We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful relaxing oasis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Asalem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Asalem
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Ilha Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
“Beautiful relaxing oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed here for part of our honeymoon. It was beautiful, the staff were AMAZING! So helpful, friendly and accommodating. We loved the location outside of town it was very peaceful. The Eco suites are far superior to the standard rooms but the standards are really great too, the Eco suites are much more private and new. All have amazing views. The food at the restaurant was some of the best on the island!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shastapants81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    77
    23
    15
    4
See reviews for
27
189
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed 4 days at this great place. Location and rooms are very nice, cocktails and food are prepared with care and the service is really personal. Small nice beach within 5 minutes walk and also great day trips which are easy to arrange (diving, boat trip, etc).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeldeGraaf83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Asalem is a heaven within paradise. The hotel is located in a seclude location, five minutes walking to two isolated and beautiful beaches. You cake up in the morning and only see vegetation and water, incredible feeling of being relax and on holidays. The main village is around ten minutes by boat, but it is really easy to get there as the hotel has a boat to take you there whenever you want to. The staff is really nice, always ready to give you advice and help you with arrangements. We were in Rio and Asalem arranged for us the transfer, picking us up in our apartment, taking us to the ferry and very efficiently to the hotel itself, which is something you don't want to bother when travelling in a foreing country. Breakfast can be improved, while Caipirinhas in the afternoon in the balcony is a must do, lovely! Our stay was so wonderful that will recomment to everybody to stay in Asalem and will certainly come back in the future! Big thanks to all the staff for all their help!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

The "pousada" is not bad. But you will surelly pay too much for what it offers.
Breakfast is just OK and the pousada is not by the beach. It is silent, but the proximity of other rooms can make it noisy.
The view is great.
If you ask for a caipirinha, ask for a real one!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cezar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in the eco-honeymoon suite, which was beyond beautiful. Asalem has a lovely bed and breakfast feel. It is very intimate and you get to know the staff very well. We had dinner both nights at the hotel and enjoyed everything we ordered. We would definitely recommend this amazing pousada to all of our family and friends. Hope to be back!

My only qualm was the chaise and the walls were a little dirty but that's expected I guess given the rustic surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LORRAINE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Beautiful location, stunning hotel and views. Stayed in suite / honeymoom rooms and these are amazing! Overall fantastic hotel, facilities, upkeep and staff. Food is great too and location superb with great links to go and see everything as well as a very short walk to a couple of very nice nearby beaches. Highly recommend both Ilha Grande and Asalem is definately the place to stay!

Room Tip: We had suite nearest the reception / food area etc, it was amazing but the higher up suites probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon for some much needed R&R. Arriving by boat to the hotel was the perfect start to the stay and set the scene for the rest of the trip. We booked the honeymoon suite which I would highly recommend. The view over the ocean was breath taking and I will never forget sitting in the hotel bar drinking a passionfruit Caipirinha overlooking the sea. We had a massage which we had in the room overlooking the water which for me was the highlight of the whole trip. I defy anyone not to relax if they stay here. The evening food is really good and I would recommend eating in at least one night. The breakfast is basic and the only thing I think they could improve on. Asalem is now my happy place and I truly hope to come back one day

Room Tip: I'd go for the honeymoon/eco lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0.8 mi away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#2 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pousada Naturalia
Pousada Naturalia
#1 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hospedagem Acorde
Hospedagem Acorde
#13 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pousada Casablanca
Pousada Casablanca
#10 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
16.9 mi away
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
#7 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sagu Mini Resort
Sagu Mini Resort
#3 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asalem

Property: Asalem
Address: Praia da Crena, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ilha Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Asalem 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ASALEM is a seaside hideaway situated in Ilha Grande, a protected reserve of natural land where no cars are allowed. All our 5 enchanting waterfront suites are surrounded by the rain forest that overlooks the spectacular Bay of Abraäo. This proximity to the ocean offers rare, intimate glimpses of sea creatures such as starfish and turtles, as well as abundant schools of fish. The forest brings frequent visitors, including monkeys, squirrels, fireflies, blue butterflies and a wide variety of exotic tropical birds. This unspoiled peace of paradise is the perfect spot for honeymooners looking for privacy: we are 20 minutes apart from the main village walking in an accessible path or 5 minutes by the taxi boat we provide. Apart from the taxi boat service, available 24/7, we can arrange boat trips, transfers, massages, scuba diving, snorkeling and guided hikes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Asalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asalem Ilha Grande, Brazil
Asalem Hotel Ilha Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing