We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ótimo! One of the better pousadas in tudo Brasil”
Review of Eliconial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eliconial
Ranked #4 of 306 Paraty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

The stay was in one word perfect. Have stayed in many pousadas from Iguaçu and Floripa up to Goiânia. Eliconial however surpasses the requirements which are met by hotels and inns in Europe. Certainly at the level of personal service; Ricardo, Ivan and Roberto are there to cater your every little need. Will return here definitely!

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Collin Leroy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 706 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

The comfort of a beautifull place
The comfort of nice people
The comfort of a good bed
The comfort of a tastefull breakfast
The comfort of a nice swimmingpool and jacuzzi
The comfort of a good service

That's wat you need on your holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I've traveled the world extensively hitting over 50 countries and this was by far the nicest place I've stayed at. It was a little further outside downtown Paraty but worth every penny. The Staff were excellent, the breakfast AMAZING and the grounds were gorgeous. The rooms were spectacular as well. I felt like I was staying at a 5 star resort. I would go back time and time again. Yvan and Roberto were fantastic hosts, helping you with all your needs.

This place made you feel what it's like to be on "Island Time". Not a care in the world.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CRJDASH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I stayed for 3 nights and yvan and Roberto were so friendly and helpful, couldn't have asked for more. The chalet was lovely decorated and felt so homely, it was clean and comfortable, couldn't have been better. The breakfast was great, try the pancakes and there is always afternoon tea and cakes to enjoy. The decking area and pool was a great place to enjoy the sun and the monkeys. Would recommend to anyone, don't miss out on this gem.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank littlepinkalien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Yvan has created a little piece of paradise at the Eliconial Paraty Pousada. Our chalet was spacious and we enjoyed drinks on our verandah every evening – only problem being the daily fight for the hammock! Excellent facilities included a good sized pool, jazuzzi and sauna. Breakfast was delicious with a wide choice on offer. There was even the additional option of scrambled eggs or crepes. The afternoon tea and cakes which was offered free to guests was a lovely touch and most welcome. There is a good selection of beach bars and restaurants nearby for evening meals. Paraty itself is either a five minute drive or a 20 minute walk.

We enjoyed a fabulous and relaxing four days at the Eliconial at the end of a fairly hectic holiday and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others. We would also like to thank Yvan and all his staff for their warm welcome and their friendly service throughout our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martingale54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Super-friendly staff, rooms set in a nice, well-maintained garden (fed monkeys and saw fireflies!), nice jacuzzi, sauna and pool, some nice beach bars/restaurants nearby, ideal for a late night caipirinha overlooking the moon-lit sea.

Hotel is located a 25-minute walk/5-minute ride from the historic center. Might be a concern if you don't have a car, though personally we didn't mind the 25-minute walk along the beach (and up a little hill) all that much. And there's always the taxi alternative @ R$25.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RuPhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Warmly welcomed, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and were sad to leave. It is true what they say "We are not strangers, just friends who haven't met" Ivan and rest could not have been more accommodating. Wi-Fi works great. The town is within walking distance, the beach is a stone's throw away. After a day of a boat trip or walking in town or whatever, you come back to friendly conversation, freshly made coffee and then relax in sauna and Jacuzzi. The Caipirinhas are amazing and made with love. Everyone is just happy to help and answer any questions.

We can not recommend this place enough!!!

***We recommend La Luna restaurant when it is open - great food and atmosphere.***

***Avoid the Pizza at all costs if you can although go to the hostel for music and drinks as its great there. The place is run by hippies with love. The pizza is so salty, and the ingredients are all processed. I don't know what kind of cheese they use, but they put far too much of it on the pizza. If you have to, stay away from anything with ham or mushrooms (not real)***

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StellaAndy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paraty hotels
Pousada do Sandi
#5 of 28 in Paraty
533 reviews
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#24 of 28 in Paraty
356 reviews
Pousada do Ouro
#3 of 28 in Paraty
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic City Center
Pousada Porto Imperial
Pousada Porto Imperial
#4 of 28 in Paraty
517 reviews
Historic City Center
Casa Colonial Paraty
Casa Colonial Paraty
#3 of 306 in Paraty
240 reviews
Pousada Paisagem
#16 of 306 in Paraty
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliconial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliconial

Address: Rua Sete de Setembro 5 | Jabaquara, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil (Formerly Chales Calamar)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Paraty
Price Range: £93 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eliconial 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located one mile from the historic district of Paraty and 50m from the beach. The property has a beautiful garden, private parking, swimming pool, steam room and outdoor spa-jacuzzi. All apartments are en-suite with LCD TV, air conditioning and terrace with hammock. Free internet wireless in the entire property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Eliconial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliconial Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing