We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Gone Downhill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Che Lagarto Hostel Paraty
Ranked #6 of 281 Speciality Lodging in Paraty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed here twice in our 8 month stay in South America. The first time was amazing but sadly the second was just so bad we left.

The good things about the hostel:
+ the hostel itself is very nice and has a beautiful garden with hummingbirds and cute little monkeys
+ Leo the bar guy is awesome and still makes the best Caipirinhas we have ever had
+ The rooms and beds were comfortable
+ The location is good but then again, Paraty is tiny so any location would be close to the historical Centre etc...

However, the bad thigs, which outweighed the good for us:
- The ensuite in our room was FILTHY to the point where I had to ask the cleaner (via a portugese speaking staff member) to redo it properly as the sink was thick with scum and clogged with other peoples hair. She told me she cleaned it the day before but there was absolutely no way this was true.
- The internet may as well be none existant. This was something that we knew last time we came, and thought the computers and/or internet would have improved in the 7 months we had been away.....but no.
-The staff (except Leo) were slow, useless and the other bar guy was either in the worst mood possible or on drugs as he was rude and literally threw peoples change at them after paying. Additionally, some of the staff tried overcharging us for the room we were in, until we realised and then they looked very embarrassed....
- Whilst we were there, one of our room mate's phone was stolen. The only people in the room during this time was myself, my boyfriend and the cleaner. Considering it wasnt us who stole the phone, that only leaves one culprit....

Needless to say, this place has gone very downhill in a space of 7 months and we ended up leaving because of how bad and overpriced it was. There are loads of hostels in Paraty, I suggest looking elsewhere before booking here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephieAlice_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (833)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 833 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

good location, walk everywhere old town and main street and bus!
Breakfast yum.
kitchen -tiny so not great for cooking.
food the do is good!
the room was ok small, dorm. bathroom wasnt always pefect clean but to be expected in a dorm.
The atmosphere common room and staff and pool make me want to go back! you dont need big room plenty of space to chill elsewhere! staff soooooo good!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 259rebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

From the beginning till the end all the staff made me feel like in home.
All the staff are great, the place amazing, the dinner is good and accessible, the location it is also good and the mood is really nice with bands playing live, a small but cool swimming pool and relaxing zones.
I only have good words to say about this hostel. Maybe the breakfast could have jam and cheese like in some other hostels.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alejodaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Its a very nice hostel! We had a double room! Clean, simple, quiet! Staff members very friendly!
Nice young atmosphere. Some of the rooms are inside the garden with the hammocks. Its really peaceful!

In the evenings people cooked in the kitchen, some grilled meats, others baked chocolate cakes. It was really cool.

The location is also very good. Near the coach station and also 5 minute walk from the very centre!

Room Tip: I havent seen the rooms in the main building, but the ones in the garden on the ground floor are sim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karandashlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

there is not much to say about this hostel, to put it easy, if you want to feel like an animal then go to this jungle, there is no management in this place, everyone is high and drunk, they barely clean the rooms and even leave the doors open so anyone can just easily sneak in any room. just avoid this hostel if you want to enjoy Paraty.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linaro_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I dont know why this hostel has so many reviews here! This is a great place to be!
Staff is awesome, all English speakers, traveled and helpful.

Very well located, fun tours and easy to get around.

Every evening they offer a especial dinner menu, which we had most nights for a great price!
One night they had live music and caipirinhas! Just awesome after an amazing day exploring beautiful Paraty!
They offer a decent breakfast every morning, brazilian style yummmmm

Rooms are pretty small, and no internet in the rooms only in the lobby. Everything else is awesome.

Definitely going back!

Room Tip: Get a Jeep tour!! Dont ,miss breakfast and dinner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

This hostel is well located, near the historic center. Despite the fact that many foreign people go to this hostel, I found it a dirty hostel. The beds in the dorms are old, not stable and the sheets need to be replaced.

The bathroom is very tiny and was not cleaned properly every day.

I wouldn't recommend this hostel.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paraty hotels
0.9 mi away
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#24 of 28 in Paraty
358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pousada Villa del Sol
Pousada Villa del Sol
#22 of 28 in Paraty
284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chill Inn Paraty Hostel & Pousada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hostel Sereia do Mar
Hostel Sereia do Mar
#66 of 281 in Paraty
182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Vitoria
Pousada Vitoria
#55 of 308 in Paraty
220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Geko Hostel Paraty
Geko Hostel Paraty
#14 of 281 in Paraty
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Che Lagarto Hostel Paraty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Che Lagarto Hostel Paraty

Address: Rua Benina Toledo do Prado 22, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 281 Speciality Lodging in Paraty
Price Range: £23 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Che Lagarto Hostel Paraty 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new hostel in Paraty will have both private and shared rooms, with private bath and air conditioning in superior apartments. As always it will have the best common areas, tv room, bar and the cool atmosphere that characterizes us for you to enjoy your trip around South America with most kind, entertaining and professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Che Lagarto Hostel Paraty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Che Lagarto Hostel Paraty Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing