We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING experience!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Turquesa - Maison D'Hotes
Ranked #6 of 298 Paraty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING experience!!!”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

After a long trip through Rio and then Bouzios we finally arrived to Paraty for the relaxing part of our trip, we were supposed to stay 2 days in Paraty in Casa Turquesa and then move on to our next destination. Once the four of us walked into Casa Turquesa we all looked at each other and immediately asked if we could stay longer, this place is absolutely magical! The whole team there made us feel like family, the owner took personal care and interest with us, we were pampered and made to feel like we were the guests of honour, it was such an incredibly relaxing and luxury experience, from the moment you walk in and are asked to drop your street shoes and exchange them for new Havaianas which you are gifted at the end of your stay, to the reception cocktail, the breakfast that has no hour, it's when you wake up... to the friendly and relaxed atmosphere, the fabulous Tete (the owner), the food, the guests, the rooms...I believe I speak for all four of us when I say I will definitely go back and would recommend anyone who travels to the area to stay in Casa Turquesa.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsafra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pousada_CasaTurquesa, Proprietário at Casa Turquesa - Maison D'Hotes, responded to this review, 11 December 2014
Dear Ben ,

Almost one year late , I know ... but I hope to have time to say thank you thank you for the "amazing' reviw!

I hope you are well and are planing to come back to see us again!

Warmest regards,

Tetê Etrusco & my team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
175
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My husband and I arrived at Casa Turquesa in Paraty on my 50th birthday, as part of a bucket list trip to Brazil. The staff went out of its way to make us feel welcome and special, including arranging dinners and outings, and surprising us with a cake in our room. The pousada is beautifully appointed with impeccable design and comfort, offering a small relaxation pool and reading room. Slipping out of our street shoes into house flip flops offered a nod to Brazil's Japanese influence and set the zen tone for our three luxurious nights. The inn is tranquil and intimate, and the staff - Marcos, Gustav and Francisco - made us feel like we were their only guests. Breakfasts are truly an experience, served in several courses to your table. Light meals, afternoon tea and the signature house cachaca cocktail are also wonderful. Our room was a tranquil retreat in itself, again decorated to perfection with the juxtaposition of rustic wood and elegant fabrics, and all the amenities you can imagine. The ambiance is sophisticated, yet relaxed.

Room Tip: We stayed downstairs in the yellow room, which was charming and comfortable with a window overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pousada_CasaTurquesa, Proprietário at Casa Turquesa - Maison D'Hotes, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Michele,

Thank you for the beautiful words about Casa Turquesa. Unfortunately I was out of Brazil but i´m truly happy that my team did a nice job. Hope see you again in an upcoming occasion.

Kisses,

Tetê Etruso & Team Turquoise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed here at the end of a trip to Brazil. Paraty is lovely,can recommend Marianna from Paraty Tours as guide, also trekking day.
Casa Turquesa is a beautifully designed and appointed guest house which also serves light meals. There are so many lovely touches and the service was amazing, Breakfasts were lovely and tea and cake is served at 5pm. The owners were away while we were staying and their friend Francisco made sure that we were very well looked after. He suggested activities and booked them for us and modified them to suit some rainy days.
Can't recommend highly enough!

Room Tip: Turquoise room is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinnieEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pousada_CasaTurquesa, Proprietário at Casa Turquesa - Maison D'Hotes, responded to this review, 2 April 2016
Dear Winnie, :)

I know that I´m a bit late to say many thanks for your avaliation . Its so kind. I hope you are always in your mind as a unforgatable experience.

warmest regards,

Tetê Etrusco & Team


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Don´t bother looking for any place else, this amazing "pousada" will make you feel better than home, cosy, charming, excelent food and a 'yes' for everything you need to make you feel like a king. Plus you have "Tetê", the owner who is always there taking care of you and making sure everything is perfect the way you wanted.

Room Tip: 'Royal' was ours and I recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pousada_CasaTurquesa, Proprietário at Casa Turquesa - Maison D'Hotes, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Google Translation
Carolina querida,

Nem sei o que dizer diante de tantos elogios ! Acho que alem de nosso muito obrigada saiba que para mim e minha equipe foi um prazer receber esse "grupinho" tão simpático. Voltem sempre.

Abraços,

Tetê Etrusco e Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Our travel agent recommended Paraty to us as we were looking for some peace and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of Rio.

Paraty is simply gorgeous - a perfectly preserved colonial town from the 16th and 17th century with great shops and restauranrts.

Casa Turquesa is a wonderful bed and breakfast right on the waterfront. Rooms and service are both exceptional. One night we had a power cut and Ramon on the front desk walked us to our restaurant by torchlight. Luckily by the time dinner was over, the power was restored!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pousada_CasaTurquesa, Owner at Casa Turquesa - Maison D'Hotes, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Dear Hilary and Martin ,

Thanks so much for your wonderful review . Unfortunately I was not here to personally meet you, but I am very happy that my " Team" took care of you fondly and you left with nice memories of Casa Turquesa.

I really hope to meet you here in another time.

Warmest regards,

Tetê Etrusco and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Beautiful place that we kept refering to as a sanctuary. The rooms were adorable. Layout was beautiful. The place was very different and a great experience. The service was great. Anything you wanted they took care of it from reastaurants to excursions they handled everything. If you forgot something they had it readily available for you. The owner was extremely nice as well as all the staff. I have no complaints! I would go back again and again and again. The Location was perfect right on the water but close to everything you would want to see in the town. Walking distance from the Bus and Train station. If you visit you will not regret it!

Room Tip: I believe any room would be nice. We were on the first floor and it was nice and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SForero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pousada_CasaTurquesa, Proprietário at Casa Turquesa - Maison D'Hotes, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Stephen & Kathryn,

Thank you so much for your kind review. It was a plasure to have you as our guests and we´ll be very happy to see you here "again and again and again ... "

Best wishes,

Tetê Etrusco & team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We were so privileged to have the good fortune to stay here! From the moment we arrived and were greeted so warmly by Titi and her team our experience was a non stop pleasure. All rooms are individual ours was an absolute delight. The position is central to all Paraty has to offer. We truly were made to feel this was our home from home. I have to say I can truly reccommend casa turquesa! You must stay here if you visit Paraty

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazzamcdazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pousada_CasaTurquesa, Proprietário at Casa Turquesa - Maison D'Hotes, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you so much for your review after a long time, It was a plasure to have you as our guests, and i am waiting for you any time to drink our glass of wine, only one ok?!!! rsrsrs.
Casa Turquesa will be always your home in Paraty and as you said you MUST come back!

Best wishes.

Tetê Etrusco & team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paraty hotels
Pousada do Sandi
#5 of 28 in Paraty
509 reviews
Pousada do Ouro
#3 of 28 in Paraty
546 reviews
Historic City Center
Pousada Porto Imperial
Pousada Porto Imperial
#4 of 28 in Paraty
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#24 of 28 in Paraty
353 reviews
Pousada da Condessa
#6 of 28 in Paraty
333 reviews
Historic City Center
Pousada Literaria de Paraty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Turquesa - Maison D'Hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Turquesa - Maison D'Hotes

Property: Casa Turquesa - Maison D'Hotes
Address: Rua Dr. Pereira, 50 | Centro Histórico, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty > Historic City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 298 B&Bs / Inns in Paraty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Turquesa - Maison D'Hotes 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by history, CASA TURQUESA has nine suites and apartments (from 27 to 58 sq.m.) with views of Paraty’s landscapes: the bay and its islands, the famous roofs of the city, the mountains and the dome of the Church of Santa Rita. Renato Tavolaro’s design rebuilt the facade of an 18th Century two-story house destroyed by a fire thirty years ago. This restoration was made with all care and concern about not only preserving the colonial architecture, but also offering the best to its visitors. It is a mix of historic beauty and contemporary comfort. Its infrastructure offers cozy atmosphere, internal yard for the guests, swimming pool equipped with whirlpool tube, bar, cellar, gazebo and garden. CASA TURQUESA further offers a reading room with a computer (Wi-Fi zone) and a small fireplace for colder days. The rooms also offer luxurious comfort: king and queen size beds, 100%-cotton egipcian bed sheets designed by renowned Trussardi house; wide bathrooms with Granado products and, in some of the suites, a whirlpool tube. All apartments and suites have air conditioner, ceiling fan, safe, mini-bar (free), telephone, LCD TV set, dock station, DVD player and hair drier. In deference to local gastronomical culture, Casa Turquesa doesn't offer neither lunch nor dinner. For those who wish to stay at the inn, it offers light and healthy options such as quiches, salads and pastas. Breakfast is prepared in the inn's own kitchen, served daily and with no restriction hours. It's filled with delicious options such as muffins and tapiocas. At the end of the day, when guests are back from their strolls, other culinary surprises await, such as a just baked cake. During the happy hour at the Casa Turquesa's bar, a turquoise dry accompanied by salmon ceviche is an excellent option to start the night. Download our APP in the Apple Store and discover more about us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Turquesa - Maison D'Hotes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Turquesa - Maison D'Hotes Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing