We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Asalem
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sagu Mini Resort(Ilha Grande)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Praia da Crena Inn(Ilha Grande)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pousada Naturalia(Ilha Grande)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Pousada Paraiso(Ilha Grande)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Pousada Casablanca(Ilha Grande)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pousada D'Pillel(Vila do Abraao)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pousada dos Meros(Ilha Grande)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveller rating
177
82
29
15
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
82
29
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseco suitetaxi boatour honeymoonlocal beachesminute walk to the main townhigher standardlopes mendesthe ownerhigh tideromantic placemodern roomsbeautiful spothustle and bustlepouring rainincredible viewsover christmasoverlooking the sea
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 307 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had an overall OK stay in Asalem for 3 nights.

The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the common are has a great view, but unfortunately these do not make up for the many shortcomings of the place.

Extremely overpriced, poor breakfast, old bathroom with a rather uncontrollable shower, very thin walls, smelly bedroom area, no wi-fi in the room and far from town. We had the worst experience with the boat service of the hotel. The return boat trips go every hour from town, the last one leaving at 23:15. On our last night we tried to confirm with the hotel from 22:30 to pick us up in town and got no answer for an hour so we eventually had to walk back home. This might not sound terrible and we are fine with hiking, but try it with high tide over the rocks and complete darkness in the forest with slippery rocks.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asalem_Ilha_Grande, Owner at Asalem, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Our rates reflect the fact that we are located in a remote island with restrict access and are offered very few options of services and providers. The standard bathroom showers have all new solar water heater system, and as you mention, it had problems with pressure at the beginning. It has been all solved and it is now running beautifully, I am sorry for this inconvenience. The reason why you were not able to contact us to confirm your taxi boat pick-up was because unfortunately we had no landline phone connection at that night due to a technical problem generated from the local phone company provider. You could have called the cell phones provided on the business card given on the check-in, or just waited for the scheduled pick-up time. We did go to pick everybody up as scheduled (every hour at night time). Our secluded location is usually the main reason our guests choose to stay with us. We are blessed to be surrounded by pure nature. Our distance is well stated in our website and online agencies partners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

One of the worst hotels I have stayed in. Ridiculously overpriced for what it is. Bugs in the room, including in the bed. Mold and rust in bathroom area. No wifi in rooms, only in common area. Breakfast was terrible. I have had better at hostels before. Service was terrible. The boat didnt even come and pick us up, even though they agreed too, and we waited 2 hours in the sun before walking for an hour to get there.
The boat ride into town is a joke, $10 per person, per way, even though we were told $7.50 return trip in the original email.
This hotel is a terrible hotel and I would recommend people to stay anywhere else on the island but here. We were so disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AnAngelaMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asalem_Ilha_Grande, Owner at Asalem, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

This couple tried to leave the hotel without paying for meals, services and accommodation - which they refused to pay at check-in as we usually request, so we strongly believe they had planned their scheme prior to arrival. Once the management noticed their absence we started an immediate search, contacted the local authorities and boat transfer agencies in order to unable their departure from the island. Eventually they were found possessing itens they had stolen from the room, confronted and decided to pay. We have many local people including non-employees as witnesses, as well as images from our security cameras. This message was written in an attempt to denigrate the hotel image out of frustration for not being able to success with their plan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We loved our stay at Asalem. The friendly staff knows their turf and were able to help us make the most out of our stay. The hotel's location away from the hustle-and-bustle of town was a plus. Also, for what it's worth, the place is gay friendly. When we go back to Isla Grande, we will definitely stay at Asalem.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashby10025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed there 31.march to 2. april. Loved the site of the hotel. Loved the rooms. Loooved the fod and drinks. And love that they try to focus on being enviromental friendly. Hope the visitors follow that through.

It was easy to get the calm relaxed island feeling while staying here.

Room Tip: swimming in the ocean is island style rooms connected to the nature
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ingersvare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Asalem is quiet, lovely and beautiful, on a hillside overlooking the wide bay with the harbor and main village of the island. It's in the middle of the nature, and very calming. The rooms were basic, but that's what we expected - they were clean and pretty. The taxi boat takes you to the village, and will fetch you back when you call - great if you want to eat late or go to the parties. Breakfast is fresh and tasty. The staff was helpful and friendly. Lovley experience!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews