We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay in Ilha Grande”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pousada Riacho dos Cambucas
Ranked #7 of 96 Ilha Grande B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 March 2013

This is a beautiful little hotel in a peaceful part of town, but situated a really easy distance to enjoy all that is going on in Abraao (couple of minutes walk and all flat to all the restaurants and bars etc).

We stayed in the standard room and it was really beautifully decorated and very clean, a perfect place to come back to.

Breakfast and afternoon tea were amazing and the staff were so friendly.

It's true the wifi doesn't always work, but that is a problem common to Ilha Grande and not just this pousada.

The whole setting here is really wonderful and we had no problem with noise whatsoever. I would have loved to have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samanfaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2013

Great hotel, great structure, all clean and tidy. There is no pool, it stays about 10 min from main dock. But its garden and atmosphere is gorgeous. The breakfest is fair. I would for sure recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We stayed at this Pousada for a week and it was really worth every penny. From the friendly welcoming to the superb room, great relaxing location we didn't want to leave. I would highly recommend this place for a relaxing spoilt stay. As mentioned the staff were excellent, really friendly and useful, the breakfast was great with variety and the rooms were exceptionally clean and comfortable. We stayed in a room with a hammock, well worth the extra. However if you do choose a basic room without a hammock there is a comunal chilling area with fridge/ hammock and tv.

Room Tip: One with a hammock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashleighrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

I loved my stay here, The rooms are clean, the staff is friendly, the garden and the creek makes you relax automatically.Breakfast is great, I also loved that there were coffee after 4pm, and laundry service.

I would recommend this place, and we are looking forward to come back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georgianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We loved this place and felt like home there!
You are welcomed by nature as you walk in to this green world. It made such a big impression!
The staff is helpful and the owner quite present, concerned about the well being of guests.
The breakfast has blown us away. We were looking forward to it every day!
One thing I would have done differently however was to book in superior rooms. The most basic rooms would be fully satisfactory if it wasn't for the noise we could hear the next room. It was quite inconvenient to hear anything the neighbors were doing or talking.
Besides that, the place is just a gem. Nice common area. For those who stay longer and want to take a break, there is a cozy TV room, which is open (not enclosed) with some hammocks and view to the garden.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vivi0184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This delightful pousada located in the main town of Abraao is an excellent place to say for around R$150-R$200 a night depending if you guy there in the low or high season or whether there is a long week-end. In Brazil prices get hiked up for long week-ends! The breakfast area of the pousada is very relaxed and the most important thing is that you will be able to enjoy fabulous hikes around the Island - really worth doing the walk to the beach of Lopes Mendes (wild beach with mangroves and the back, sand in the middle and the ocean in front! Nice restaurants to eat out in Abraao, some of them right on the sand. If you go to Ilha Grande, gives yourselves 3 or 4 nights, as you really have some super hikes to be done through the rain forest with super views of half moon coves and bays. If you combine the pousada with the hikes then the experience is an overall 5 out 5!!

Room Tip: Best time to go to Ilha grande is April when you still get the summer temperatures but avoid the rus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlderleyEdgeTiger007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

July this year, 2012, my boyfriend and I went for a weekend in Ilha Grande - Rio de Janeiro. We found this 'pousada' online, booked our stay, got the car and left early morning. Ilha Grande is a great place for people who like water, swimming, diving, relaxing. As you might have noticed we went during winter,so the water was pretty much cold, but even so we could swim and enjoy the place. We chose Riacho dos Cambucás to stay and this was surelly the best choice we could have made. It is a beautiful place. It seems that we are living inside a garden. There are a variety of plants and flowers everywhere and it is far from the crowd and noise of the visitors, which takes place exactly in the front, arrival part, of the island. Breakfast is great and service is the best. You have to walk like 4 minutes to get to the coast, but it is worth it. In the island there is not much to do. The things they sell there are not made there and they are usually very expensive. Everyday there are boat trips. A place to visit before you leave Rio de Janeiro.

Room Tip: If you are travelling in two, chose the biggest rooms. Price will differ a little bit, but it will b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
1.0 mi away
Asalem
Asalem
#6 of 17 in Ilha Grande
291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#3 of 17 in Ilha Grande
483 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
#7 of 17 in Ilha Grande
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pousada Casablanca
Pousada Casablanca
#9 of 17 in Ilha Grande
173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pousada Cauca
Pousada Cauca
#4 of 96 in Ilha Grande
310 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pousada Ancoradouro Inn
Pousada Ancoradouro Inn
#2 of 96 in Ilha Grande
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Riacho dos Cambucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Riacho dos Cambucas

Address: Rua Dona Romana 218, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Ilha Grande
Price Range: £80 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pousada Riacho dos Cambucas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Pousada Riacho dos Cambucas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Riacho Dos Cambucas Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing