We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had an amazing time here and would definately go back! I have recommended this place to many friends”
Review of Pousada Lagamar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pousada Lagamar
Ranked #8 of 94 Ilha Grande B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We had an amazing time here and would definately go back! I have recommended this place to many friends”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at Pousada Lagamar in April 2010. The owner, Mel, is very friendly and helpful in giving great advice about the island. One day we were unsure of what to do so he arranged for us to go on a boat trip (a boat owned by a couple he is friends with) we spent all day on the boat and they know that part of the island well and so we were able to swim with turtles! A massive highlight to my time travelling across Central and South America!
The accommodation was lovely, with really nice food and a big breakfast! There are secluded beaches near so very good for couples who are looking for peace and quiet - highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m-turts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P0usada_Lagamar, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Lagamar, responded to this review, 20 September 2016
Hi m-turts

Thank you very much for your evaluation and preference. We are always working to better serve our guests. We will always be waiting for you

Team
Pousada Lagamar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    27
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
55
105
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mainz, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

i was brought there by brasilian friends, spent 4 days there hosted by mel...........
very familiar atmosphere, good meals on a big open air terrace, birds and monkeys watching, a few steps down to the beach, no cars on the whole island, so walking or having a ride with a localfisherman´s boat......................
brilliant time, even when it was "winter".... :-)

Room Tip: no matter which room, all nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dirk_Mainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P0usada_Lagamar, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Lagamar, responded to this review, 25 September 2016
Hello Dirk
Thank you for your evaluation. We're always working to better serve them.

Team
Pousada Lagamar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2011

This is my third trip to Lagamar. This jungle bed and breakfast is my favorite place to spend a long weekend. The rustic charm keeps enticing me back! Upon arrival at Praia Vermelha, you have a 5 minute hike across the beach and up into the jungle to reach the entrance, where hummingbirds and huge butterflies flit among the foliage, monkeys run across the power lines and the sound of the waves can be heard lapping the boulders below. Mel and Marisol are phenomenal hosts. I can't remember how many languages I heard them speaking over our Easter trip, but at the very least you can be assured they know Spanish, Portuguese and English!

Besides the jungle setting and the wonderful hosts, there is Mel's inventive, gourmet cooking. There is no menu; you just show up and prepare to be surprised. No two meals are ever the same, and I've yet to not clean my plate (unless I just couldn't find room for another bite!). Meals feature local, fresh-caught fish and seafood, as well as fresh fruits and vegetables but they cater to other tastes/needs as well. If there's anything you want, be it wine or chocolate and you're not bringing it in your luggage, let Mel know your preferences before the trip-they'd probably pick it up for you! (There really isn't a supermarket nearby; all the supplies have to come from the mainland or the sea.)

Things to do include swimming on near-private beaches with clear, calm water; boat trips to the lagoons; renting kayaks; hiking; and of course, plenty of snorkeling and diving opportunities.

Drawbacks? The rooms are simple (thus the 4 star) and my husband found the mattress a bit too soft for his taste, but they are scrupulously tidied every day and have all the basic amenities. This side of the island is much less populated and visited, so there is a lack of infrastructure, but that is what makes it a great destination for people who prefer to get away from the crowds and obvious tourist destinations.

Getting to the Praia Vermelha side of the island can require a little bit of flexibility, as the boats run on an "island" schedule and aren't as frequent as the ferries to the "big" town, Abraão. Mel will coordinate everything for you, though, which is great for the non-Portuguese speakers.

Bottom line: if you enjoy nature, quiet retreats and don't mind giving up a few luxuries for truly fantastic off-the-beaten-path experiences, then you'll love Pousada Lagamar.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoosierCarioca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P0usada_Lagamar, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Lagamar, responded to this review, 20 September 2016
Hi HoosierCarioca

Thank you very much for your evaluation and preference. We are always working to better serve our guests. We will always be waiting for you.

Team
Pousada Lagamar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Pousada Lagamar was our first experience for the exploration of Ilha Grande, which completely changed our lives.
The location on a small hill overlooking the Praia Vermelha, colors of the rooms, the quality of the food, and the warm welcome of our hosts, Mirasol and Mel, make it a piece of paradise on Earth.

We recommend visiting this part of the island, which is free from the loud touristic frills of Abraao, and offers a peaceful rithms for snorkeling and enjoying life, by a village of fishermen and craftsmen. The variety of fish is one of the best in Brazil, so for the snorkeling and scuba diving fans this underwater experiene is a must when traveling to Brazil. We couldn't keep our eyes out of the water!
There are also various hiking possibilities and trails that start directly from the posada's steps.

The Lagamar offers what people like us are always looking for when traveling: interesting and intelligent interaction with the 2 owners that are there because of their love for nature, food and people.

The Pousada Lagamar is one of those essential inventions, like the wheel and the electric guitar. The only regret we had was that our stay was too short!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tania4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P0usada_Lagamar, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Lagamar, responded to this review, 20 September 2016
Hi Tania4

Thank you very much for your evaluation and preference. We are always working to better serve our guests. We will always be waiting for you.

Team
Pousada Lagamar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ISRAEL
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2011

Ilha Grande is an excellent quiet resort to get away from the hustle-bustle of everyday life, no motorized vehicles and not much of city life. On the island there are several locations with Pousadas and Praia Vermelha is probably one of the more remote ones there. I found Mel and Pousada Lagamar on the internet and was immediately captivated when I corresponded with him and realized what an honestly good person he is. I was looking for hiking and swimming and there was plenty of that around Praia Vermelha . What came as an added bonus was Mel's gourmet cooking and genuine hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alonw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P0usada_Lagamar, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Lagamar, responded to this review, 20 September 2016
Hi alonw!

Thank you very much for your evaluation and preference. We are always working to better serve our guests. We will always be waiting for you.

Team
Pousada Lagamar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2011

We stayed at pousada lagamar at the beginning of February 2011. It was a fantastic experience, a real opportunity to chill. The setting is very peaceful, completely surrounded by jungle, and absolutely beautiful. The welcome from Mel, the owner, couldn't be warmer. For instance, when shopping in Angra he bought us supplies -- mosquito repellent for me and havaianas for my partner. He is a well-known local figure and involved in many community projects.

You frequently sight hummingbirds, monkeys, porcupines, fireflies, and it is a short walk to a small beach you may well have to yourselves -- we could see this from the hammock on our patio. The rooms are simple, but ours was en suite and had a fan and a fridge. The pousada is built on a steep hill so definitely no disabled access.

The restaurant is covered but open which means you eat surrounded by the jungle, and the food is great [especially if you like fish], prepared with real flair by Mel himself. He has wine available as well as beer, and a real treat is a caipirinha before dinner.

Praia Vermelha is at the western end of the island, a long way from the main village, and you get there by boat. If you contact Mel directly, he can arrange a boat to there directly from Angra, it leaves at around 2pm. There are also excursion boats available from the village.

If you are minded to hike, tracks link into the network around the island, but bear in mind the tracks are pretty basic. There are boat trips available.

We had a really fantastic time and would recommend to anyone looking for a quiet few days surrounded by jungle.

www.pousadalagamar.ilhagrande.org

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trustyjammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P0usada_Lagamar, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Lagamar, responded to this review, 20 September 2016
Hi, trustyjammer

Thank you very much for your evaluation and preference. We are always working to better serve our guests. We will always be waiting for you.

Team
Pousada Lagamar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
12.3 mi away
Asalem
Asalem
#6 of 17 in Ilha Grande
284 reviews
11.5 mi away
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
#12 of 17 in Ilha Grande
309 reviews
11.5 mi away
Pousada Casablanca
Pousada Casablanca
#10 of 17 in Ilha Grande
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vila Pedra Mar
Vila Pedra Mar
#2 of 17 in Ilha Grande
207 reviews
11.6 mi away
Pousada Cauca
Pousada Cauca
#4 of 94 in Ilha Grande
302 reviews
11.3 mi away
Pousada Riacho dos Cambucas
Pousada Riacho dos Cambucas
#7 of 94 in Ilha Grande
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Lagamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Lagamar

Property: Pousada Lagamar
Address: Rua da Praia | Vermelha Beach, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Ilha Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Lagamar 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ecological Hostel Lagamar is located in Araçatiba Bay, Praia Vermelha one of the most pristine environments of the Ilha Grande. It has comfortable suites, surrounded by a crystalline sea and tropical forest animals, like monkeys, porcupines, squirrels, many birds (especially hummingbirds) and butterflies. Hiking, good places for diving, two beautiful beaches (two minutes way), good service, delicious food, great breakfast tropical, hammock on the porch (overlooking the sea), with great peace and security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pousada Lagamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Lagamar Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing