We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pousada Arte Colonial
Ranked #108 of 296 Paraty B&B and Inns
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This hotel is centrally located and is beautiful. Would highly recommend it. It has great character, breakfast is great. I cannot wait to go back!! I stayed here for 3 nights for the first part of my trip to Brazil, and I have to say that I missed it when I went to central Rio. I travelled on my own and was very comfortable, its a safe place, the people are lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolly30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    34
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
20
48
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My parents and I stayed 3 nights in March 2012 and had an excellent experience. It's a small place with original building details/furniture and an excellent breakfast (lots of variety and fresh juices). The pousada is not luxurious (it does have free wifi), but it is quiet, clean and convenient (located in the historical center). I would recommend asking to see all the available rooms to select the one you like most, as it seemed the room sizes and condition varied a bit. Jules was very helpful, especially during a blackout due to rains, checking up on us and bringing us candles for our room, and helping to carry our luggage to a taxi upon check-out. (If you have rolling luggage, I'd definitely recommend you carry it or take a taxi to/from the bus station, as the cobblestone streets can really tear up your bags!)

Room Tip: Ask to see all the available rooms to select the one you like most, as it seemed the room sizes and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Worldly_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Ma
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed two nights without a reservation ahead of time. The room was clean and comfortable with A/C and a TV, WIFI. Breakfast was excellent. Service attentive and the location was perfect. Parking was in a nearby lot.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cambridge301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florianopolis
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

By recommendation of a mutual friend, we decided to try out Pousada Arte Colonial for a three night stay. Patrick, our host, a French gentleman in the early sixties, offered to carry our luggage from the nearby parked car to the guest-house. We had a quite room on the first floor overlooking garden and swimming pool. Both room and bathroom facilities were correct.

What I really wanted to talk about, however, is the breakfast. I have never had anything as good for a very long time. And I know what I am talking about, as I was a general manager of deluxe hotels for almost 20 years. There is a long, solid wooden table set up for about 12 covers with beautiful, heavy cutlery, fine porcelaine, linen serviettes, flowers and a buffet with nothing but ... quality. 10 different sorts of bread, croissants, jams, honey, a variety of French cheese, fruit, ham, bacon, cream cheese and if you wish, you can have scrambled eggs especially prepared for you in the adjacant kitchen. Any kind of fruit juice will be pressed in front of your eyes. An absolute delight! We went to another hotel after this in Rio, twice as expensive, but their breakfast wasn't anywhere as good as the one of our Pousada of Paraty.

As the same guests keep coming back all the time, it is difficult to make room reservation there, the more so, since they only have 5 or 6 rooms. So, perhaps it is a bad idea to write about it the way I did, as we may not get a room when we wish to return the next time, but that is - as they say - the way the cookie crumbles ...

Friedrich Welke, Florianopolis, Brazil

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paraty hotels
Historic City Center
Pousada Porto Imperial
Pousada Porto Imperial
#4 of 28 in Paraty
485 reviews
Pousada do Cais
#39 of 296 in Paraty
152 reviews
Historic City Center
Pousada Jardim dos Oliveiras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada Familiar Calamares
#165 of 296 in Paraty
7 reviews
Pousada Bartholomeu
#80 of 296 in Paraty
84 reviews
Pousada do Careca
#72 of 296 in Paraty
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Arte Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Arte Colonial

Property: Pousada Arte Colonial
Address: Rua da Matriz, 292 | Centro Historico, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty > Historic City Center
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 296 B&Bs / Inns in Paraty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pousada Arte Colonial 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Pousada Arte Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Arte Colonial Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing