We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beach like the ones in the movies”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lopes Mendes Beach

Lopes Mendes Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
US$191.09*
and up
Day Tour from Rio de Janeiro to Ilha Grande
Ranked #1 of 80 things to do in Ilha Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Castellon de la Plana, Spain
Level Contributor
140 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A beach like the ones in the movies”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Definitely worth it if you go to Ilha Grande. If you have time to spare and you like to hike, I would recommend hike there instead of taking the boat, as the two hours walk through the rainforest is quite beautiful too, and makes to arrive much more rewarding

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paco F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,396
    949
    237
    22
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lille, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Charming, even if raining”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Very nice hike to get there (about 2h-2h30 walk, doable in 1h30 if you are in good condition), the sand is amazingly fine. We got there on a cloudy day, before 11 am, the beach was almost deserted, it was very nice !

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The most famous beach...but by fr..not the most beautiful”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This is the most famous beach...but for me it is quite plain. The water color is not that amazing...or maybe it is my taste. When it comes to Ilha Grande Beaches, I would rather go to the smallest ones, with bright blue water, rain forest just right behind, offering its rich green....calm enough that we can find small fish.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LucianaRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“must do when in brazil”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

amazing beach with great surf and amazing scenery.. the hike over the mountain is well worth it.. golden sands and clean cold water...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gooneroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“gorgeous beach in Brazil”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

very beautifull white sand - turquoise water - surrounded by hills and lush tropical vegetation. when you arrive you think: oh this is a busy please...because most visitors stay concentrated on same place, as soon a you start walking, all becomes quiet and pure nature

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank KristinMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lopes Mendes Beach also viewed

 

Been to Lopes Mendes Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing