We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice post-colonial atmosphere”

First Church of Our Lady of the Remedies
Book In Advance
More Info
US$116.99*
and up
Paraty City Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #15 of 147 things to do in Paraty
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
247 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Nice post-colonial atmosphere”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is not a church with spectacular works of art or other in-your-face attractions, but it is pleasant to look at and walk around in; the atmosphere is peaceful and the entire experience has a post-colonial flair to it (like much of Paraty).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hamburgguy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    319
    115
    20
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Pirates!”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The story of this church is probably much more interesting than the building itself. According to legends, it was financed by the pirate treasure that was found dug somewhere on the shores. The church contains stuff made by local artists. We were lucky, because the stairs stayed open accidentally, so we had the opportunity to visit the upper floor. Not much to see there but the sight from the windows is cool.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ehegedus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A small church that help you to understand how the city of Paraty grew at that area.”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This church and others interesting spots of Old Paraty city are parts of a rented carriage tour which is found at Praca da Matriz. Prices are negotiable with the carriage conductors.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Incansavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 12 December 2012

It's a wonderful portuguese construction. It is located in a gorgeus square with ancient big trees. It is a good place to have an ice cream just looking people walking.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melissagava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earth
Level Contributor
242 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“The Most Amazing Church Service”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

If you are lucky enough to be in Paraty while the priest is celebrating a mass, you must stop in. Doors are wide open welcoming all passersby. The interior of the church is absolutely gorgeous, the music from the choir is uplifting, the ceremony is breathtaking and the level of participation from the community is amazing. Our original intent was to experience the service and admire the interior of the church for a short while but we ended up staying until the very end. This was one of the most memorable experiences in our eight weeks in Brazil. Note that this recommendation is from someone who has not been inside a church in 25 years. Just go and experience the warmth and vibrancy of this community. It is a very heart warming experience.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Boudecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed First Church of Our Lady of the Remedies also viewed

 

Been to First Church of Our Lady of the Remedies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing