We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place to Stay”
Review of Pousada Marendaz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pousada Marendaz
Ranked #200 of 322 Paraty B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 April 2011

This Posada was perfect!!
..not expensive at all, great location ( two blocks away from Centro Historico), nice rooms, with breakfast includded, Wifi and two computers at the reception.
Very helpful and nice people...they also Organize Boat Trips and other activities!!

Totally Recomended!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juanorsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2011

I stayed couple of days after the carnaval in Rio and this was a perfect place to relax and is very well located (2 blocks from the main street at Paraty). The people in there always available to help you with anything and the breakfast is really good!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiltonEstrasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

The Pousada Marendaz in Paraty is a great place to spend your time while in the quaint Brazilian town.

Raquel and the staff are incredibly friendly and the rooms are very nice. The breakfast here is inclredible with lots of fresh fruit and some incredible bread as well. You are two blocks from the old town and there is a wealth of info at the front desk for your disposal.

A great choice when in Paraty.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregorsnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Raquel and Sandro make the Pousada a counfortable place where you feel exactly like back home. The breakfast is simply the best and included!!!
The rooms are really nice, and they are equiped with TV, fan's and private bathroom.
Just what we need!
Love this place!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maru_Arg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

We were a bit worried about this pousada because we check Trip Advisor just after we book it. But we found an amazing place!
It's a small family owned Pousada ( small brazilian hotel with a central patio ) full of flowers & a warm environment. The Breakfast is superb! super complete with juices, ham, cheese, bred, different jams, many fruits & more... Rooms are good sized, & clean. Same with bathrooms.
They have fully equipped kitchen that you can use any time. They offer boat trips & some other tours at the front desk.
But definitely the location is the best! just one block from the historical area!
We do come back!!

Room Tip: Send them an email on advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vrinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Good location, only 5 minutes form historic centre. On-street parking. On arrival it took 20 minutes to find a member of staff to book us in. Room wasn't ready so we were asked to return in 1 hour when room 9 would be ready. On return as instructed, we collected the key to room 9, only to find that the room was already occupied by another guest (their wallet and lap-top was in the room). Another 10 minute wait for a member of staff who then showed us to a room on the opposit side of the street. Despite pre-booking we were told this was the only room left. Room was clean with 1 bare light-bulb, a shuttered window (no glass), ceiling fan instead of a/c, a TV with a cord too short to reach the socket, a single hat-stand to hang clothes but five beds! Had it not been a national holiday with everywhere fully booked there is no-way we would have stayed.
Breakfast was usual selection of fruit with ham, cheese and bread. No cereal or hot selection. We received a discount on leaving but overall impression was of a hostel charging hotel prices. NB: The 'pool' is a 1m hotub in the central courtyard around which the rooms are grouped.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chumbeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

There were lots of familys with young brats during our time there . I was in a GAP trip and no air con meant - hot and humid nights . There is a huge bathtub there and also a free breakkie ..

Paraty is beautiful though !

Don't miss Trindade !

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dharam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paraty hotels
1.2 mi away
BraZish
BraZish
#26 of 28 in Paraty
53 reviews
1 mi away
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#23 of 28 in Paraty
365 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chill Inn Paraty Hostel & Pousada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Pousada do Horto
Pousada do Horto
#7 of 24 in Trindade
56 reviews
1.3 mi away
Praia Serena
Praia Serena
#1 of 4 in Jabaquara
320 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pousada Apple House Paraty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Marendaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Marendaz

Address: Dr Derly Ellena, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Paraty
Price Range: £31 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pousada Marendaz 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Pousada Marendaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Marendaz Hotel Paraty
Pousada Marendaz Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing