We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre rooms and appalling service ”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paraty
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pousada Estacao do Sol
Ranked #73 of 306 Paraty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

The room we booked 3 months in advance and paid a deposit for was not available so we were downgraded. Initially they still wanted the full price. After an hour discussion trying to explain that this was not acceptable (no one speaks any English so we had to speak in broken Spanish) they decided our room was available. The staff were not remotely apologetic at any point and made us feel we were an inconvenience.

We were paying the vastly inflated prices around new year as is standard in Brazil (565 BRL per night) and yet they did not clean our room once in 4 days! We had to ask for clean towels and more soap. The sheet did not fit the bed and so could not be tucked in at all sides.

The rooms are mediocre and looking dated with windows that don't close properly (letting Mosquitos in), the air conditioning unit is old and very loud. The sheet did not fit the bed and so could not be tucked in at all sides.

The pool is reasonably nice but there is no shade at all and some grimey tide marks.

The location is directly opposite Jabaquera beach and near the very nice restaurant Luna but a long way from the historic centre (40 mins over a steep hill) which is where all the sights and good restaurants are.

Comfortably the worst value room I have ever stayed in !!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nl6935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

this place offers one of the best quality and value in paraty. located rigth in front and in the center of jabaquara beach, it has clean and nicely decorated rooms. one of the best rooms i saw in brasil, where most pousadas and budget hotels are poorly designed. the breakfast is rich on a balcony that looks rigth over the beach. the pricing is also fair, as they charge the same price everyday, regardless of the event taking place in town - not a common practice in paraty. the receptionist is very helpfull and alert and inteligent - anoher uncommon virtue in brasil.

Room Tip: close the windows before sunset - mousquitos time !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

After a less exciting stay in Paraty old city center we stayed in this hotel for one night. It is location about 2 km from the old city center, we had a car to travel there but there also seems to be a bus. Walking will be around 30 min.

The place is location directly at the beach with only the the street in between. Good service & staff, clean and comfortable room (although the airco is a little noisy) and the breakfast is great. Certainly recommendable!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hgrietkerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

A nice place. There are a few see view bars across the street on the beach.
Quite far from the historical center, but located in a nice neighbourhood on the beach. Extremely clean and cosy.
No one at the hotel speaks English though.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annagynter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Theodoro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Victor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: do segundo andar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ricardo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paraty hotels
0.4 mi away
Pousada da Condessa
Pousada da Condessa
#6 of 28 in Paraty
343 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chale Recanto da Praia
Chale Recanto da Praia
#11 of 28 in Paraty
203 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pousada Villa del Sol
Pousada Villa del Sol
#23 of 28 in Paraty
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pousada Aguas de Paratii
0.9 mi away
Pousada Sol Nascente
Pousada Sol Nascente
#133 of 306 in Paraty
36 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jabaquara Beach Resort
Jabaquara Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Jabaquara
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Estacao do Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Estacao do Sol

Address: Avenida Jabaquara 985 | Praia do Jabaquara, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Paraty
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Pousada Estacao Do Sol Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing