We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility and beauty in the forest!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paraty
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Gite D' Indaiatiba
Ranked #82 of 268 Speciality Lodging in Paraty
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Le Gite is a beautiful place to stay if you want to 'get away from it all' for a few days - highly recommended!

I travelled by local bus from nearby Parati and walked up the (steep!) hill to the Gite. The friendly welcome from Olivier, his wife and their dog, Naomi was much appreciated!

I stayed in 'Suite 1' which had a beautiful balcony view into the rainforest, and the sound of the waterfall below added to the natural feel of the setting. The room was fairly small, but clean and nicely decorated.

There isn't much to do here, but that's the main attraction! Long walks in the forest, the pool, the waterfall, the sauna, amazing views... simple but pleasurable activities.

The food at the restaurant wasn't cheap, but the quality and taste more than compensated for the high price. The breakfast included with the room was excellent - lovely fresh produce and generous portions.

From the friendly e-mails when booking the Gite, all throughout my stay, and to Olivier kindly giving me a lift back into Parati at the end of my visit, my stay here was (unfortunately brief) but very enjoyable.

If you're visiting the beautiful town of Parati you should definitely set aside the time for a couple of nights here as a very pleasant contrast. Swap the sea and old architecture for some time in the rainforest!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikesweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
There are newer reviews for Le Gite D' Indaiatiba
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2011

This place is in the middle of nowhere - which is both a positive and a negative point. You feel in the middle of the jungle, which is exactly what you are, but it takes a long time to get there from Paraty - if you don't have a car, a taxi will be around 80RS, and there's not lots to do in the surrounding areas of the Gite. But that aside, it's wonderful.

The food has already been written about - brilliant, but expensive. The sauna is lovely, and you can jump into the water at the bottom of the waterfall afterwards. The swimming pool is a long, 25m pool, with water from the spring.

We felt very relaxed after our time here - and it was cheaper than some of the hostels we stayed in in Rio!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimP2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

This is an absolutely beautiful place! But be aware that it is rather remote and rustic.

The location is amazing. Lush and beautiful. Plus, they serve amazing food -- we had the BEST caipirinhas here, with fruit grown on the property, as well as a breakfast made for a king!! And for dinner, the best mocqueca ever. What a treat, very memorable! The ambiance in the restaurant area was fanastic -- great music, a warm fire, so relaxing.

However, we were unaware of just how pricey or time consuming it is to get here from Paraty. Its a R$70 cab ride, despite being only 20 minutes or so by car. Yes, there is a bus which picks up nearby, but it takes at least 30 minutes (or 1 hour if you accidentally catch the "local" route) and only runs about every 2 hours. Easy enough, but just be aware. Especially since there is truly nothing else near Le Gite, so you are quite isolated.

Our room was rustic. Adequate, but dark and very damp especially at night. Also, our room had possums living in the roof. Yes, that is life in the jungle. but it kept me from getting a good night's sleep as they seemed to be having a huge dance party with a hundred guests every night. It was very very loud. The pool and sauna were underwhelming, but in fairness, that was in keeping with the rustic feel of the place overall.

Next time I will just come for dinner!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

This place is amazing. Olivier, the owner, knows how to live. He truly savors life and shares this sentiment through this paradise in the rainforest. Things to know:

The location is somewhat remote but well worth it! It's 16km (about 10 miles) outside of Paraty but do not fear - there is a local bus that will take you there for $R3 (super cheap) and only takes about 15 minutes to get there (the bus is labeled Grauna or B. Grande). The environmnent is breathtaking. It is somewhat rustic like the website says but the dining experience is exquisite. Olivier is a trained chef from Paris and has a sincere passion for food).

Each night we would fall asleep to the sound of the waterfall just steps outside of our room. At night, tiki torches lit the path to our bungalow or to the restaurant. And I've never seen so much diversity in wildlife - insects like you've never seen before. You have to love nature to stay here but it truly is paradise and the pictures don't do it justice. The value for the room and breakfast is phenomenal BUT the dinner/lunch menu is not cheap. Worth having at least one night though. We brought along some snack food from Paraty with us to make up for any other times we were hungry - there are no shops or much of anything else nearby so you need to prepare ahead of time if you don't want to dish out money for the dinners there. Or if you rent a car it's easy to hop over to Paraty.

This place is a gem in the rainforest. If you want privacy, fine dining, relaxation, and nature, this is the place for you. I wish we could have stayed longer!

Oh, and the dog is adorable - seemed to follow us wherever we went which was fine by us, she was like our guardian angel.

Olivier knows how to live well and I am so thankful he opened this place!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdhdfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Although it was quite the adventurous trek to get there (small dirt side roads to access the property), it was worth it!!! Lodging was private and rustic...I felt like I was in the middle of the jungle. Very hospitable owner (a former professor) who made us feel at home. The candlelight dinners were amazing - mostly French cuisine (people fly in to the private helipad to pick up food as it is the only rated restaurant in the area) with blues playing in the background. Breakfast every morning was also delicious as well! This place had it all - a PRIVATE waterfall and pool in a very natural setting, along with a sauna overlooking it all. There is also a path on the grounds for the avid hiker. It was very uphill, but worth the effort for the overlook you arrive to at a high vantage point. The owners' German Shepherd even escorted us for the duration of the hike! I honestly felt like I had my own little paradise. I consider myself fairly well travelled, and this has so far been my favorite place to stay!!! (Please note that this is a very rustic location, and won't offer the creature comforts that some luxury travellers are used to. However, I would highly recommend stepping out of the typical resort and truly enjoy nature in it's most secluded form!)

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelBugBittenInTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ana Carolina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank PauloCacioli1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paraty hotels
0.5 mi away
Pousada do Ouro
Pousada do Ouro
#3 of 28 in Paraty
553 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chill Inn Paraty Hostel & Pousada
0.8 mi away
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#25 of 28 in Paraty
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Praia Serena
Praia Serena
#1 of 4 in Jabaquara
312 reviews
9.3 mi away
Pousada Veromar
Pousada Veromar
#19 of 23 in Trindade
43 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pousada Apple House Paraty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Gite D' Indaiatiba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Gite D' Indaiatiba

Address: Estrada Br 101 Rio Santos Km 558, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 268 Speciality Lodging in Paraty
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Le Gite D' Indaiatiba Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing