We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the best..definitely try to stay upstairs!”
Review of Pousada Marendaz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pousada Marendaz
Ranked #179 of 322 Paraty B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 days with our tour group with Gap Adventures. I feel like we actually lucked out with this one as we got an upstairs room (could be because we didn't have much luggage..it would be very difficult to drag your stuff up the narrow stairs). We heard from our fellow travellers that downstairs is very loud, especially those rooms near the front desk. Our room was small, mouldy, smelled a little, but at least it was quiet. The bathroom had a weird small side door where we guessed was to ventilate. It did not really work thou. We didn't really figure out the AC and it got quite cold at night. The breakfast is only ok, mostly just bread and fruits. They have a 'pool' which had freezing water and floating bugs. O, and they make you leave your room key at the front desk, which at times are unattended.

On the plus side, the location was pretty convenient. There is a cheap laundry place cross the street and they do a superb job!! There is also a super market close by where we were able to stock up on water and snacks.

Room Tip: try very hard to get a room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Positives: internet works well enough to post this review. Location is good (but there are plenty of other pousadas just as conveniently located or better). Breakfast was good, great coffee.

Negatives: oh dear, where to start? Mould everywhere. Everything smells of damp. Constant noise as we are on ground floor on the main courtyard, much of it from staff. Cheap foam mattress too soft. Cheap bed linen. Exposed wires in shower, light flickers when water runs. Brought this to their attention but no resolution or even proper acknowledgment. Room was not cleaned. No sense of security (the same experience as other reviewers). Empty space where tv should be.

Our tour company had led us to believe this was a 3 star hotel. If I had been told a one star hostel, my review rating would probably be kinder.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank leo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This was part of our gapadventures tour and far the worst place in Brazil. The mold in the bath and bedroom (see photos) have a horrific smell. The only window to the crowded small patio area was kept closed as everyone can see u if lying in bed. Open the door and you are meet by the reception lady and her neighbors/friends who seem to live in the building. The above was not the main issue. Only decided to write this review when we reported a fault in the Brazilian style electric shower with it's wires exposed and nothing was done.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franciscosrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

It's about a 5 minute walk from the bus station & a 3 minute walk from the old town... so the location is perfect! The room wasn't impressive... small, nothing fancy - bed was kind of hard & the outlets didn't work that well. However, it was clean & the AC worked well. The breakfast was pretty good - fruit was fresh. The owner was extremely helpful & really made the place worth the stay - even let us stay 4 hours past check in because our bus was leaving at 5! The internet worked perfectly. Overall, it's not a place to stay if you're looking for comfort or extras, but if you just want a simple room that's not TOO expensive & has a great location - this place is fine.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Situated within easy walking distance to old town this was a nice place to stay, unfortunately we didn't have the good weather. Our room was upstairs, bright but very noisy from other guests and street noise. Beds are typically uncomfortable which seems to be the 'norm' over here. Breakfast is basic. We discovered on arrival that if it rains a lot there is no water, which we went without for 24hours??????

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tassie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

The sisters are very pleasant, the Pousada is fine and the only negative is that it's a bit overpriced for what you get. Rooms are clean and well set up. The rooms are well set up and breakfast. The jacuzzi is in the middle of the courtyard and judging by the leaves in it the water it doesn't get used too often.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ving_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Very nice atmosphere in this lovely little pousada in the heart of Paraty, very clean and charming. Good breakfast as well and within walking distance of anything you could want to see in Paraty. Rooms are spacious, and well equiped, TV fridge, some have air conditioning and if not then they have a fan which works well as well to keep you cool!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paraty hotels
1.2 mi away
BraZish
BraZish
#26 of 28 in Paraty
53 reviews
1 mi away
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#22 of 28 in Paraty
364 reviews
1 mi away
Hostel Sereia do Mar
Hostel Sereia do Mar
#76 of 299 in Paraty
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chill Inn Paraty Hostel & Pousada
0.5 mi away
Pousada Vitoria
Pousada Vitoria
#81 of 322 in Paraty
226 reviews
8.8 mi away
Pousada do Horto
Pousada do Horto
#7 of 24 in Trindade
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Marendaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Marendaz

Address: Dr Derly Ellena, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Paraty
Price Range: £43 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pousada Marendaz 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Pousada Marendaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Marendaz Hotel Paraty
Pousada Marendaz Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing