pousada to anyone looking for pleasant and quiet place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PascaleCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0.7 mi away
Asalem
Asalem
#6 of 17 in Ilha Grande
293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#3 of 17 in Ilha Grande
489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pousada Casablanca
Pousada Casablanca
#10 of 17 in Ilha Grande
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hospedagem Acorde
Hospedagem Acorde
#17 of 17 in Ilha Grande
36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pousada Ancoradouro Inn
Pousada Ancoradouro Inn
#2 of 96 in Ilha Grande
315 reviews
11.6 mi away
Pousada Lagamar
Pousada Lagamar
#11 of 96 in Ilha Grande
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Cauca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Cauca

Address: Rua Getulio Vargas, 300, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23900-960, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Ilha Grande
Price Range: £67 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Cauca 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ready to welcome you! Pousada Caúca is a haven of peace surrounded by a large green area. Inaugurated in 1991, our main goal is quality of service. Our staff is trained and able to guide you about walks, boat rides and give guidelines of the best bars and restaurants in the village. The Inn's environment is familiar and offer tranquility and privacy in the comfort of the suites, so you feel at home. Thank you for choosing our Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Pousada Cauca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Cauca Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing