We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good if you can't get some sleep - noisy kids”
Review of Pousada Marendaz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pousada Marendaz
Ranked #164 of 298 Paraty B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good if you can't get some sleep - noisy kids”
Reviewed 30 March 2010

There were lots of familys with young brats during our time there . I was in a GAP trip and no air con meant - hot and humid nights . There is a huge bathtub there and also a free breakkie ..

Paraty is beautiful though !

Don't miss Trindade !

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dharam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    26
    23
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
20
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2010

We travelled with a G.A.P group so didn't choose the accommodation, but found out ensuite double room was clean, functional and comfortable, if a bit on the small side. No aircon meant hot nights though the ceiling fan was a help. The advertised jacuzzi right outside our door occupies two-thirds of the paved courtyard, and was unfortunately not looking good or working while we were there,. This was remedied by the time we left after two days.
Breakfast was regular Brazilian fare, served in pleasant surroundings, and included plenty of good fruit. The location is convenient for walking around the historic area and to book tourist activities. If we hadn't been travelling with a guide it would have been a struggle to access information with our severely limited Portuguese and their lack of any English. We were told the room rate was RS80, so on the whole pretty good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snuzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2009

I stayed here for two nights with a tour group. It was the worst hotel we stayed at in South America. I'm not kidding, it was terrible.

On arrival, the damp, musty smell hits you. OK it's Brazil in the summer and Paraty is in a particularly damp location, but there's no excuse for this.

The rooms contain rickety bunk beds, unmatched polyester bed linen and one threadbare, none-too-clean towel per person. Neither the towels nor the bed linen were changed during the stay.

The bathrooms were old, mouldy and dimly lit. The room we stayed in had no windows.

There were lizards running around the walls, which had a gap at the top allowing the noises from neighbouring rooms to be clearly heard (as well as giving free access to the lizards).

Breakfast was nothing flash, they insisted on serving orange squash in plastic cups (as if orange juice was so expensive).

You don't expect luxury when you travel with a group (we were with GAP), but honestly, I thought they had a cheek expecting people to stay in this place.

When our tour guide announced that we were removing to Ihla Grande one day early, meaning that we only had to spend two nights in Pousada Marendaz instead of three, we cheered.

On arrival at the next destination I had to wash everything in my rucksack, because all my clothes had retained the damp mustiness. I promised myself that I would never stay anywhere like it again. Seriously, this place would shame a doss house in Morecambe.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finance23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paraty hotels

Wroclaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2008

This place is just perfect for weekend escapade to beautiful city of Parati. It is family owned Pousada, rooms are small but decent and clean. Breakfast is typical Brazilian - lots of fruit, cofee and juice. They even have a small pool and great decoration which makes you feel like at exotic place. It is just next to Historical Center of the city.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, great value for money, nice decoration and good location
  • Disliked — Rooms were very small, bathroom also avarage
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swiatka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paraty hotels
Pousada da Marquesa
#14 of 28 in Paraty
149 reviews
Historic City Center
Pousada Pardieiro
Pousada Pardieiro
#13 of 28 in Paraty
214 reviews
City Center
No photo provided
Hostel Recanto Azul
#100 of 260 in Paraty
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Pousada Talisma
Pousada Talisma
#101 of 298 in Paraty
130 reviews
Pousada Solar do Algarve
#235 of 298 in Paraty
49 reviews
Agua Viva Pousada
#85 of 298 in Paraty
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Marendaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Marendaz

Property: Pousada Marendaz
Address: Dr Derly Ellena, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 298 B&Bs / Inns in Paraty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pousada Marendaz 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Pousada Marendaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Marendaz Hotel Paraty
Pousada Marendaz Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing