We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be seduced by the beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mata Nativa Pousada
Ranked #10 of 92 Ilha Grande B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Don't be seduced by the beautiful setting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

First impressions are of a tropical paradise - A-frame bungalows in lush gardens. However, I didn't stay in one but in a shared room in the main block. These can best be described as spartan. A single dingy overhead light was too dim to read by. There was a ceiling fan with optional a/c. The bathroom was small and a bit grubby with no hot water. The worst aspect was the bedding - torn, tissue-paper thin sheets that were too small to even cover the mattress. The worst I have ever encountered. The staff were all friendly with the exception of the manager who was sullen and surly.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PashWagMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    71
    23
    2
    5
See reviews for
33
96
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed here as part of a G Adventure (GAP) tour on our journey from Rio to buenos aires. The accommodation is lovely and clean. I was very fortunate I was allocated a querky little cabin on my own which had lovely bathroom and safe and airconditioning.

The breakfast wasn't included in the price and to be honest I deemed it a little over priced for what it was, but others wouldn't so judge for yourself.

Its a 3/4 minute walk from the pier/beach but we had people from the accommodation come when our boat to the island arrived with a cart to take all our heavy bags.

Ilha Grande is a fantastic island and recommended to everyone. There are some lovely beaches (Lopez Mendez), hikes and day trips such as snorkelling that can be done and arranged by this accommodation.

There is a little swimming pool that looked fine but I didnt go in it. They can also, if there is enough interest, prepare a BBQ dinner for you all which cost us 35 Reias per person and was fantastic. Its some of the best steak I have had in the whole or South America and they just keep bringing pitcher after pitcher of caipirinhas over!

Recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robboshef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

I bring all of my groups here and I say it's perfect for anyone. They have cabanas a beautiful garden, BBQ pit and a pool! The rooms are clean and there is free wifi. It's off the main road so it doesnt get too noisy. And the breakfast is amazing! They also serve cake, coffee and tea every afternoon for all the guests. Highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Stay in the cabanas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigZap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Im not a picky person, but Im into having the basic things, and I think hot water it's important, must of all when the weather its not as warm as supposed to be on a beach area. I was a part of a tour of Gadventures, the Iguazu and beyond.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Valeria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

The Pousada is beautiful and just off the main drag so it was a little quieter than other places. We stayed in one of the cabins towards the back. I would recommend spending a few extra dollars for them as there are rooms in the main building that our friends stayed in and they weren't nearly as nice. There's a pool (but why bother use it with all the nice beaches nearby). The staff were very nice, except the women who I think was the owner. She was a bit surly.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin towards back on property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

This hotel was a nice stay on Ilha Grande. It is a bit of a walk from the main part of town but it is nice and quite. Stayed in the main hotel part in a double room. The room was nice and spacious and had a nice bathroom.

The breakfast was great with a big selection of items.

Staff weren't super friendly, but were okay. Some of the younger boys that work at hotel were a bit inappropriate with the female travelers. One boy continually harassed one woman at the hotel when I was staying there. She repeatedly asked him to stop and it just created a really uncomfortable environment.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms with two or three twin beds were absolutely tiny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SEG_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
251 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

I stayed in this pousada last December and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. You have the option of staying in either the wooden cabins which have so much character or a standard room which is very basic. Irrespective of where you stay the general level of cleanliness is very good. The pousada is set in beautifully maintained gardens which are so colourful and which add to the charm of this place making it feel like a boutique hotel. The gardens are attended to daily and so much care goes in to the general upkeep of this pousada. There is also a swimming pool and loungers and chairs if you feel like relaxing. The location is a short walk to the main street where all the bars and restaurants are and 10 minutes from the beach. This hotel was nice and quiet which enabled us to fully relax during our 3 day stay and the staff were very helpful, really going out of their way to assist with any queries. The breakfast was fairly good with nice fresh fruit and you could have your breakfast on the balcony overlooking the gardens which was very pleasant. Overall this place was charming and very good value for money and which added to our fantastic experience on this beautiful island

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biffro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0.2 mi away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#2 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Casablanca
Pousada Casablanca
#9 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.8 mi away
Asalem
Asalem
#5 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Pousada Lagamar
Pousada Lagamar
#9 of 92 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Cauca
Pousada Cauca
#5 of 92 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pousada Riacho dos Cambucas
Pousada Riacho dos Cambucas
#8 of 92 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mata Nativa Pousada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mata Nativa Pousada

Property: Mata Nativa Pousada
Address: 44 Rua das Flores | Vila do Abraao, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Ilha Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mata Nativa Pousada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mata Nativa Pousada Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing