We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rooms not so great, but location and staff was nice”
Review of Geko Hostel Paraty

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Geko Hostel Paraty
Ranked #13 of 275 Speciality Lodging in Paraty
Reviewed 5 March 2013

This hostel has rather average rooms, but the location is just perfect! It is located few meters from the beach where they serve the breakfast as well (which was very tasty and rich in fruits). So when the weather is nice it is the perfect way to start the day :) And then just heading in any direction you can find interesting places, like the historic center of Paraty or other beaches. You can also book a boat tour to the islands nearby. I would recommend this even if the boats are quite big with many people in it, but the atmosphere was just amazing.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizzieke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camila P, Gerente at Geko Hostel Paraty, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2016

We are really glad and grateful of receiving you evaluation. We treasure you contact because it’s a valuable source of data about our pros and cons of our work.

Our job it’s always headed to 100% cutomer satisfaction. In an environment of increasing competition and higher demands, we only want to improve ourselves to offer you better service.

Once again, thank you for helping us in our hard work of offering our customers a better service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2013

It wasn't a bad experience over all, It was just ridiculously expensive for what we got. Our room was a bit dodgy to say the least! The walls were covered in mould. But the toilet was spotless??!! We had a few issues with the beds in our dorm. A guy had fallen through his bunk which was located on the top of two other beds. They didn't fix it straight away, they just booked a slightly lighter girl on there instead, which i have to admire their cheekyness! We kicked up a fuss and eventually fixed it. The atmosphere was good, as was the breakfast. loads of nice travellers, the staff were young and somewhat helpful. My lovely sarong was robbed while i ate brekkie though and nobody really cared! So please, don't hang nice things outside your room or on the clothes horse!

Room Tip: try and request a room in the building, they seemed a bit nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sgrange2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camila P, Gerente at Geko Hostel Paraty, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2016

We are really glad and grateful of receiving you evaluation. We treasure you contact because it’s a valuable source of data about our pros and cons of our work.

Our job it’s always headed to 100% cutomer satisfaction. In an environment of increasing competition and higher demands, we only want to improve ourselves to offer you better service.

Once again, thank you for helping us in our hard work of offering our customers a better service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013 via mobile

Good location. Staff can be rude, and the room was like a dungeon full of mould and the bunk beds were very unsafe. The top bed fell through on one of them. Value for money wise this place is a joke. It's nearly cheaper to stay in a hotel. Only good thing was the breakfast on the beach and the happy hour

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damo_thebutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camila P, Gerente at Geko Hostel Paraty, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2016

We are really glad and grateful of receiving you evaluation. We treasure you contact because it’s a valuable source of data about our pros and cons of our work.

Our job it’s always headed to 100% cutomer satisfaction. In an environment of increasing competition and higher demands, we only want to improve ourselves to offer you better service.

Once again, thank you for helping us in our hard work of offering our customers a better service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

The Geko hostel and the Misty Chill hostel which are located right next door and have the same owners are highly comparable.
The dorm rooms are rather small and very humid. The rooms and bathrooms are not cleaned often enough, especially because when I was there the hostel was totally full, so it could get quite messy.
The staff is highly commercial, which means that they will try to sell you things like excursions or gear from the companies they work together with instead of helping you to find the best price/quality.
On the other hand, they have a perfect location right at the beach and only 5 minutes walk from the historical centre, and they have a great breakfast.
But for me the value was certainly not enough for the high price I've paid.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camila P, Gerente at Geko Hostel Paraty, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2016

We are really glad and grateful of receiving you evaluation. We treasure you contact because it’s a valuable source of data about our pros and cons of our work.

Our job it’s always headed to 100% cutomer satisfaction. In an environment of increasing competition and higher demands, we only want to improve ourselves to offer you better service.

Once again, thank you for helping us in our hard work of offering our customers a better service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Geko is a small hostel, with a nice traveller crowd. The rooms are decent (2-layered bunkbeds), some of which exit straight into the Garden. Staff are very friendly and helpful, although don't always seem to know how to deal with what should be common situations. Breakfast (included) and dinner are served in the beach-kiosk across the road, with a lovely view over the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NLDTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camila P, Gerente at Geko Hostel Paraty, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2016

We are really glad and grateful of receiving you evaluation. We treasure you contact because it’s a valuable source of data about our pros and cons of our work.

Our job it’s always headed to 100% cutomer satisfaction. In an environment of increasing competition and higher demands, we only want to improve ourselves to offer you better service.

Once again, thank you for helping us in our hard work of offering our customers a better service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

When I stayed in Geko there was building work so obviously it was not at its best but despite this our stay was still pleasant enough. the cost to share a dorm is very reasonable, especially for Brazilian prices, and this does include an incredible breakfast (toasty machines, cake, cereal, fruit, hotchocolate and all on the beach!) and internet. the location is excellent, you are right on the beach and on the beach is the geko bar where breakfast is held and they also serve nightly dinners here and obviously you can buy drinks.the dinners are quite good value for money on certain nights, we did lasagne night and burger night, both of which served really good food and unlimited salad bar and main and only cost 15 reals but there were other nights that didnt seem quite as good. the dorms themselves are not great. i was in an 8 person one and it was pretty dingy and the bathroom is more like a plane bathroom/toilet than a real one and the shower was either freezing or boiling. the staff were very helpful, they helped us organise a jeep trip and drew out maps for us so we could find our way about town. they do also have lockers and you can rent padlocks if you dont have one and you can rent towels. however, although the rooms were mediocre, as a stop off hostel in paraty it served its purpose, as we spent most of the day out at Trinidade beach (get the local bus there, it is cheap and easy, dont pay 50 reales for a transfer) and there was a jazz festival in the evenings. if you are just coming here for a bed to sleep in then dont waste the money on somewhere nicer, but dont expect luxury here.

Room Tip: dont pay for an expensive 50 real transfer to Trinidade beach when you can get the local bus for 3 r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emily_scorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GekoHostel P, Director General at Geko Hostel Paraty, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Emily,

On behalf of our Hostel, please accept my apology for the unpleasant parts of your stay. Upon reflection, we realize that some things should’ve been handled differently. Please know, this is not the experience neither the hostel nor I want to deliver to our guests. We are very concerned and we want to assure you that we take this matters very seriously.

This missed opportunity to give you a full enjoyable experience with us is something that we could never abide by. To ensure that this will never happen again, we are working hard improving our internal organization in order to offer the best travelers experience we can.

We appreciate your message regarding the deficiencies in care during your stay and any inconvenience. We couldn't avoid the building arrangements during those dates, but obviously we could do better.

We know that there were gaps and we have them identified. We are trying to develop new training methods for all employees, so that this problem is avoided to the maximum. We are also working on regulations and procedures for improvement in our services for Travelers.

Sorry to have caused you this inconvenience. If there is any possibility, we would offer the opportunity to return on another occasion.

Please count on our cooperation and understanding, and please accept our sincere apologies. We are taking the necessary steps to ensure that all guests remain 100% satisfied with the services provided.

Once again, apologizing for what happened in the provision and continuing.

Sincerely, Camila.
Manager – Geko Hostel & Pousada Paraty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The localisation of the Hostel is very good but that is where the good part ends. This is a joke.
Everybody who can avoid this hostel should do so. We had the couples room, a first view revealed dirty walls and dirty towels combined with a nasty/wet smell coming from the bathroom. The bed must have seen many people as there was no comfort whatsoever in the matress. The shower didnt work properly and u could only take a sprinkling shower with almost cold water.

The service was not very friendly. (Except the 2 Girls)

And to top the bad experience off they are rebuilding the whole Hostel (which is needed) so the noise is/was incredible. For the moment i can just recommend ... go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felix H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GekoHostel P, Director General at Geko Hostel Paraty, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Axel,

If I were in your shoes, I’d feel just as you do. I’m sorry for the frustration you have experienced.

On behalf of our Hostel, please accept my apology for your unpleasant stay. Upon reflection, we realize that some things should’ve been handled differently. Please know, this is not the experience neither the hostel nor I want to deliver to our guests. We are very concerned and we want to assure you that we take this matters very seriously.

This missed opportunity to give you an enjoyable experience with us is something that we could never abide by. To ensure that this will never happen again, we are working hard improving our internal organization in order to offer the best travelers experience we can.

We appreciate your message regarding the deficiencies in care during your stay in May. We were under an urgency building arrangements in that period. The service returned to normal and we continued working according to our policy of continuous improvement and customer satisfaction.

We know that there were gaps and we have them identified. We are trying to develop new training methods for all employees, so that this problem is avoided to the maximum. We are also working on regulations and procedures for improvement in our services for Travelers.

Sorry to have caused you this inconvenience. If there is any possibility, we would offer the opportunity to return on another occasion.

If you want to accept the proposed offer for you and your companions a compensation of R$ 200 (Brazilian Reais) will be discounted from your next stay at the Geko Hostel.

Please count on our cooperation and understanding, and please accept our sincere apologies. We are taking the necessary steps to ensure that all guests remain 100% satisfied with the services provided.

Once again, apologizing for what happened in the provision and continuing.

Sincerely, Camila.
Manager – Geko Hostel & Pousada Paraty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paraty hotels
1.3 mi away
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#24 of 28 in Paraty
356 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pousada Villa del Sol
Pousada Villa del Sol
#22 of 28 in Paraty
281 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chill Inn Paraty Hostel & Pousada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hostel Sereia do Mar
Hostel Sereia do Mar
#64 of 275 in Paraty
182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Che Lagarto Hostel Paraty
0.9 mi away
Pousada Vitoria
Pousada Vitoria
#43 of 306 in Paraty
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geko Hostel Paraty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geko Hostel Paraty

Address: Avenida Orlando Carpinelli 5 | Praia do Pontal, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 275 Speciality Lodging in Paraty
Price Range: £8 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Geko Hostel Paraty 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geko Hostel is everything you need if you are looking for fun: • BEACH-FRONT LOCATION, 5 minutes walking from the Historic Centre,• All for a really LOW PRICE, • Mixed or all-female dormitory style accommodation, and private rooms ALL with an EN-SUITE BATHROOM,• Daily accommodation includes en-suite bedrooms, kitchen, a Free Taxi from the Bus station, friendly environment,• Bilingual services and a great atmosphere, • Geko’s treat, a full Brazilian breakfast with your feet in the sand of the Pontal Beach. • OUR BEACH BAR, Geko Chill, it´s famous for its outrageous parties! Our beers are always icy cold and our barmen make the best caipirinhas on Pontal beach! We also organize barbecues and cocktail parties in our Beach Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Geko Hostel Paraty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geko Hostel Paraty Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing