We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Amazing Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Asalem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Asalem
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Ilha Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An Amazing Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

We had an amazing stay at Asalem, the bilingual staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The dinner was probably the best food we had on the island and the rooms were perfect. It is definitely not a state of the art luxury resort, but if you are looking for a beautiful relaxing place with a great environment I would highly recommend this place. The boat service into town is great however they do charge $3.59 USD per person each time you want to go. We attempted to hike to Asalem one evening from the village of Abrao in the dark, and I would not recommend it, unless you have some bright lights. All in all great place, and I would love to return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    77
    23
    15
    4
See reviews for
27
189
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

We had a great time at asalem. It's a 5min boat ride from abrao and we liked being away from the the village but still relatively close. Slightly annoying that asalem charge every time you go on the boat even for a 2 min ride to sagu restaurant. We stayed in both standard room and Eco honeymoon suite and would definitely recommend the suite as it is significantly larger, and higher standard. Hotel needs to improve it's communal area as this is not a good enough standard especially compared to sagu resort. Food was good for both breakfast and evening. All in all, a great get away from it all romantic accommodation and would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank em2ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

Just returned from a stay at Asalem which was a very pleasant experience overall. The hotel has many positive qualities but I would have liked to have known a couple of the negatives before my stay.

Firstly the good, the location and setting of the hotel could not be any better in terms of it's beauty, seclusion and tranquility. It really is a beautiful spot and our room and terrace had great views between the trees to the bay and nearby beach.

This blessing also has a negative. The hotel is a good 20 minute walk to the main town, however this walk could be better referred to as a hike as the path involves climbing up and down rocks and crosses a couple of beaches which are at times inaccessible without getting wet if the tide is in.

The hotel offers a boat service but make sure budget to use it often as the meals at Asalem are limited and generally bland and dining in Abraao offers the best option.

Finally be aware that there are no english speaking staff in the hotel after 9.30pm, so when ordering your boat back, best to get your restaurant in town to do so to avoid confusion.

I gave the hotel 4/5 overall which may seem at odds with my review, but if you go aware of these facts, I am sure it would be a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C17YHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

It's an awessome place, where you can really be in contact with nature and confort simultaneously. Beatiful both on terms of nature and architecture. On top of all that, you'll also be surrounded by wonderful human beings. I love it and want to be back soon!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leandra_Marun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Asalem is a wonderful, relaxing place to visit. The staff (Carla, Daniel, Fernanda, Ivan, and others) go out of their way to be helpful. The rooms are neat and clean, and the views are fantastic. There are lots of opportunities to experience the great outdoors via kayak, day sail, and hiking, but it's also perfectly fine to put your feet up and just chill.
We especially love watching the hummingbirds flit about each morning when we come down to the outside breakfast area. Andre's (the owner) books of photography are fantastic, too.

Room Tip: We especially like the rooms on either end of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank armada020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

The Asalem Hotel is well located outside the small village but you can always get to the village with the Hotel boat. The rooms are functional and charming with very nice ocean views. The atmosphere is very familiar and personal since there are only about 6 bungalows. The breakfast is served outside and is very good. A perfect place to relax on a beautiful island.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank citTravel2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

This is one of the most beautiful places we have traveled to. Asalem is very secluded with one of the most stunning views you ever seen. Everything from the rustic cabanas, to the perfect breakfast to dinner to the very helpful staff, we loved it all and had a magical time at Asalem and Ilha Grande!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THEOUTDOOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0.8 mi away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#2 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pousada Naturalia
Pousada Naturalia
#1 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hospedagem Acorde
Hospedagem Acorde
#13 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pousada Casablanca
Pousada Casablanca
#10 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
16.9 mi away
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
#7 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sagu Mini Resort
Sagu Mini Resort
#3 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asalem

Property: Asalem
Address: Praia da Crena, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ilha Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Asalem 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ASALEM is a seaside hideaway situated in Ilha Grande, a protected reserve of natural land where no cars are allowed. All our 5 enchanting waterfront suites are surrounded by the rain forest that overlooks the spectacular Bay of Abraäo. This proximity to the ocean offers rare, intimate glimpses of sea creatures such as starfish and turtles, as well as abundant schools of fish. The forest brings frequent visitors, including monkeys, squirrels, fireflies, blue butterflies and a wide variety of exotic tropical birds. This unspoiled peace of paradise is the perfect spot for honeymooners looking for privacy: we are 20 minutes apart from the main village walking in an accessible path or 5 minutes by the taxi boat we provide. Apart from the taxi boat service, available 24/7, we can arrange boat trips, transfers, massages, scuba diving, snorkeling and guided hikes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Asalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asalem Ilha Grande, Brazil
Asalem Hotel Ilha Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing