We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best breakfast ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Geko Hostel Paraty

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Geko Hostel Paraty
Ranked #24 of 231 Speciality Lodging in Paraty
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“best breakfast ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We had a very rich breakfast on the beach. A wonderful scene!! Friendly staff! Very cheap accomondation! The beach bar played very nice music during breakfast and at the night. I could go back there for a couple of nights :)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yannis I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camila P, Gerente at Geko Hostel Paraty, responded to this review, 15 July 2016
We are really glad and grateful of receiving you evaluation. We treasure you contact because it’s a valuable source of data about our pros and cons of our work.

Our job it’s always headed to 100% cutomer satisfaction. In an environment of increasing competition and higher demands, we only want to improve ourselves to offer you better service.

Once again, thank you for helping us in our hard work of offering our customers a better service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    74
    50
    13
    25
See reviews for
14
41
42
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tonyc32
Level Contributor
131 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

I hate to write this kind of review and make these accusations but all emails to the hostel requesting the Managers / owners contact details have gone unanswered. In fact every email sent to Geko, even before my drama, simply went unanswered.

So........I believe I was a victim of theft and that the theft was carried out by a member of staff. I'll lay down the facts and why I think this.

- I checked out of Geko hostel as I was going on a tour and then catching a bus out of Paraty.

- I asked to put my bags into their secure storage and was escorted there by a member of staff.

- 10 minutes later I remembered I had left my tour ticket in my shorts so I asked to go back up again and was escorted up by the same member of staff. I quickly pulled out my shorts, pulled out my money and with it my tour ticket. I replaced my money and the few receipts in the same pocket I always use for my cash. I realised afterwards that I had done this in full view of the staff member (I was in a rush).

- Upon return I was dropped off by my tour 1.5 hours late and quickly retrieved my bags. I changed into some bus suitable clothes and immediately went to my shorts to get my money......which was missing. All of my cards, receipts and usual junk was there but not my cash. There was some $500R missing - all of my money for Rio.

I don't believe in such coincidences. A member of staff who had seen my money which was in my bags in a locked room where people can go *only* with staff escort.....and my money goes missing. Just the money, just from that pocket. The storage room was not a high traffic area - the hostel was pretty empty and there were only two bags in the room when I put mine in.

Nothing else was taken. My laptop, camera and other valuable items were in the same bag and were not touched. Probably so I would not notice any weight change in the bag and would hopefully leave for my bus without checking for my cash (so upon arriving at my destination I can't be sure where the money went missing). A regular thief would have taken everything valuable, not meticulously searched a pair of shorts and just removed the money.

I did not inform the staff there about the theft as I had a mere 20 minutes to get to the bus station and on my bus. The chances of them being able to do anything was slim anyway - I aimed to contact the manager once I reached Rio.

I did not use a locker as my padlock was too thick for the locker rings. My padlock is standard....this is the first time in 7 months and tens of hostels where this has been an issue.

They have CCTV covering the door to the storage room, and perhaps even inside, but they don't respond to emails!

I don't have any chance of getting my money back but I can warn others of the perils of this place. I'm a seasoned traveler and reviewer on Tripadvisor. My first experience of theft in 7 months of traveling South and Central America! :/

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonyc32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camila P, Gerente at Geko Hostel Paraty, responded to this review, 15 July 2016
If I were in your shoes, I’d feel just as you do. I’m sorry for the frustration you have experienced.

On behalf of our Hostel, please accept my apology for your unpleasant stay. Upon reflection, we realize that some things should’ve been handled differently. Please know, this is not the experience neither the hostel nor I want to deliver to our guests. We are very concerned and we want to assure you that we take this matters very seriously.

This missed opportunity to give you an enjoyable experience with us is something that we could never abide by. To ensure that this will never happen again, we are working hard improving our internal organization in order to offer the best travelers experience we can.

We know that there were gaps and we have them identified. We are trying to develop new training methods for all employees, so that this problem is avoided to the maximum. We are also working on regulations and procedures for improvement in our services for Travelers.

Sorry to have caused you this inconvenience. If there is any possibility, we would offer the opportunity to return on another occasion.

If you want to accept the proposed offer for you contact us.

Please count on our cooperation and understanding, and please accept our sincere apologies. We are taking the necessary steps to ensure that all guests remain 100% satisfied with the services provided.

Once again, apologizing for what happened in the provision and continuing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paraty hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

The staff were super friendly & great at English. They also provided us with travel/activity tips. The location is amazing and the breakfast was the most varied of all he hostels I stayed in during my trip. The rooms were ok, th plastic bedding was slightly noisy and the mattresses were really soft, but they were ok. It's worth shelling out for a private room as they're way nicer than the dorms. The bathrooms weren't hat great, and they didn't seem all that clean either. The hostel is currently being done up so I imagine it'll be nicer in a few years.

Room Tip: It's worth paying the extra few reals on a private room not the dorms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MonkeyHunterX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camila P, Gerente at Geko Hostel Paraty, responded to this review, 15 July 2016
We are really glad and grateful of receiving you evaluation. We treasure you contact because it’s a valuable source of data about our pros and cons of our work.

Our job it’s always headed to 100% cutomer satisfaction. In an environment of increasing competition and higher demands, we only want to improve ourselves to offer you better service.

Once again, thank you for helping us in our hard work of offering our customers a better service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

The place was clean and the staff friendly, and in my view much better than chilli next door (same owners). If you want a quiet place I'd go elsewhere as the front porch is noisy until late with music, but hopefully you're part of the noise and not in bed early. Breakfast was good on the beach. The shower in our room was an electric heated shower head that didn't get that hot, but apart from that the bathroom was ok. Plastic sheets on the bunks are good for hygiene but noisy when you move at night

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Xavier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camila P, Gerente at Geko Hostel Paraty, responded to this review, 15 July 2016
We are really glad and grateful of receiving you evaluation. We treasure you contact because it’s a valuable source of data about our pros and cons of our work.

Our job it’s always headed to 100% cutomer satisfaction. In an environment of increasing competition and higher demands, we only want to improve ourselves to offer you better service.

Once again, thank you for helping us in our hard work of offering our customers a better service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

This hostel has rather average rooms, but the location is just perfect! It is located few meters from the beach where they serve the breakfast as well (which was very tasty and rich in fruits). So when the weather is nice it is the perfect way to start the day :) And then just heading in any direction you can find interesting places, like the historic center of Paraty or other beaches. You can also book a boat tour to the islands nearby. I would recommend this even if the boats are quite big with many people in it, but the atmosphere was just amazing.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzieke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camila P, Gerente at Geko Hostel Paraty, responded to this review, 15 July 2016
We are really glad and grateful of receiving you evaluation. We treasure you contact because it’s a valuable source of data about our pros and cons of our work.

Our job it’s always headed to 100% cutomer satisfaction. In an environment of increasing competition and higher demands, we only want to improve ourselves to offer you better service.

Once again, thank you for helping us in our hard work of offering our customers a better service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

It wasn't a bad experience over all, It was just ridiculously expensive for what we got. Our room was a bit dodgy to say the least! The walls were covered in mould. But the toilet was spotless??!! We had a few issues with the beds in our dorm. A guy had fallen through his bunk which was located on the top of two other beds. They didn't fix it straight away, they just booked a slightly lighter girl on there instead, which i have to admire their cheekyness! We kicked up a fuss and eventually fixed it. The atmosphere was good, as was the breakfast. loads of nice travellers, the staff were young and somewhat helpful. My lovely sarong was robbed while i ate brekkie though and nobody really cared! So please, don't hang nice things outside your room or on the clothes horse!

Room Tip: try and request a room in the building, they seemed a bit nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sgrange2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camila P, Gerente at Geko Hostel Paraty, responded to this review, 15 July 2016
We are really glad and grateful of receiving you evaluation. We treasure you contact because it’s a valuable source of data about our pros and cons of our work.

Our job it’s always headed to 100% cutomer satisfaction. In an environment of increasing competition and higher demands, we only want to improve ourselves to offer you better service.

Once again, thank you for helping us in our hard work of offering our customers a better service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013 via mobile

Good location. Staff can be rude, and the room was like a dungeon full of mould and the bunk beds were very unsafe. The top bed fell through on one of them. Value for money wise this place is a joke. It's nearly cheaper to stay in a hotel. Only good thing was the breakfast on the beach and the happy hour

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank damo_thebutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camila P, Gerente at Geko Hostel Paraty, responded to this review, 15 July 2016
We are really glad and grateful of receiving you evaluation. We treasure you contact because it’s a valuable source of data about our pros and cons of our work.

Our job it’s always headed to 100% cutomer satisfaction. In an environment of increasing competition and higher demands, we only want to improve ourselves to offer you better service.

Once again, thank you for helping us in our hard work of offering our customers a better service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paraty hotels
0.0 mi away
Chill Inn Paraty Hostel & Pousada
0.7 mi away
Hostel Sereia do Mar
Hostel Sereia do Mar
#62 of 231 in Paraty
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Che Lagarto Hostel Paraty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Vibe Hostel
Vibe Hostel
#27 of 231 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
4.5 mi away
Casa Amarela Pousada
Casa Amarela Pousada
#88 of 291 in Paraty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pousada Refron du Mar
Pousada Refron du Mar
#114 of 291 in Paraty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geko Hostel Paraty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geko Hostel Paraty

Property: Geko Hostel Paraty
Address: Orlando Carpinelli, 5 | Praia do Pontal, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 231 Speciality Lodging in Paraty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Geko Hostel Paraty 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geko Hostel is everything you need if you are looking for fun: • BEACH-FRONT LOCATION, 5 minutes walking from the Historic Centre,• All for a really LOW PRICE, • Mixed or all-female dormitory style accommodation, and private rooms ALL with an EN-SUITE BATHROOM,• Daily accommodation includes en-suite bedrooms, kitchen, a Free Taxi from the Bus station, friendly environment,• Bilingual services and a great atmosphere, • Geko’s treat, a full Brazilian breakfast with your feet in the sand of the Pontal Beach. • OUR BEACH BAR, Geko Chill, it´s famous for its outrageous parties! Our beers are always icy cold and our barmen make the best caipirinhas on Pontal beach! We also organize barbecues and cocktail parties in our Beach Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Geko Hostel Paraty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geko Hostel Paraty Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing