We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pousada Caminho do Ouro
Nearby Hotels
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$417
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$380
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BraZish(Paraty)
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pousada do Sandi(Paraty)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pousada Bambu Bamboo(Paraty)(Great Value!)
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pousada dos Contos(Paraty)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (696)
Filter reviews
696 results
Traveller rating
523
153
11
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
523
153
11
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsco ownerair conhome madeadrianataxipousadatownrio
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 696 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2009

Me and my boyfriend was looking for a place to stay by the time of Carnaval. We're searching for good prices and nice places, where the relation cost and benefits are advantageous. I send many e-mail to a lot of hotels, and the Pousada Caminho do Ouro was the most attractive. Well, we got there fryday night and Christofe, very nicely, drive to the bus station, taking us to the pousada!! In the same night we're eated a courtesy dinner of dreams, delicious french food, great wine, warm and cozy ambient, friendly host and hostess, the couple Adriana and Christophe (He's also the french chef of the pousada's restaurant, Bistrot Voilá)... we receveid a magnificent treatment!!

The breakfast is wonderfull, nice tropical fruits, bread, crape, croissants, milk, coffe, juice, butter, ham and cheese... and all you dream of, is served on the deck over the river!! There is no better way to start a day, then eat your breakfast on this deck!!

And I didn't say about the view yet, while you eat your delicious breakfast, you are visited by the exotical birds, like the hummingbird that flyes aroud the flowers in the deck, beside the birds, theres a cute little cat (Mimo is his name) that lives in the pousada and walks around, visiting you during your meal!!

The pousada is ideal for who is trying to relax, because it's a very calm and peacefull place! Perfect for couples who's looking for some romance!!

Me and my boyfriend had our honneymoon before we're even think about marriage!!!

Excuse me for my awful englis, but I hope that all of you could understand what I've wrote!!

And thanks to Adriana and Christophe for your hospitality!!

Vanessa e Rafael

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanessaaugusto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aragonez-Legond, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kinds words and thoughtful comment.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We only hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again!
Kindest Regards.
Adriana & Christophe Legond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2009

Lovely place by the river, cozy rooms, not to far from town. The cokery is wonderful, it´s worth every penny. Cristophe and Adriana are a friendly couple and fantastic hosts.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annette013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aragonez-Legond, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kinds words and thoughtful comment.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We only hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again!
Kindest Regards.
Adriana & Christophe Legond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2009

I contacted many pousadas in Paraty about a month prior to our trip. We were going to be there just before the New Year's holidays, so we figured that accommodations might be scarce - and they were. Fortunately through email and then a phone call we found room at the inn at the Pousada Caminho do Ouro.

The website doesn't exactly provide you with a great first impression, but don't let put you off. The pousada is owned by a great couple, Adriana and Christophe. Adriana speaks several languages, including English, but Christophe speaks just French and Portuguese. I started emailing with Adriana in English, but I called to make the reservation and provide my credit card; half of the stay was prepaid. This was done with Christophe and seulment en français.

We started our Brazilian adventure in Rio, and we arrived in Paraty like most travelers, via bus. Although if you'd think the distance between the two cities could be covered in a couple hours, you'd be forgiven; it's a good 4.5h bus ride through some pretty cliff-hugging terrain.

We arrived at the Paraty bus stop around midnight with the expectation that we would be picked up. However, we were not able to contact the Pousada that day due to not finding a working pay phone. So we had to take a cab to the pousada. The driver wanted R$30; I told him R$20, and we agreed on R$25. Do not pay more than that.

Unfortunately when we arrived at the pousada, some 6km from town, it was locked up tighter than Fort Knox. Make SURE you arrange with the proprietors if you arrive late like us. Otherwise you'll wake up the neighbors, gather a crowd of gawkers and helpers, encourage a boy to hop the wall to open the gate, and 'break in' to the pousada.

By the way he was dressed, it was clear Christophe was not expecting to see us. We were thrilled to be in and quite happy that he wasn't packing heat upon our surprise early morning arrival.

I really cannot say enough about Christophe and Adriana. They are very professional innkeepers and did everything to make our stay a memorable one. They're also very pleasant and willing to engage you in conversation. We learned a lot about Brazil through them.

Christophe is a trained chef, and let's just say that he didn't get kicked out of France for being a bad cook! Breakfast was plentiful every morning with the usual array of ham and cheese, but also with freshly baked rolls and pastry, fresh fruits and juices, and always something special, too.

Because of the holiday, it was required of us to buy a forfait, so we had one dinner included, too. The food was magnificent, and they have a nice wine list, too. All ingredients are locally sourced, and as fresh as possible. The name of the bistro is Voilå, and is open to the public. Even if you choose to stay somewhere else, I would recommend a meal there.

The property has a great setting, perched above a swiftly moving stream. It's very relaxing to be there especially because the pace of Paraty can be a little overwhelming. We used the pousada as our private retreat each night after a long day of sightseeing.

The rooms are spacious, but we found ours a bit dimly lit and dank. The a/c took care of the latter issue. The bed was comfy enough, but could have been better. But safely was never an issue, and everything was clean.

One thing we found interesting was that we were told that we were the first Americans staying at the property in two years of the current ownership. It made us feel a little smugly satisfied!

The place seems to be most popular among visiting Brazilians from the south. We were befriended by one such couple, and quickly became bff's with them. They had a car which was super convenient to get into town or reach the beaches of Trindade. We also ended up having dinner with them every night which we thought was a little odd considering it was their honeymoon. We thought that maybe we were not perceiving a cultural nuance there, but it turns out it was not the case. We really enjoyed our time with them, and tears were actually shed by them as they were bidding us our farewell back at the bus station. They've already invited us to Florianopolis next year!

So, to conclude, I'd highly recommend this pousada. Great out-of-town setting - but close enough to be convenient, super hosts, decent rooms, fantastic setting, and stellar food.

Grant Samson

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happywanderer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aragonez-Legond, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kinds words and thoughtful comment.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We only hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again!
Kindest Regards.
Adriana & Christophe Legond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2008

Excellent place to stay. The owners are very friendly and ready to help you in anything you need. Rooms are very large, breakfast delicious and the surroundings beautiful! Excellent French dinner! Specialized in mushrooms! The room rate is one of the lowest.

Better if you are travelling with car, since it is located a few kilometers from downtown.

I really loved it. Many thanks to Adriana & Christophe!!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patogiglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aragonez-Legond, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kinds words and thoughtful comment.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We only hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again!
Kindest Regards.
Adriana & Christophe Legond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2008

Pousada Caminho do Ouro describes exactly how Paraty is: calm and interesting, warm during the day, cool at night, but perfect for who is looking for a relaxing weekend. The location of the inn is perfect because it is not at teh downtown and it is not too far. So you can choose wheter you want to relax or to party! The atmosphere is very peacefully, surrounded by nature and a small river who makes company for who is having meals.
The room is quite cozy, a mix of small town with minibar, hot shower and satelite.
The food is very good but not at the brazilian style. It is perfect for who likes seafood and mushrooms.
To sum up, it is a very cozy and intimate place. Worth going!

Stayed: May 2008
1  Thank ca1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aragonez-Legond, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kinds words and thoughtful comment.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We only hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again!
Kindest Regards.
Adriana & Christophe Legond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews