We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You MUST stay here!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Turquesa - Maison D'Hotes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Turquesa - Maison D'Hotes
Ranked #5 of 291 Paraty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amersham UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You MUST stay here!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We were so privileged to have the good fortune to stay here! From the moment we arrived and were greeted so warmly by Titi and her team our experience was a non stop pleasure. All rooms are individual ours was an absolute delight. The position is central to all Paraty has to offer. We truly were made to feel this was our home from home. I have to say I can truly reccommend casa turquesa! You must stay here if you visit Paraty

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shazzamcdazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pousada_CasaTurquesa, Proprietário at Casa Turquesa - Maison D'Hotes, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you so much for your review after a long time, It was a plasure to have you as our guests, and i am waiting for you any time to drink our glass of wine, only one ok?!!! rsrsrs.
Casa Turquesa will be always your home in Paraty and as you said you MUST come back!

Best wishes.

Tetê Etrusco & team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
167
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

We loved our stay at Casa Turquesa, and are so glad it was recommended by our travel agent. We had a beautiful room (Master Suite) with plenty of space. The staff were all so kind and helpful. We had such a warm welcome and it felt more like being in someone's home rather that a hotel. We arrived when there was a very high tide which flooded the streets. Our taxi couldn't reach the door so we had to arrive at the back door of the building by pony and trap. Having flown from the Iguassu Fall, via Rio, and then a 3-4 hour road journey to Paraty, we had not eaten since early that morning. We were offered delicious food to tide us over until dinner in the evening - even though they normally only do breakfast and a cup of tea and cake at teatime.
We are so pleased we went to Paraty and that we stayed at Casa Turquesa. We would happily
stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Passerby-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pousada_CasaTurquesa, Proprietário at Casa Turquesa - Maison D'Hotes, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dearest Anna and Douglas ,

Thank you for the lovely comment about Casa Turquesa. We are happy that you returned to England with a good memory of us. We will always remember your arrival , with the tide too high, on top of a chariot!

Love,

Tetê Etrusco and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

We just loved this wonderful Pousada. It felt really special, beautifully designed, wonderfully run with charming and friendly staff. It is intimate and beautifully positioned with the most comfortable beds in Brazil. It has fantastic style and we felt so happy to be there.

Room Tip: We stayed in the White Room which was wonderful but everyone we met there said how lovely their room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pousada_CasaTurquesa, Owner at Casa Turquesa - Maison D'Hotes, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear Monica and Roger ,

Thank you for your kindly comments and your visit. As I said before I hope to see you again here with "the whole family" !

Warmest regards,

Tetê Etrusco and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

We travelled for almost two months, through 4 countries, stayed in many magnificent places. But Casa Turquesa will remain a major highlight. And it's not any one particular thing you can point at - it's the complete package: the immensely good taste that went into every detail; the charming and warm attitude of the staff, not to mention the wonderful proprietor, Tete. It's the colors, the breakfasts, the warm afternoon tea with fresh cake, and then the boat rides, and the cobblestone streets. It's a charmed place you will never ever forget.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElBShaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pousada_CasaTurquesa, Proprietário at Casa Turquesa - Maison D'Hotes, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear Eldar, Anastasia, Sophie and Mia:

We feel so happy with your so lovely comment! Our goal is make your stay at Casa Turquesa an unforgettable experience and know that, means that we fulfill our mission!!! We really will be happy to see you again here! Love for all of you,

Tetê Etrusco and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

After hours of traveling to reach the colonial town of Paraty, the welcoming sight and warm reception of this utterly charming Pousada was greater than what we imagined. Tete Etrusco, the owner, has a distinctively sublime knack for creating an ambience that is both trendy cool and hospitably amiable without pretension. The colors used throughout imitate the waters of the bay, surrounding countryside and the liveliness of the village. The staff go out of their way to accommodate all your needs and lastly, the room we occupied, the White room, was impeccable and extraordinarily comfortable. If you get a chance, Go!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Damir P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pousada_CasaTurquesa, Proprietário at Casa Turquesa - Maison D'Hotes, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear Damir e Anne,

You described the Casa Turquesa as “a real piece of art”, thank you very much. We hope see you soon.

Kind regards,

Tetê Etrusco and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

I have found it impossible to categorize this beautiful house in Paraty, where we recently stayed. It is not a hotel, be it standard or boutique (the latter being my reading of the meaning of Pousada), it is not a resort nor a coaching inn and it surely is not a bed-and-breakfast. The very name of the place indicates the difficulty in describing it. The word “Casa”, meaning house or home, is an indication of the ambivalence involved.

Forgetting all these question marks I must say that this is one of the most comfortable and beautifully decorated places we have ever stayed. The rooms are spacious and airy. Our bathroom was equally ample and spotlessly clean with all the required extras including beautifully thick and woolly towels. The bed was enormous and comfortable and the bedding first class. The only negative to our bedroom was the giant black TV (quite unnecessary, really), but which so clashed with the light touch of the room’s decoration.

The staff were courteous to the extreme, helpful and not in the slightest pushy or inconvenient. The owner was frequently present and always happy to make a recommendation (where to go, what to do), talk about the pousada, it’s building and decoration. A first class massage was organized and provided.

The pousada (?) has only nine rooms and there is no restaurant as such, just a breakfast area where a pretty minimalist breakfast is served. Tea and cakes can be had at the end of the day. Paraty is plentifully supplied with restaurants, all within walking distance, so this is not a problem. There is a small and comfortable library, gazebo and a postage stamp pool, all of which beautifully decorated and gardened.

But, and here comes the great question mark, this is certainly one of the most expensive places we have ever stayed anywhere. We have paid less at most of the greatest and smartest European hotels than we did at the Casa Turquesa. Paraty, the historic town, is on the whole highly priced but the Casa Turquesa took “expensive” to new heights. We knew all this before we booked and hence this is not a complaint, just a question mark as to whether it was good value for money. I concluded that there is no conclusion because at the end of the day I felt I was not staying at a hotel but in someone’s house, and so there is no real way of making an objective evaluation or market comparison.

If you want seclusion and exclusivity, comfort and care, in beautiful surroundings, and price is no object then this is the place to stay in Paraty.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ifp43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pousada_CasaTurquesa, Proprietário at Casa Turquesa - Maison D'Hotes, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Dear Iain e Priscilla,

Know that you really felt that “you were at home” in Casa Turquesa, and forgot for an instant that you were in a Hotel, is a best thing we can listen. Cause this is the purpose of our place.

Thank you for your beautiful words. It was a pleasure for the whole team to have your presence here.

Kind regards,


Tete Etrusco and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

Casa Turquesa is an incredibly stylish little oasis in the heart of the historic centre of Paraty. You can see immediately the passion that has gone into restoring and building the hotel. Added to that, there are lovely pieces of furniture, modern and old dotted around, with splashes of vibrant colour. The suites are all a little bit different, but they all have great bathrooms with amazing power showers!

The staff are lovely- really friendly and the breakfasts are amazing!! I really like hotels where the owner or manager makes them self known to you and that is certainly the case with Casa Turquesa. Tete welcomes you to her Casa and is around throughout the day, always chatting with the guests, making recommendations, flipping in and out of Portuguese, Spanish, French, English with great ease. Also, soft drinks in the room are offered free of charge- another lovely gesture.

All in all, we felt really relaxed and comfortable in Casa Turquesa and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: The yellow room has a lovely little courtyard it looks on to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renate010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pousada_CasaTurquesa, Proprietário at Casa Turquesa - Maison D'Hotes, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear Renate and Ian,

We adored you! Thank you for made Casa Turquesa your home per one week. Thank for your beautiful comment. We hope that you are enjoying your South American Trip.
Thanks for the clothing ’s tips.
We’ll be glad to receive you one more time.

Kind regards,

Tetê Etrusco and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paraty hotels
Pousada do Ouro
#2 of 28 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Pousada do Sandi
#5 of 28 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Historic City Center
Pousada Porto Imperial
Pousada Porto Imperial
#4 of 28 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada da Condessa
#8 of 28 in Paraty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Historic City Center
Pousada Literaria de Paraty
Historic City Center
Casa Colonial Paraty
Casa Colonial Paraty
#3 of 291 in Paraty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Turquesa - Maison D'Hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Turquesa - Maison D'Hotes

Property: Casa Turquesa - Maison D'Hotes
Address: Rua Dr. Pereira, 50 | Centro Histórico, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty > Historic City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 291 B&Bs / Inns in Paraty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Turquesa - Maison D'Hotes 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by history, CASA TURQUESA has nine suites and apartments (from 27 to 58 sq.m.) with views of Paraty’s landscapes: the bay and its islands, the famous roofs of the city, the mountains and the dome of the Church of Santa Rita. Renato Tavolaro’s design rebuilt the facade of an 18th Century two-story house destroyed by a fire thirty years ago. This restoration was made with all care and concern about not only preserving the colonial architecture, but also offering the best to its visitors. It is a mix of historic beauty and contemporary comfort. Its infrastructure offers cozy atmosphere, internal yard for the guests, swimming pool equipped with whirlpool tube, bar, cellar, gazebo and garden. CASA TURQUESA further offers a reading room with a computer (Wi-Fi zone) and a small fireplace for colder days. The rooms also offer luxurious comfort: king and queen size beds, 100%-cotton egipcian bed sheets designed by renowned Trussardi house; wide bathrooms with Granado products and, in some of the suites, a whirlpool tube. All apartments and suites have air conditioner, ceiling fan, safe, mini-bar (free), telephone, LCD TV set, dock station, DVD player and hair drier. In deference to local gastronomical culture, Casa Turquesa doesn't offer neither lunch nor dinner. For those who wish to stay at the inn, it offers light and healthy options such as quiches, salads and pastas. Breakfast is prepared in the inn's own kitchen, served daily and with no restriction hours. It's filled with delicious options such as muffins and tapiocas. At the end of the day, when guests are back from their strolls, other culinary surprises await, such as a just baked cake. During the happy hour at the Casa Turquesa's bar, a turquoise dry accompanied by salmon ceviche is an excellent option to start the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Turquesa - Maison D'Hotes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Turquesa - Maison D'Hotes Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing