We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lopes Mendes Beach

Lopes Mendes Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
US$193.95*
and up
Day Tour from Rio de Janeiro to Ilha Grande
Ranked #1 of 81 things to do in Ilha Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Raamsdonksveer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

beautiful beach, lovely sea and sand. beautiful beach, lovely sea and sand. beautiful beach, lovely sea and sand. beautiful beach, lovely sea and sand.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Luc v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,399
    952
    237
    22
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the Trek”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

It is a 3 hour trek one way to Lopes Mendes from Abraao (with loads of photography pit stops and a snooze) but it is worth the sweat and the ant bites. There are two other beaches on the way where you can stop and have a dip in the sea and cool down. The views from the top of the hills are breathtaking. When you reach Lopes Mendes it will take your breath away. The waters are blue and clear, the beach is white and sandy.
There is the option to take a boat to the beach with a 15 minute hike. Remeber to take loads of water and a picnic. Also if you are trekking wear sensible shoes.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HazelSanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A beautiful beach to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

A beautiful spot to chill out and relax. There are no facilities (toilets) here, and just one person selling some drinks and snacks, so it's a good idea to bring a picnic with you. Accessible either via a boat ride and a short walk 15 minute walk over a hill, or a longer hike of around 1.5 hours in from Abraao. The trek is worth it as the beach is very clean and the water is clear. I hiked in and took the boat back. You can hire surf/body boards on the beach.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Avatah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Beach in the World”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is the nicest beach my girlfriend and I have seen. We hiked here from Abraao (~2 hours). The beach has very fine sand and extremely clear water (when I was neck deep I could still see my feet clearly). The beach is quite a decent length and we had plenty of room. The views are awesome. I would highly recommend this beach if you can make the trip to Ilha Grande.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Memorable unspoiled beach for couples”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is a beautiful large beach with white sand that can be reached by boat only on a day with calm sea as it is situated on the Open sea with little protection from wind and waves.
But we were lucky to be able to land on the beach on a beautiful clear blue sky making the
Sea color emerald blue. This is unusual for this part of Brazil' coastal areas where the colour of the sea is deep dark blue.

Second option - it can be reached by stopping the boat in the calm bay next door and hike over to
Lopes Mendes which is a nice 20-30 mins walk with some hilly parts.

One side of the beach looking from the land would be the right hand side are quite busy.

On the left was where we were and there was no one and is quite stunning and lovely.
Probably the nicest beach in Angra and so far unspoiled.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TWWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lopes Mendes Beach also viewed

 

Been to Lopes Mendes Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing