We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pousada do Ouro
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$417
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$189
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pousada do Sandi(Paraty)
US$156
US$138
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (595)
Filter reviews
596 results
Traveller rating
416
149
26
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
416
149
26
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingmick jaggerold townhotel barstandard roomoriginal buildingpool tablerestaurants and shopscolonial styleexcellent locationcharming hotelhistorical townfive minute walkwonderful stayquiet streetbeautiful placeprivate boat
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 596 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The breakfast dining room is almost in itself worth a visist, generating a colonial feeling. The breakfast itself is of course excellent. Friendly staff, a cozy bar with expert caipirinhas, lounge area pool and very comfortable and stylish rooms make this a gem in Paraty.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manymangos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Very nice colonial B&B/boutique hotel. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived as we didn't know what to expect. We booked a big room for 4. Two adults and 2 children. The room was a duplex suite. On the higher level you have the queen size bed, and in the lower level you have the bathroom, 2 single beds, a table with 4 chairs, fridge and rocking chair. All very nicely decorated. Overall, really relaxing and green atmosphere. One thing I wasn't too happy with was the rate per night. Brazil is expensive, specially for tourists, so maybe I just need to get used to it, but consider paying NYC/London price if you want to travel comfortably in Brazil. And Paraty, and specially Pousada do Ouro, even though being in a small town, won't be the exception.
Another thing that could be changed are the service hours. The pool bar closes at 10pm, which I think is a bit early. Also Wifi connection is the room was really poor. For the price paid I would have expect flawless wireless internet, and much longer bar/kitchen opening hours.
On the plus side, the service provided by staff was really good. And we even got a late checkout without extra fee, which these days is almost impossible to get.
Would I stay again: Yes.

Room Tip: Ask for a side street facing room. These rooms seem to be much nicer, and the street noise is acceptable.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JvR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Faultless. The small bedroom and bathroom was perfectly adequate, but take a travel kettle, coffee and milk powder if you like an early morning or late evening cup of coffee as there are no coffee facilities in the rooms. Also the fridge and air-con was quite loud at night, but nothing too bad. I would upgrade to a superior room next time. Plenty of food and choice at breakfast and very good service from the staff.
Swimming pool area was beautiful, if small, and the staff were friendy, helpful and charming.
Ideally located for all the bars and restaurants of Paraty. About a ten minute walk to the nearest beach.

Room Tip: Get a superior room. Our courtyard room was rather small and had a noisy fridge and air-con. Don't let this put you off, though. The place is wonderful! Also take kettle, coffee and milk powder if you like a drink in your room. Apart from that just chill and enjoy lovely quaint Paraty!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frigilianafreddy666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Pousada do Ouro is a charming hotel in the middle of historic Paraty. The room was perfect and so was the overall decoration, very friendly service. The only thing we could miss was a pousada-feeling. It can be a bit unpersonal as it feels more like a proper hotel. But the experience was charming and we would certainly recommend a stay here!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Aventuroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights in a wonderful superior room at Pousada do Ouro. Peaceful, tranquil setting in a garden setting. Nice swimming pool, though it is on the small side so tricky to get a sun bed if you arrive after everyone else. It took a while to get served our drinks, but juices were fresh and caipirinhas strong! Overall, the quality of the room, communal areas and the setting as a whole was good value for money.

Very well located in the old town, within a stone's through of the main square, bars and a restaurants. Staff were very helpful in giving us advice on local boat tours and helping us with our onward journey onto Ilha Grande.

Paraty is an awesome town, we just wish we had more time there! Well worth going to see the puppet show at Teatro Espaco and the food at Restaurante Porto was really tasty and a welcome end to a long day of travelling!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLCG83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews