We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple pleasures”
Review of Asalem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Asalem
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Ilha Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Ihla Grande is a stunning island, and all we felt we needed was a simple, understated place to stay from which we could explore the surroundings.

We stayed in an eco suite, essentially a room slotted straight into the landscape with a view of the bay from its balcony. Stunning. There was no other room below or beneath us, so it was very private. Amenities are simple, but all you'll need for your stay. A taxi met us as we landed at the island to take us to Asalem, and the service is available to you throughout your stay to whizz you around the island.

We ate at Asalem for two nights, there is no obligation to eat there, and it will not be the cheapest on the island but we enjoyed it. Grilled fish and meats with rice and black beans. We thought it was great and fulfilled our expectations. Breakfast was a South American staple of a variety of eggs cooked to your request, bread, fruit, cakes etc.

The room was very clean, the staff were helpful and allowed you to relax. Helped us with our lack of Brazilian, and made it very straightforward.

We would say it is perhaps a little expensive in the context of the accomodation, but the location really is unique and for us made it worth the extra.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed here for three nights and it was fantastic!
Entire team (especially Andre) was super helpful and nice
Great beaches, good food, and awesome views. Take a boat ride! Bring good shoes and prepared to be active!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craigmcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Wow! There are few words that do Asalem justice. My husband and I booked Asalem for a stay at Ilha Grande during our honeymoon. Asalem outdid our expectations; we will never forget our stay. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. Their boat met us at the dock on a rainy day. When we arrived at the hotel we found someone waiting for us with two umbrellas. Our bags were carried up to our room (which had a breathtaking view and cozy balcony), and we enjoyed happy hour. You HAVE to have at least one dinner at Asalem-you won’t regret it. My husband still talks about the shrimp stroganoff. I know that we will be back for another stay in the future. This is a place that you visit if you need/want to relax. Even if you don’t want to relax you can’t help it in this hotel’s setting. I really can’t say enough about our experience.

Room Tip: You only want to use the path into town during the DAY. It’s rough in some areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We have hesitated a lot before selecting asalem, but we did not regret it. The location is great overlooking the bay of abrao while you feel isolated. The view from the restaurant is great and quite relaxing. This is a small pousada, so you dont fell like you are in a hotel.
We stayed in the new eco suite at the upper level, and it was just fantastIc, probably the best view from a room that you can have in ilha grande. The room is big with a large balcony, large bed and fitted with modern equipment. It is expensive, but if you have to choose, I would rather recommend to reduce your stay and enjoy this suite than selecting the standard rooms.
The people in charge are very nice especially paula who was very friendly and helpful (the owner is not working here, managing the pousada from new york which can make things difficult if you have an issue to deal with....). Breakfast (buffet) is good, but basic and could be improved if you consider the room price that you pay. We enjoyed all our dinners in the restaurant: the choice is limited, the food is good and served with large quantity and the quality is that you can expect from a home cooker. There are not really tables, and you seat side by side to better enjoy the view: we were afraid that we will lack privacity during breakfast and dinner, but the space for 2 are well separated and it was ok. But we believe that it can be an issue when it is raining because you are really on the front, and in that case there are just plastic protections to be settled to prevent rain from reaching you....
We share the views from many persons that there is no real common area except the small breakfast/dinner space: besides, one part of the area is used for washing and storing many things and is not at all what you can expect from a pousada with this level of price (but i understood that they intend to rebuild this part).
We did not rate asalem excellent despite the incredible suite that we had and our overall satisfaction, because there are a few small things that needs to be improved for this level of price.

Room Tip: Choose the eco suite at the upper level if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights on the second part of our honeymoon. The location is absolutely incredible, nestled at the foot of the mountainside overlooking the picturesque main bay of Ilha Grande, but far enough away from the main village of Abrao to feel isolated, peaceful and extremely tranquil.

We stayed in the EcoLodge which are slightly more expensive than the normal rooms. However, from previous reviews I would say it is well worth it. You get a large, modern clean en-suite room which is pretty incredible in itself, but the view is the real wow factor - a completely glass fronted room, meaning you can see the incredible view from the double bed. The glass doors slide open to your own private balcony where you can enjoy the view with a beer in hand. The smaller rooms don't have anything like the same situation or privacy, so if you're going, shell out a little extra for the lodge.

The staff are friendly, and the food is OK but not exceptional. Certainly, breakfast was better at the Angra dos Reis pousade in Frade. However, you don't really come here for the food - it's all about the location, the view and the island. Take out the kayaks that they have free to hire and explore the coastlines, trek to Lopes Mendes beach (about 90 minutes) or just enjoy the local beaches in the area.

It's an amazing place, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra for the Eco Lodge. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J0nners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst attending a family wedding on the island. Service was great with staff, especially Carla, going out of their way to help. Rooms were clean and simple and well designed although not as incredible as the photos on the website would have you believe.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank VincentChase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We had high expectations but it was a disappintment. Although the room we got was large and nice, very modern, with a view of the sea it didn't match the very high price we payed. the terraces are so crowded there is no privacy. You sit near and on top of your neighbors so at any moment they see and hear you in a very uncomfortable manner. There was no hairdryer and other minimal facilities in the room. But the main downside was the public areas. No comfortable place to sit or eat. If you come when the eating area is full (there is enough room for 3 couples) you get your dinner on a wooden hard bence on the side. The toillets in the "loby" are terrible. The food - well, my husband thought it is okay, average. I thought it was very low standard. So is the breakfast - mediocre. The attitude of the staff matches the quality of the hotel. They do everything "by the book", so you can't really complain but no real warmth or care. We didn't like it. Next day we changed to a much less expensive and pretentious place and were much happier!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0.8 mi away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#3 of 17 in Ilha Grande
483 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
#7 of 17 in Ilha Grande
273 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pousada Naturalia
Pousada Naturalia
#1 of 17 in Ilha Grande
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pousada Casablanca
Pousada Casablanca
#9 of 17 in Ilha Grande
173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
#12 of 17 in Ilha Grande
313 reviews
0.0 mi away
Praia da Crena Inn
Praia da Crena Inn
#14 of 17 in Ilha Grande
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asalem

Address: Praia da Crena, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ilha Grande
Price Range: £141 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Asalem 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ASALEM is a seaside hideaway situated in Ilha Grande, a protected reserve of natural land where no cars are allowed. All our 5 enchanting waterfront suites are surrounded by the rain forest that overlooks the spectacular Bay of Abraäo. This proximity to the ocean offers rare, intimate glimpses of sea creatures such as starfish and turtles, as well as abundant schools of fish. The forest brings frequent visitors, including monkeys, squirrels, fireflies, blue butterflies and a wide variety of exotic tropical birds. This unspoiled peace of paradise is the perfect spot for honeymooners looking for privacy: we are 20 minutes apart from the main village walking in an accessible path or 5 minutes by the taxi boat we provide. Apart from the taxi boat service, available 24/7, we can arrange boat trips, transfers, massages, scuba diving, snorkeling and guided hikes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Asalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asalem Ilha Grande, Brazil
Asalem Hotel Ilha Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing