We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in Ilha Grande” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pousada Riacho dos Cambucas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pousada Riacho dos Cambucas
Ranked #9 of 92 Ilha Grande B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Ilha Grande”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

I could not recommend this place more highly!!! We stayed in a room with a balcony with a hammock (big plus). The rooms were really clean and has both a fan & airconditioning. It's on a fantastic location, close to Abrao town but with no noise. The breakfast is great and there's tea & coffee & cake available in the afternoon. Thanks to Israel for making our stay a delight- nothing was too much for him to organise! Would definitely recommend & hope to come back!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alex_ellise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    75
    13
    4
    9
See reviews for
21
184
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Viking
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

If you want a room without a chair and a closet and were you can bee only
one person at a time chose a standardroom of 9 sqmeter (bathroom excludede)
If you book a room with WIFI you can forget it . Prostesting was wiewed away and
after contact with "booking.com" you were treated badly from the staff. Booking advised
a refund but that was ignored. As a remark you were urged to pay the bill at ceckintime (before you could see the room and understand the lack of WIFI. Warningbells-Warningbells
If you want to share the breakfastbuffet with flies you are on the right place. Uncovered and not
chilled- with ice - freshfood such as cheese, ham butter

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 534Globetrot47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

I stayed four days in that inn, very comfortable, great location in nature. The people at reception is very freindly and speaks English. Rhena helped me a lot. The Inn is serving a very tasty breakfast and also a four-hour-clock coffee with snacks in the afternoon. The surrounding is quite, nevertheless there are only a few steps to the centre and some restorants.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retsep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galicia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

What we liked the most in this hotel was the way in which it blended in with the wonderful island in which it is located. Built with reliable wood, surrounded by a lush tropical garden, in the “outskirts” of the small village of Abraao (thus, even more quiet and peaceful than the rest of the village), this is the perfect place for people who want to enjoy nature and tranquility. The rooms are not too big, which can be a problem if you bring big suitcases, but they have all the necessary equipment, and the bathroom is nice and clean. The hammocks give the hotel an even more relaxed atmosphere. The breakfast is really good, especially the fresh fruit, and you can have some tea and biscuits in the afternoon, which is nice in a rainy day (we did have a couple of those). The women at the reception were always kind and helpful. The only problem guests may have is the fact that any noise in the neighboring rooms can easily be heard. Luckily for us, the neighbors both on top and in the next room were not noisy at all, and we could sleep with the only delightful noise of chirping birds in the morning. We really recommend this Pousada.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zumaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

Very friendly welcome from the staff which you can't fault, they gave us cold drinks when we arrived (much needed) and gave us some information as to what to do/where to go. The room however was tiny and dark and the bed was old and very uncomfortable. The thin walls also mean you can practically hear the people next door breathing - nevermind anything else! Our "balcony" was actually the walk way infront of the room!
The location is lovely, thier photos aren't exaggerated it really does look like that! It is a bit further back than most places but the village is so small it really doesn't matter.
Breakfast was OK but nothing special.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SophD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

This Pousada was amazing. Right in the moment you walk in you are impressed of how nice and green it looks. It reminds you of the Jungle Book storyline. Actually, I didn't know anything about this location. I was in Ihla Grande for a Sustainability Research (Pace University project) and this Pousada ended up being one of the greenest that I got to rate.
The place was not only green (plants and decorations) but they used all eco-friendly materials. Their electronics "saved energy" and their lighting was based by sensors and they used Fluorescent bulbs.
Two Thumbs for this pousada.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brianbravatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

I stayed in this Pousada for 5 nights and had an incredible time! From the moment we arrived, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, much more than ANY place I've stayed before (and I've been travelling quite a lot). The rooms had their own balcony and hammock, a safe, nice bathroom and AC + ceiling fan. Tropical forest surrounded the pousada, setting the atmosphere for a "paradise island vacation" from the moment I woke up. Breakfast was very good as well, and the price fair for Ilha Grande. AMAZING!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanzitooler583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0.2 mi away
Pousada Casablanca
Pousada Casablanca
#10 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#2 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hospedagem Acorde
Hospedagem Acorde
#13 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Asalem
Asalem
#5 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
11.3 mi away
Pousada Lagamar
Pousada Lagamar
#6 of 92 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pousada Cauca
Pousada Cauca
#5 of 92 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Riacho dos Cambucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Riacho dos Cambucas

Property: Pousada Riacho dos Cambucas
Address: Rua Dona Romana 218, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Ilha Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pousada Riacho dos Cambucas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A POUSADA RIACHO DOS CAMBUCÁS se destaca pelo seu estilo rústico em meio à natureza, combinando bom gosto com seu estilo simples e charmoso de ser.Situada num dos recantos mais tranquilos e preservados do Abraão à 300 metros da praia, a cerca de 5 minutos do cais de chegada da barca e da praça central. Servimos nosso café da manhã em sistema self service em salão envidraçado com natureza por todos os lados.Destaque ao nosso jardim de plantas nativas e diversas espécies de bromélias fica ainda mais especial com a visita constante dos inúmeros pássaros que nos visitam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Pousada Riacho dos Cambucas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Riacho Dos Cambucas Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing