We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and relaxed atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpacker's House Hostel
Ranked #51 of 260 Speciality Lodging in Paraty
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value and relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This hostel is positioned right next to the bus station and a big supermarket, both of which are very handy. It is also within walking distance of the town centre. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the common areas are really pleasant to relax in. The only fault we could find was that our bathroom had a fairly unpleasant odour, and perhaps the kitchen could have been cleaner. Overall, excellent value for money and recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    32
    9
    7
    7
See reviews for
2
20
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

it is really close to the busstation and that makes it easy to travel around any time of day. I really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and that the hostel offers a bike tour. The breakfast is good and really Brazillian

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renette891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

This was by far the best hostel we have stayed in on our 3 month trip around Brazil! The staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast was amazing and the atmosphere was so chilled and had a real family vibe. The hostel does it's own waterfall trip which I highly recommend, was a lot of fun and very cheap for the whole day plus there's lots of information about other tours and trips etc. Usually every second night there is a barbecue or some other form of communal dinner with never ending caiphirinas, great opportunity to meet people properly not just the general small talk! No it is not the cleanest hostel we've stayed in nor the most spacious but it comes out on top due to all of the above reasons. Have recommended this hostel to everyone I have met heading to Paraty and would definitely stay here again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lydia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Had a lovely few nights in Paraty staying here. Great location by the supermarket and bus station, only 5 mins to the centre of the tiny town. Pablo and co were so friendly and offered great advice on things to do, they also took guests out on waterfall tours almost every day. Great big kitchen and living room area that was always full of friendly faces, with a computer and plenty of books to use. Dorms were on the small side and got a bit hot at night despite all the fans and ac. Only one plug socket in our room too which was a bit of a pain.. I was at the bottom of a triple bunk which was literally on the floor so the minute people were walking around I woke up. Only 2 bathrooms for the whole place too, though it wasn't too terrible. The breakfast is so amazing that it makes up for the small negatives- loads of breads, fruit, antipasti type nibbles and cake! Nice place to relax and recharge.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This hostel is cosy, homely and inviting with incredibly generous and kind staff, especially the owner Pablo who always made time to help us. The breakfast is amazing with a massive spread! Definitely the best hostel breakfast we've ever had (and probably will ever have!). The hostel also runs its own tours to the waterfalls, and although raining when we went, Pablo and Adrian made sure we had a really fun and enjoyable day. The hostel is also super close to the bus station and supermarket, which we really appreciated after the long bus trip from Rio. The hostel really made our 4 day stay incredible :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amorous87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I really enjoyed that hostel. Met some great people over there.
Has a great atmosphere. The breakfast is excelent. Adriano and the other staff was great and very helpful. The location couldn't be better. Just a fews steps from the bus station and to the main supermarket. Also is really close to the historical center.
Theres a common kitchen and the common area is really good and relaxing.
Good bedrooms with big lockers and a good shower inside.
It was very clean.
I definitly recomend this hostel.

Room Tip: Dowstairs bedroom was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This was one of the friendliest hostels we stayed in on the whole of our 2.5 month trip. We booked the double room. The room was fine, but where this hostel stands out is the family feel to it downstairs. This is one of the places that offer HOME COOKED FOOD!! We had delicious gnocci at a bargain price, and you get to drink lethal margaritas with it too. It is a really good way to meet people and breakfast (as you can see in the pic) is exceptional on the same long table. The owner Pablo is super helpful and he recommended a beach hike to us that we ended up doing as a group of 6 with people from the hostel.

It is really close to walk to town and very convenient for the bus station right next door. The other thing that added to the homeliness is the kids running about and the cute little puppy that will sleep on you whilst you're in the hammock! (and I don't even like dogs)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmarshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paraty hotels
1.0 mi away
Canguru Hostel
Canguru Hostel
#3 of 260 in Paraty
109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bossa Nova Hostel
Bossa Nova Hostel
#27 of 260 in Paraty
88 reviews
0.4 mi away
Leo's Clan Beach Hostel
Leo's Clan Beach Hostel
#1 of 260 in Paraty
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Che Lagarto Hostel Paraty
0.3 mi away
Pousada Casa do Rio Hostel
0.3 mi away
Maracuja Hostel
Maracuja Hostel
#4 of 260 in Paraty
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpacker's House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpacker's House Hostel

Property: Backpacker's House Hostel
Address: Rua Adelmar Coelho, 20 | Corner With Manoel Torres, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 260 Speciality Lodging in Paraty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homely hostel with good breakfast included, 2 shared rooms and to suites; kitchen for guests, and many common areas including terrace, deck and swimming pool, bbq, tv room etc. We organice pizza nights, bbqs, and other common dinners, and also day trips including our waterfalls trip, boats tours and kayaks day. English spoken, and helpful staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Backpacker's House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpacker's House Hostel Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing