We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and comfortable gem”
Review of Pousada do Ouro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pousada do Ouro
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Paraty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The breakfast dining room is almost in itself worth a visist, generating a colonial feeling. The breakfast itself is of course excellent. Friendly staff, a cozy bar with expert caipirinhas, lounge area pool and very comfortable and stylish rooms make this a gem in Paraty.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manymangos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

Very nice colonial B&B/boutique hotel. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived as we didn't know what to expect. We booked a big room for 4. Two adults and 2 children. The room was a duplex suite. On the higher level you have the queen size bed, and in the lower level you have the bathroom, 2 single beds, a table with 4 chairs, fridge and rocking chair. All very nicely decorated. Overall, really relaxing and green atmosphere. One thing I wasn't too happy with was the rate per night. Brazil is expensive, specially for tourists, so maybe I just need to get used to it, but consider paying NYC/London price if you want to travel comfortably in Brazil. And Paraty, and specially Pousada do Ouro, even though being in a small town, won't be the exception.
Another thing that could be changed are the service hours. The pool bar closes at 10pm, which I think is a bit early. Also Wifi connection is the room was really poor. For the price paid I would have expect flawless wireless internet, and much longer bar/kitchen opening hours.
On the plus side, the service provided by staff was really good. And we even got a late checkout without extra fee, which these days is almost impossible to get.
Would I stay again: Yes.

Room Tip: Ask for a side street facing room. These rooms seem to be much nicer, and the street noise is accept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JvR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Faultless. The small bedroom and bathroom was perfectly adequate, but take a travel kettle, coffee and milk powder if you like an early morning or late evening cup of coffee as there are no coffee facilities in the rooms. Also the fridge and air-con was quite loud at night, but nothing too bad. I would upgrade to a superior room next time. Plenty of food and choice at breakfast and very good service from the staff.
Swimming pool area was beautiful, if small, and the staff were friendy, helpful and charming.
Ideally located for all the bars and restaurants of Paraty. About a ten minute walk to the nearest beach.

Room Tip: Get a superior room. Our courtyard room was rather small and had a noisy fridge and air-con. Don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frigilianafreddy666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Pousada do Ouro is a charming hotel in the middle of historic Paraty. The room was perfect and so was the overall decoration, very friendly service. The only thing we could miss was a pousada-feeling. It can be a bit unpersonal as it feels more like a proper hotel. But the experience was charming and we would certainly recommend a stay here!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Aventuroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights in a wonderful superior room at Pousada do Ouro. Peaceful, tranquil setting in a garden setting. Nice swimming pool, though it is on the small side so tricky to get a sun bed if you arrive after everyone else. It took a while to get served our drinks, but juices were fresh and caipirinhas strong! Overall, the quality of the room, communal areas and the setting as a whole was good value for money.

Very well located in the old town, within a stone's through of the main square, bars and a restaurants. Staff were very helpful in giving us advice on local boat tours and helping us with our onward journey onto Ilha Grande.

Paraty is an awesome town, we just wish we had more time there! Well worth going to see the puppet show at Teatro Espaco and the food at Restaurante Porto was really tasty and a welcome end to a long day of travelling!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLCG83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Location is great, staff is lovely, rooms are decorated with taste,...you feel just at home! Moreover breakfast is incredible...the restaurant close to the swimming pool is just a delight!
I highly recommend this pousada!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nathalie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and were very impressed. It's a beautiful historical building and the location is perfect - in the old town, but not on one of the really touristy streets. We got the room we asked for (in the main building on the first floor, looking out to the front with a great view) and it was spacious, clean and comfortable. The reception staff was always friendly and helpful: they arranged a wonderful boat trip for us with Andre (highly recommended) at very short notice. The breakfast was a bit bland, but the fresh juices at the bar more than made up for that.

Room Tip: Go for the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paraty hotels
Historic City Center
Pousada Porto Imperial
Pousada Porto Imperial
#4 of 28 in Paraty
566 reviews
Pousada do Sandi
#5 of 28 in Paraty
567 reviews
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#23 of 28 in Paraty
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada da Condessa
#6 of 28 in Paraty
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada do Ouro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada do Ouro

Address: Rua Dr. Pereira 298 | Historical Centre, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Paraty
#3 Family Hotel in Paraty
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paraty
Price Range: £85 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pousada do Ouro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of cobblestone streets and horse-drawn carriages you can find the 18th-century colonial house: Pousada do Ouro. Translated as "Guesthouse of Gold," it lies directly at the waterfront at the historical centre of Paraty. There are 27 nicely decorated rooms: All have air conditioning, minibar, telephone, LCD TV, safe and hair dryer. Pousada do Ouro also offers a pool, sauna, spa, bar, pool table, TV and DVD room, assembly room, wi-fi and own parking facility. Break free from your routine and come to see Paraty! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Prestigia, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pousada do Ouro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Ouro Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing