We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The atmosphere and food is great!”

Restaurante Pe na Areia
Ranked #4 of 73 Restaurants in Ilha Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Restaurant over the beach, relaxing enviroment with candle lights and live brasilian music. Speciality in seafood.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The atmosphere and food is great!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I and my 2 friends liked the place because of:

1. the atmosphere - it's indeed very romantic (the colorful umbrellas, candles, sand, ocean...).
2. the food was really good too - tasty, fresh and generous portions.
3. the staff was very friendly and welcoming.

All in all - good value for money!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZanePaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    288
    72
    31
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, CA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most romantic restaurant on island”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Why? Because 1) it's a fancy place, though not outrageously expensive, and definitely not pretentious, 2) really nice use of colored umbrellas hanging from trees, giving it a "magic" feel, 3) usually a guy playing guitar and singing, good music (slow-medium pace, but not sappy), 4) it's at the end of the beach, so you can choose to sit either nearer the restaurant and guitars if you like, or closer to the darkness of the waves and the island, or anywhere in between. Tip: If don't want to spend for the meal, or you already had dinner, just go there for drinks. They have an awesome tropical cocktail menu.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mlharville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Migh be the fanciest place in town, but it's not only show, the food & service were excellent.”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The waiter was an Argentinian and was super professional.
You sit on the sand in the middle of town and there is a solo musician. The ambiance is nice with colored lit umbrellas all around that makes it very romantic and chick (the indoor restaurant is actually nicely decorated with wine cellar etc..).
The food was excellent (might be more expensive than other restaurants around it).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Naim00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Romantic restaurant on the beach”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We absolutely loved the atmosphere of this restaurant which is on the beach and has lovely decoration, lights and live music. Good food, friendly waiters. Perfect place for a romantic dinner!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom_SIlva_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“we loved the seafood pasta!”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

the restaurant is very cute, romantic and stylish. they used to have a musicien playing brazilian music and with the candles and the beach they already got the best holiday atmosphere you could wish for.

we tried a mixed seafood plate on our first visit. that was already very delicious. so, we went again and tried the seafood pasta. wow! we loved it.

only downside: the staff speaks only portuguese. we came along with a mix of spanish and good will, but i think with so many international guests you should have at least a basic knowledge of english. anyways, it's also a part of its charme i would say. we were never really sure if we get what we ordered. with 1 or 2 caipirinhas (which are delicious,too) as a starter it doesn't matter anyways. and i believe you get great food whatever you order.

Helpful?
Thank Bettina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Pe na Areia also viewed

 
Ilha Grande, RJ
 

Been to Restaurante Pe na Areia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing