We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ground floor units crawling with ants” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pousada Cabore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pousada Cabore
Ranked #98 of 291 Paraty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Ground floor units crawling with ants”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Luckily I spent only one night here as part of a tour. There are no alarm clocks in the rooms or phones. There is also a white empty fridge and a TV.

When you close the shutters, as there are no windows in the bedroom, there are fair size gaps where ants just come flooding through. The bathroom windows have glass, but the frame they sit in leaves big gaps where even more ants come through.

We went out for dinner and when I came back I saw ants all over the place. I had to close my luggage fearing they would get in there too. I would not recommend staying here. Some staff speak a bit of English, otherwise not really.

Room Tip: Maybe try and get a room off the ground floor so there are no ants. Pretty sure they crawl up there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoWithoutBorders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    41
    15
    9
    2
See reviews for
41
83
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

I'm amazed this place has got so many positive reviews. I don't post reviews but feel I have to as our experience was so poor. We were booked in for 2 nights but left after 1 as the standard was terrible. Our bed was crawling with ants and insects and the bed linen had clearly not been changed, was stained and covered in hairs. Breakfast was also sub-standard. Location wasn't in the centre of town, which we were aware of but in hindsight I'd encourage people visiting Paraty to get something more central.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Arran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

I traveled with an international tour operator through South America and this place was booked for our fantastic stay in Paraty .... well ... enough space in the rooms, clean ... but most of the rooms for our group were on the ground floor so that we had to protect our luggage against ants and other small beasts on the room floor ......The shower construction with power (!) was completely new for me and we need some help to understand how to mix hot and cold water - which was not easy, because the hotel staff did not speak any English and my Portuguese is unfortunately very poor. Same language issues when I missed a hairdryer: via Google translate they explained that the one supposed to be in our room was used for another room - ok, but how to help us with wet hairs Google translator was not able to tell us ...... location far away from the center ....

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank schicc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YYC
Level Contributor
289 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

a good 20 minutes from downtown.

Breakfast OK but not great. I don't care about pools etc. But rooms are rather poor for the $200 they charged us, even recognizing that Parati is a tourist trap. (They might have bumped tates up for the Easter weekend. Still, facilities don't match the rates.)

Electric shower, essentially no furniture in the room. Windows that let the noise form traffic and all the dogs, roosters and motorcycles in the neighborhood wake you up at 6 am, whether you like it or not.


That should say it all. Admittedly the air conditioning worked.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bauwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

This hotel was very comfortable, very cute, and had fun little touches like a rabbit and turtle pen. It was a very nice change from big hotel chains. There wasn't much in the way of service (not to say it was bad, but the only staff I saw was at the front desk) however I'd recommend this hotel without second thought. It's a bit of a walk from the colonial/Unesco part of Paraty, but still close enough that you wouldn't need a taxi unless you have a medical condition affecting mobility.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dpmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

This was a cute little place that had wonderful service & friendly staff. The breakfast was the best I've had in south America. Highly reccomend & would love to return one day!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farfalla_1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

The rooms are basic but crisp and clean and come with a balcony. The pousada is safe in a walled off compound.
A good selection of fruit, cereal, juices and bread/pastry at breakfast.
Complimentary wifi

An excellent Italian restaurant/bar just down the street on the corner for a late dinner if you prefer to stay close to the pousada at night time

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank connoisseurc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paraty hotels
0.4 mi away
Pousada da Condessa
Pousada da Condessa
#8 of 28 in Paraty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Paisagem
Pousada Paisagem
#14 of 291 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pousada do Corsario
Pousada do Corsario
#27 of 291 in Paraty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pousada Eclipse
Pousada Eclipse
#9 of 291 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Aurora
Pousada Aurora
#43 of 291 in Paraty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pousada Magia Verde
Pousada Magia Verde
#17 of 291 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Cabore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Cabore

Property: Pousada Cabore
Address: Avenida Cabore, 12 - Lote 12 | Bairro Cabore, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 291 B&Bs / Inns in Paraty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Cabore 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabore Inn is the ideal place in Paraty for your complete relaxation and comfort. Our facilities contain 2 apartments with whirlpool bath, king box bed, air conditioning, ceiling fan, shower, TV LCD 32'', safe-deposit box, refrigerator, balcony and a delicious breakfast The Inn also offers an adult and child swimming pool, exclusive parking facility and a leisure área with barbecue pit. The environment is welcoming, charming, exclusive and safe. Everything combined with a personalized care of the owners to make your honeymoon, vacations or weekend unforgettable in the most charming city of Brazil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Pousada Cabore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Cabore Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing