We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chale Recanto da Praia
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Paraty
Certificate of Excellence
Petropolis RJ
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed there only for one night but I intend to go back for a longer stay. Service is very friendly and the accommodation is charming. It's located a bit far from the historic center of Paraty, but if you traveling by car, it's OK. I recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robsonjordao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    87
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
73
90
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

I have rated this 4 stars based on the accommodation itself, but if we were staying in Paraty again we wouldn't choose this location. The walk was longer than some other reviews have suggested to the old town. And taxis were ridiculously expensive so we couldn't just jump in a can as we'd hoped when booking. There is very little along Jabaquara beach front other than a few hostel bars and beach bars. (The one exception being a La Lanu restaurant which is definitely worth a try - when it's open).

The hotel is a very nice small complex of buildings with nice gardens. Our room was very
clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. We had a fridge, good hanging space, TV (no English channels) and ok shower. No safetly deposit box though which was a shame. The staff were very friendly and helpful (although little English spoken so we struggled to communicate a little). Breakfast was excellent - buffet served until 11 and very varied. The pool was small but nice with limited seating around the edge (if it was busy here I think you would struggle to use the pool). Wi-fi worked well throughout.

A few things to note about our room:
- we booked a room with a patio or balcony. We did have a small balcony but it was useless to us as no furniture was provided so we couldn't use it. However patios seemed to be provided with seating.
- the aircon never seemed to cool the room (we think it might have been because we had a lovely high vaulted ceiling).
- The plug sockets in our room had the normal pin holes that worked with our adaptors, but they were recessed so far back in the wall that they wouldn't fit our adaptors, so we were unable to charge anything or use hair dryers etc for our whole stay. (we didn't encounter this problem anywhere else in Brazil so i don´t think it was our equipement.)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JSAHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We travelled as a family and after lots of looking around on the web we opted for this based on the TripAdvisor comments and the pousada website. Unfortunately there is nothing good we can say about the pousada. Worst thing and unforgivable for such an establishment is that the toilets were very dirty the day we came in and were not cleaned on the following nights - they were visible dirty, obviously the staff did not care. The towels had holes or were ripped as they were very old. The hotel did not offer beach towels - amazing for a hotel in the beach were one of the attractions is to take the boat trips around the bay.

The bed covers and particularly the pillows on top of the bed were smelly of body odour, they were obviously not washed with the rest of the linen - unforgivable to welcome guest with the previous guest smells. Old furniture too, rusting refrigerator.

Staff did not replace the soap after the first night.

Breakfast - below average, at least they could have served new bread roles.

As a summary I would not recommend anyone to go to this place. Paraty is fantastic but needs better establishments. The last 2 times we visited the places were also poor, but this one won the price for the worst place so far. We will come back to Paraty and hope to find a place in line with the beauty of Paraty.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Nomad500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
recantodapraia, Owner at Chale Recanto da Praia, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear a
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

This chalé was really a great deal. The place is spotless clean and the decoration makes you feel at home.
The garden is beautiful, and the surroundings so peaceful and just 1.5Km away from the historic town.
The only "inconvenient" is the closeness between the chalés, which does not give much privacy to a couple.

I highly recommend this place and would love to go back sometime.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank geiko_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paraty hotels
1.1 mi away
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#24 of 28 in Paraty
355 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pousada Villa del Sol
Pousada Villa del Sol
#18 of 28 in Paraty
272 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pousada da Condessa
Pousada da Condessa
#7 of 28 in Paraty
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pousada do Ouro
Pousada do Ouro
#3 of 28 in Paraty
548 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pousada do Sandi
Pousada do Sandi
#5 of 28 in Paraty
516 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pousada Aguas de Paratii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chale Recanto da Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chale Recanto da Praia

Property: Chale Recanto da Praia
Address: Rua Imperatriz Tereza Cristina 29 | Jabaquara, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Paraty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Chale Recanto da Praia 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a lush tropical garden the Corner of Beach Chalet is less than 200m from the beach Jabalpur, 1.5 Km from the historic center of Paraty and 3 km from the bus station.The beach, very calm waters, ideal for children. The absence of waves allows the practice of stand-up and canoeing. There are places to rent kayaks and surfboards right next to the inn and the kiosks are well structured.Rates include full breakfast with different flavors of cakes, breads, biscuits, fruits, meats, yogurts, juices, brioches and other delights. The Internet access and parking are amenities watchman of the hotel.The apartments have TV, minibar, air conditioning and king size beds. Already chalets also have kitchens equipped to accommodate families with up to five people.All information on tours, tips of restaurants, shopping, historic attractions and custom tours can be obtained on front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chale Recanto da Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chale Recanto Da Praia Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing