We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Friendly attention, excellent food, in a charming but rustic refuge” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Gite D' Indaiatiba

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paraty
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Gite D' Indaiatiba
Ranked #64 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Paraty
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
1,246 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,721 helpful votes
“Friendly attention, excellent food, in a charming but rustic refuge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

This place is a kind of romantic rustic refuge, where one can chill out for a pair of days, surrounded by the rain forest, the birds songs and a nice waterfall right below your room. You'll be honored by the owners' and its family's very best vip attention, will have the opportunity to experience great french food with a brazilian touch and relax at the intimate library and balcony. In my opinion, that is a bit remote and things (facilities) could be a bit more comfortable, but I'd not consider that exactly a drawback, because that was not what we were looking for in that trip.

Room Tip: You can choose rooms closer to the waterfall or closer to the main house (where are the library and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GUSDALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    11
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Le Gite is a beautiful place to stay if you want to 'get away from it all' for a few days - highly recommended!

I travelled by local bus from nearby Parati and walked up the (steep!) hill to the Gite. The friendly welcome from Olivier, his wife and their dog, Naomi was much appreciated!

I stayed in 'Suite 1' which had a beautiful balcony view into the rainforest, and the sound of the waterfall below added to the natural feel of the setting. The room was fairly small, but clean and nicely decorated.

There isn't much to do here, but that's the main attraction! Long walks in the forest, the pool, the waterfall, the sauna, amazing views... simple but pleasurable activities.

The food at the restaurant wasn't cheap, but the quality and taste more than compensated for the high price. The breakfast included with the room was excellent - lovely fresh produce and generous portions.

From the friendly e-mails when booking the Gite, all throughout my stay, and to Olivier kindly giving me a lift back into Parati at the end of my visit, my stay here was (unfortunately brief) but very enjoyable.

If you're visiting the beautiful town of Parati you should definitely set aside the time for a couple of nights here as a very pleasant contrast. Swap the sea and old architecture for some time in the rainforest!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikesweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

This place is in the middle of nowhere - which is both a positive and a negative point. You feel in the middle of the jungle, which is exactly what you are, but it takes a long time to get there from Paraty - if you don't have a car, a taxi will be around 80RS, and there's not lots to do in the surrounding areas of the Gite. But that aside, it's wonderful.

The food has already been written about - brilliant, but expensive. The sauna is lovely, and you can jump into the water at the bottom of the waterfall afterwards. The swimming pool is a long, 25m pool, with water from the spring.

We felt very relaxed after our time here - and it was cheaper than some of the hostels we stayed in in Rio!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimP2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

This is an absolutely beautiful place! But be aware that it is rather remote and rustic.

The location is amazing. Lush and beautiful. Plus, they serve amazing food -- we had the BEST caipirinhas here, with fruit grown on the property, as well as a breakfast made for a king!! And for dinner, the best mocqueca ever. What a treat, very memorable! The ambiance in the restaurant area was fanastic -- great music, a warm fire, so relaxing.

However, we were unaware of just how pricey or time consuming it is to get here from Paraty. Its a R$70 cab ride, despite being only 20 minutes or so by car. Yes, there is a bus which picks up nearby, but it takes at least 30 minutes (or 1 hour if you accidentally catch the "local" route) and only runs about every 2 hours. Easy enough, but just be aware. Especially since there is truly nothing else near Le Gite, so you are quite isolated.

Our room was rustic. Adequate, but dark and very damp especially at night. Also, our room had possums living in the roof. Yes, that is life in the jungle. but it kept me from getting a good night's sleep as they seemed to be having a huge dance party with a hundred guests every night. It was very very loud. The pool and sauna were underwhelming, but in fairness, that was in keeping with the rustic feel of the place overall.

Next time I will just come for dinner!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

This place is amazing. Olivier, the owner, knows how to live. He truly savors life and shares this sentiment through this paradise in the rainforest. Things to know:

The location is somewhat remote but well worth it! It's 16km (about 10 miles) outside of Paraty but do not fear - there is a local bus that will take you there for $R3 (super cheap) and only takes about 15 minutes to get there (the bus is labeled Grauna or B. Grande). The environmnent is breathtaking. It is somewhat rustic like the website says but the dining experience is exquisite. Olivier is a trained chef from Paris and has a sincere passion for food).

Each night we would fall asleep to the sound of the waterfall just steps outside of our room. At night, tiki torches lit the path to our bungalow or to the restaurant. And I've never seen so much diversity in wildlife - insects like you've never seen before. You have to love nature to stay here but it truly is paradise and the pictures don't do it justice. The value for the room and breakfast is phenomenal BUT the dinner/lunch menu is not cheap. Worth having at least one night though. We brought along some snack food from Paraty with us to make up for any other times we were hungry - there are no shops or much of anything else nearby so you need to prepare ahead of time if you don't want to dish out money for the dinners there. Or if you rent a car it's easy to hop over to Paraty.

This place is a gem in the rainforest. If you want privacy, fine dining, relaxation, and nature, this is the place for you. I wish we could have stayed longer!

Oh, and the dog is adorable - seemed to follow us wherever we went which was fine by us, she was like our guardian angel.

Olivier knows how to live well and I am so thankful he opened this place!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdhdfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

Although it was quite the adventurous trek to get there (small dirt side roads to access the property), it was worth it!!! Lodging was private and rustic...I felt like I was in the middle of the jungle. Very hospitable owner (a former professor) who made us feel at home. The candlelight dinners were amazing - mostly French cuisine (people fly in to the private helipad to pick up food as it is the only rated restaurant in the area) with blues playing in the background. Breakfast every morning was also delicious as well! This place had it all - a PRIVATE waterfall and pool in a very natural setting, along with a sauna overlooking it all. There is also a path on the grounds for the avid hiker. It was very uphill, but worth the effort for the overlook you arrive to at a high vantage point. The owners' German Shepherd even escorted us for the duration of the hike! I honestly felt like I had my own little paradise. I consider myself fairly well travelled, and this has so far been my favorite place to stay!!! (Please note that this is a very rustic location, and won't offer the creature comforts that some luxury travellers are used to. However, I would highly recommend stepping out of the typical resort and truly enjoy nature in it's most secluded form!)

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelBugBittenInTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paraty hotels
Pousada do Ouro
#2 of 26 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Resort Croce del Sud
#5 of 26 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada do Sandi
#4 of 26 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Historic City Center
Casa Turquesa - Maison D'Hotes
Historic City Center
Pousada Literaria de Paraty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Gite D' Indaiatiba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Gite D' Indaiatiba

Property: Le Gite D' Indaiatiba
Address: Rodovia Rio-Santos (BR-101) Km 558, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Paraty
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Le Gite D' Indaiatiba Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing