We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jumanji?”
Review of Dois Rios Village

Dois Rios Village
Ranked #8 of 81 things to do in Ilha Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Scherpenheuvel, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Jumanji?”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

After walking 4 km all the way uphill and then another 4 km all the way downhill on a rather nice road you arrive to a small town where about 20 years ago there was a prison. The town is completely abandoned and its like nature took over the buildings, but they are still shaped well.
Arriving in the village you will have to register, and deregister whenever you leave.
We did not spent much time in the village, as there were also no people around except for the security at the check in.
When we arrived on the beach there were few people. A long strech of beach and we felt like we were alone there.
We did got worried a bit as we thought to take a boat back to the village, but there wasn't any boat back, so we could relax just for one hour before heading back as it was a long and hard walk plus you don't want to get stuck on the way in the dark, there is no traffic and no streetlights of any kind. Like I said a hard walk, but well worth it!

Some tips for you:
Bring a flashlight (Just in case)
Leave early so you can enjoy fully at the beach without being back in time
Take water and something to eat as you wont find anything on the way there. Once on the beach there was one guy selling some softdrinks and water.
Maybe some toiletpaper as well... Just in case... there is really nothing on the way....

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anneliesva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    153
    50
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
eng
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unspoilt gem”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

You can do a 20 k round trip trek from Abraoo. The beach is beautiful and well worth the effort. You can also visit a museum where the old prison used to be.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank howdyall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mar del Plata, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Very Nice”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This site is very pretty and very enterteining, the arrival up to there its very beautiful
The place is pretty and calm

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CaroCatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We walked here in the pouring rain, but it was worth it. The walk is beautiful and the village is very interesting, a bit like a ghost town. The houses there used to be the home of the prison employees.The small museum about the old prison is interesting too with some great photos.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyHumberstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Most beautiful beach - shortcut is 7.5 km!”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We have been to a couple of beaches, incl Lopez mendes, but Dois Rios is the most beautiful. It is quieter, slightly bigger and there is a little village nearby. There is a guy on the beach selling locally made food. Both the fish and the chicken are delicious! The shortcut is indeed 7.5 km, but it is quite tough, esp if you don't have the right footwear. We took the longer route back, which takes virtually the same time (2 hours). We saw some monkeys whilst we were walking back. It is definitely worth the walk, but take enough water with you, as there is nothing "en route".

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dois Rios Village also viewed

 

Been to Dois Rios Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing