We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double charged - Beware”
Review of Pousada das Canoas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pousada das Canoas
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Paraty
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Double charged - Beware”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I stayed in the hotel for two nights, paying one night as a deposit. Upon arrival, the hotel demanded payment for both nights. As my Portuguese was as bad as the receptionist's English, and I had no proof I had paid ready to hand, So I paid again. The room itself had a lot of mold on the ceiling and the wifi was only available at the lobby - it's range must be about 20 yards max. The pool was fine and the location central.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JezFleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    53
    49
    20
    12
See reviews for
52
52
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a low priced hotel, and for the money, it's a great value. It sits about three blocks from the no-cars section, so you can drive to it, and it's a block over from the bus station. The woman at the front desk was wonderful in getting us set up w/ tours. No English spoken. There is a small pool which is great for keeping the kids entertained, and is one of the few pools this close to the historic district. The game room isn't well maintained, so discount it from your consideration.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Craig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Pousada das Canos is in an excellent location located just on the main road into the beautiful town of Paraty. Be warned that the staff dont speak English but this wasn't a problem for me as Id pre booked my stay on a booking website prior to my arrival.

I didn' eat at the hotel but there are plenty of restaurants and bars near by. also the hotel is located next to all the main banks which is handy if you have been in the more remote resorts with no ATM's.

The hotel wasn't very full when I stayed there and I was the only European guest at the time which wasn't an issue. The fact that the hotel had a pool was a bonus and I made us of that.

The rooms are clean by Brazil standards. Don't be put off by the photos it is a nice hotel and they should be judge in line with European/Caribbean hotels.

I would stay at this hotel again. Only down side was I didn't have a WIFI signal in my room so had to sot in the TV room to access the internet.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodster554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We travelled as a big group of 80 people and stayed in this hotel for 4 nights.

The hotel is rather well located for those who want to experience Paraty town and the historical center, everything is within a walking distance, there are many good restaurants and shops around but it is nice and quite in the surroundings of the hotel.

The rooms are clean, everything very much in order, but could be a bit small for people who are used to have more comfort (we stayed 4 persons in one room). Nice and comfy bathroom. Nice room-service - changing towels every day.

Nice breakfast in the morning, but not much variety for those who are staying longer.

Sound isolation between rooms could be improved.

The staff does not speak English, however, understand a bit and is in general very helpful, we got help with everything we needed.

Room Tip: It could be noisy of you are choosing a room which is looking at the swimming pool, But maybe you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MildaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dacula, Georgia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Pousada das Canoas was a lovely hotel in the beautiful historic city of Paraty. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The free breakfast is excellent!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paraty hotels
Pousada Mare Mansa
#17 of 28 in Paraty
18 reviews
Pousada Recanto Jota Ge
#13 of 28 in Paraty
107 reviews
Pousada Villa del Sol
#18 of 28 in Paraty
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic City Center
Pousada Aconchego
Pousada Aconchego
#14 of 28 in Paraty
202 reviews
Parque Hotel Pereque
#22 of 28 in Paraty
125 reviews
Pousada Valhacouto
#21 of 28 in Paraty
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada das Canoas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada das Canoas

Property: Pousada das Canoas
Address: Av Roberto da Silveira 63 - Centro, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Paraty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pousada das Canoas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pousada das Canoas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Das Canoas Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing