We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Portal dos Borbas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Portal dos Borbas
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Ilha Grande
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel for the last three nights of our honeymoon. At first, when you get there, it looks lovely as the garden is very fresh and a very vibrant green. Can't complain about the garden at all. The man behind reception was very friendly. We were very excited by the fact that the hotel had hummingbirds visiting frequently (they were really special to see), only they never filled up the feeders, which, although that sound really petty, it's just one of those things that could have made the stay better - it just felt as if there was no attention to detail. The room was fine, basic, but we thought it was well over-priced for what you got. The window in the bathroom was jammed shut (to prevent it falling open) with a sweet wrapper and so there were lots of gaps in the windows, making the whole bathroom a breeding zone for mosquitos. Inevitably, the Mosquitos then got into the room, and my legs were bitten to death during the night. You can't help having mosquitos, I realise that, however if the window was fixed properly, I doubt they would have managed to get into the room. The one thing we found incredibly poor was that our minibar had three half-consumed drinks in it. I don't think I should have to be the person who cleans up after the previous guests. As I said, the man behind the desk was very friendly, however we found the women who worked there to be very rude and they seemed to have a 'CBA' sort of attitude. Overall, very overpriced for what the room was and the staff just didn't seem to be bothered about you. Maybe they we just having a bad few days, but that's no excuse in the hotel industry. I don't often complain about places, however this was exceptionally bad.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank MrsJudeeLevinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    40
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
13
39
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Holland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

The location is fine and quiet, the inner court garden that all rooms look out on beautiful and every room has 2 outside seats where you can sit and read a book while enjoying the view and the bird sounds. The room is simple but clean, with a good shower. The only issue we really had was that the bed was so hard we couldn't sleep. Also, breakfast is not of great quality. Wireless wasn't working while we were there.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indegloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaffhausen
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We stayed here for a week in a double room and managed to get a rate of 70BRL. Very good value for money. The location is not beachfront, but it has a lovely garden and is pretty quite at night. You will hardly hear the local club banging music from Thursday to Saturday. Earplugs will help, but not a must (really no issue). We had much worse places to stay at in the last months of our trip.
Staff is friendly, breakfast tipically Brazilian (means very good) and the rooms are clean and of a good size. Shame about the smelly matress in the room. But I guess this has to do with the humidity on the island. The pousada was not fully booked, so we were free to change rooms and it was better once we did so.
All in all we recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arto43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington dc
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2008

You hear lots of negative reviews about pousadas BUT Portal Dos Borbas is a LOVELY place!! Great value $55.00US a night, spotlessly clean, wonderful breakfast open air overlooking the gardens, friendly staff, no English spoken. 5 Minute walk to the village beach!

  • Liked — comfort, cleanliness, location
  • Disliked — Phone ringing rather loud!!
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pgbcaphill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2007

Located 1 street from the beach and centre - 2 min walk. Lovely garden and chairs outside each room. Rooms are with air-con and fan and have pleasant friendly decor. Entire place has nice feel as it is decorated with lots of flowers and other decorations. It is really clean place. Breakfast is delicious - buffet style with good variety of fresh fruits, juices and other standard food. Stuff doesn't speak English but is very friendly and helpful.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveler01uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
40.7 mi away
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
#12 of 17 in Ilha Grande
307 reviews
40.0 mi away
Asalem
Asalem
#6 of 17 in Ilha Grande
282 reviews
40.7 mi away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#3 of 17 in Ilha Grande
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.7 mi away
Pousada Casablanca
Pousada Casablanca
#10 of 17 in Ilha Grande
169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Praia da Crena Inn
Praia da Crena Inn
#15 of 17 in Ilha Grande
28 reviews
40.8 mi away
Pousada dos Meros
Pousada dos Meros
#5 of 17 in Ilha Grande
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portal dos Borbas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portal dos Borbas

Property: Portal dos Borbas
Address: Rua das Flores, 4, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Ilha Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Portal dos Borbas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Portal dos Borbas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portal Dos Borbas Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing