We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, centric stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pousada Casa de Paraty
Ranked #38 of 313 Paraty B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Well preserved, colonial hotel in the middle of Paraty. We got the master room with semi-ocean view. Clean, spacious rooms, nice breakfasts. Very well located to walk around Paraty. Over priced like all good hotels in Brazil, worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evroth13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2012

We had such a relaxed 5 nights stay in the guest house suite. The staff were helpful from the moment we made our reservation and made us feel so at home. The bed was huge and oh so comfortable. And how wonderful that they served breakfast until noon! And its oh so quiet being in the traffic free historic centre which is so convenient to the many restaurants nearby.

This traditional house complemented so well by its contemporary desigh is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny_and_Marcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I have stayed twice at this property - once last week with my family, and once a year ago with a friend, and enjoyed my stay on both occasions. The Pousada is not big - 3 rooms, 2 being fairly large and one smaller room. The Suite Principal is above the main lounge (at the front of the house) is a good size, and has a nice bathroom with good quality toiletries and towels (Trusadi towels). The bed is comfortable with Buettner cotton sheets, a quiet ceiling fan, and the option of A/C. If Paraty has tired you out, or you have twisted your ankle on the cobbled streets, then each room has Sky TV with movie channels, and good quality wireless internet access. The room has a mini-bar and one with fair pricing too, rather than one you avoid - a cold Bohemia beer is only marginally more expensive than you would pay in the store, which is very reasonable.

The Suíte Casa de Hóspedes at the back of the house is a separate construction and is spread over two floors, with a dinning table, bar and small kitchen area downstairs (certainly suitable for some good self-catering), along with the bathroom. Upstairs is a large sized, bright and airy room, again with a silent ceiling fan and A/C if you prefer that. The rooms all come with mosquito plug-ins too, so no need to bring your own. The website hasn't been updated to show the new kitchen installation at the time of writing, but it is nicely done.

The Suite Jardim is the smallest of the rooms, but again with the same high quality facilities and a good size bathroom. There is a small communcal area between the Casa de Hóspedes and the Suite Jardim, so if you do use both rooms, you have a nice, private feeling garden area with outdoor seating to share. In bad weather, the guests from your party staying in the Suite Jardim can also make use of the downstairs space in the Suite Casa de Hóspedes too.

The overall service is personal, friendly and not in any way intrusive, which may be a fear in a small property - you never feel intruded upon, or even that you are staying in someone's house, as the owner does not live in the property, but is nearby if needed. The breakfast, served by Mara is exceptional - Mara makes the cakes, which are delicious and serves fresh fruits, breads, eggs (if requested) cold cuts, and fresh orange juice. She is a credit to the Pousada. Uira is helpful, friendly, and speaks excellent English for those that need it.

I hope to return for a third visit to this property one day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Myself and my husband had booked to stay 2 nights here as part of our honeymoon in May 2012. We were so blown away with how beautiful this Pousada was that we asked if we could stay an extra night, which the owners were more than happy to accomodate. I cannot say enough good things about this place - the location is perfect, right in the heart of the beautiful town of Paraty - just a couple of minutes walk to the beach and a stone's throw away from the local shops and restaurant. The house is beautiful, painted from floor to ceiling in white and decorated with local artwork, it really is the perfect beach house. We stayed in the suite upstairs, which was equipped with a plasma TV with full sky coverage, there is a balcony to the rear with views of the sea. The staff were amazing - prior to our arrival we were asked what we'd like for our breakfast, as they tailor this to each guest - we got exactly what we asked for and more! On arrival we were also treated to a pair of havianna flipflops to wear in the house - this was such a treat and really made us feel as though we were at home! We would recommened this Pousada to anyone looking for a relaxing break- perfect for a honeymoon!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The pousada is a great, the bed is very comfy and the night sleep is simply delightfull. It´s close to the sea and very quiet. The breakfast is also really good. I loved the fact that you can use the house facilities, tv works great so as the wi-fi. Bathroom is big clean and the douche is awesome. The location is great also.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

My husband and I stayed for here for the last two days of a two week trip to Brazil. It was absolutely perfect! Uira was a great host and made us feel at home immediately. The casa is beautiful with all these personal decorative touches. Breakfast was wonderful and we ate in the outside deck area in the morning. It is right in the center of the historic district and in walking distance to everything. I can't wait to go back some day!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeng123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

It's the small, personal touches that make a stay truly memorable. At Casa de Paraty, there is no detail left unattended - from the elegant and well-placed art to the top-notch quality of the towels and linens.

The owner's lovely son Uiria was what first drew us in. We were walking around looking at different pousadas and he came out to greet us after he overheard us asking for directions outside. He gave us a tour of the house as if we were old friends coming to stay.

The house, a former family home which they have built up over the last 15 years, is bright white with splashes of color everywhere. You can tell there's a story behind each antique, piece of art and even sinks (hammered copper bowls).

We stayed in the apartment adjacent to the house - a stunning two floor suite with its own kitchen and dining area. The large bedroom upstairs is a haven of comfort with the most comfortable mattress I've slept on in years. If you're feeling lazy, they've even sprung for every cable channel so you can have your own little movie night in.

My husband and I have been traveling for the last 6 months and - out of 51 hotels in 9 countries - this is by far one of our very favorites. We're already planning our return...

Room Tip: There are only three rooms - the apartment we stayed in is ideal for couples who want a little more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shirinmajid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paraty hotels
Pousada da Marquesa
#14 of 28 in Paraty
158 reviews
Historic City Center
Pousada Pardieiro
Pousada Pardieiro
#12 of 28 in Paraty
220 reviews
Historic City Center
Casa Colonial Paraty
Casa Colonial Paraty
#5 of 313 in Paraty
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic City Center
Pousada Jardim dos Oliveiras
Pousada Paisagem
#16 of 313 in Paraty
312 reviews
Pousada Vitoria
#64 of 313 in Paraty
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Casa de Paraty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Casa de Paraty

Address: Rua da Praia, 47 | (Antiga Rua da Praia), Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty > Historic City Center
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 313 B&Bs / Inns in Paraty
Price Range: £108 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Casa de Paraty 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada Casa de Paraty, is located in the quietest part of the Historical Center, near the Port, postcard of the City; and it has only three exclusive suites, offering all the comfort and cozyness you deserve.The proposal of the new Pousada Casa de Paraty is that you really feel at home, enjoying all the best Paraty can offer and staying in a colonial style house with a decoration where two styles meet together, the old and the contemporary. After a night in any of our three suites, you will understand and feel this new way of being a guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Pousada Casa de Paraty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Casa De Paraty Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing