We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Quite up to par”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pousada Arte Urquijo
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Paraty
Certificate of Excellence
VT
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not Quite up to par”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Overall we left Arts Urquijo disappointed. We stayed over Easter and the cost of the room was very high perhaps due to the holiday.
While we loved the location and the room itself, tho small, was quite comfortable we where disappointed with the service. We do not speak Portuguese and this was part of the problem.
We stayed for 4 nights.
We came to breakfast everyday at 8:00 on the first day all the breakfast things where not ready, the tables not laid or the food available. This all came out very slowly, just as we were finishing the juice arrived for example, kind of late. On the 2nd day same story on the 3rd day same story. This was quite disappointing particularly when things like the fruit and juice did not come out or came after we had finished. We asked for eggs and they did come but just enough for one person even tho we asked for eggs for 2.
Additionally the shampoo etc was only there once and not replenished daily.
These might seem small matters but it is not a small matter when we paid over $200 per night. It is actually a big deal as at that price you expect breakfast to be ready and shampoo delivered.
Charging these rates you need to get the details right.
The staff seemed very pleasant just slow. I would advise the hotel to get the details right or reduce the price of the rooms.

Room Tip: Some rooms are very small ask for the biggest
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VermontVt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    40
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
97
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This is a very special place. The owners have an exceptional good taste of art and the place is packed with it. An experience in itself to just visit and tour, including all the rooms that each is different but all with good taste. Add good food and great cocktails or fruit juices to the exceptional service and fair prices band I see no reason why this is not the top place in Parati... I have already send friends there and they were also thrilled, I thought a tripadvisor review was overdue..

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_TA14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Hadn't heard of Parity 3 months ago, but I will make sure any travelers to Brazil I know go there!
And this little boutique Pousada is something special. Cute rooms, lovely ambiance, sensational location and lovely staff make this ideal for time out of a hectic itinerary.
...and you can't beat that hammock .....

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monty5Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The smallest, the coziest !!! You can smell charm, class and art all around the antic building! It is full of art pieces and valuable tableware, lots of decorations and details reflecting excellent taste!!! If you are looking for a big American size rooms, don't bother to come there. We had the experience to stayed in two of the six rooms and both were unforgettable! Great attention for the people working there always kind and friendly, helping you all the time. You also can get advises for things to do like trip boat, jeep tours, and other entertainments going to the Paraty Tours just a few blocks away from there. I truly recommend the place and hope to enjoy it as much as we did!

Room Tip: with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabrielaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

High attention to detail, luxurious decor and interiors, attentive staff, perfect location, extremely high level of charm and authenticity. Rooms are small but I'd rather have small with fully of charm than large and lifeless.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aubert1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I stayed at this Pousada on a Saturday night, after making a last minute booking.

My room was great, and so was the member of staff I dealt with.

The location is perfect in the heart of the old town of Paraty, but there is a MAJOR BUT:

the walls and ceilings are paper thin. Having gone to bed at 11pm, I was surprised to be woken by the neighbours upstairs shortly after 1am. They were stomping around the room and screaming at each other in Portuguese until they finally gave up two and a half hours later. I banged on the ceiling and that didn't help. Neither was there anyone from the pousada who tried to intervene.

Maybe i was just unlucky, but at £200/$300 a night, the least i expect is to be able to sleep. Maybe these guys were off their heads on something, or just plain drunk, but i don't know if I would stay there again: what was supposed to be a quiet getaway from the chaos of São Paulo turned into a sleepless night punctuated by a screaming couple who ignored all efforts to shut them up.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil_London_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed at the Arte Urquijo for five nights in May. It's well located; just next to the Chapel of Saint Rita and the main pier for boat trips around the local coastline. The main drag of historic town restaurants are only a couple of streets (5 minute walk) away. We found it was a good location, just a little awkward always having to buzz the door bell to get back into the property.

The hotel rooms are a bit quirky; the low ceilings and tight staircases to the top floor wouldn't suit most people. The showers, like the stairs, are a squeeze - imagine you're on a small boat. After bumping our heads on the rafters a few too many times we switched to one of the lower level rooms with a balcony (and hammock), and found it to be far more comfortable (still a very small shower though).

Decor of rooms, good linen, and nice toiletries aside ... it's a little difficult to reconcile the small size of the rooms with the price, but we did find that the service did make up quite a bit of the difference and hotel prices in Paraty seem higher than average anyway. The staff are great and eager to help with everything, but without Portuguese you'll need to get by with a lot of sign language. We made a number of our restaurant and tour arrangements through the hotel; including a boat trip with Pablo and Valcir on the Manati ... which we highly recommend (ideal for a family we think).

Overall a pleasant and relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Go for one of the two with the balcony/deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GilbertoAndJorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paraty hotels
Pousada do Ouro
#3 of 28 in Paraty
548 reviews
Pousada do Sandi
#5 of 28 in Paraty
516 reviews
Historic City Center
Pousada Porto Imperial
Pousada Porto Imperial
#4 of 28 in Paraty
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada da Condessa
#7 of 28 in Paraty
337 reviews
Pousada da Marquesa
#13 of 28 in Paraty
150 reviews
Pousada Recanto Jota Ge
#14 of 28 in Paraty
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Arte Urquijo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Arte Urquijo

Property: Pousada Arte Urquijo
Address: Rua Dona Geralda, 79 | Centro Histórico, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Paraty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Arte Urquijo 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in an old restored "sobrado" (two story house) where its architectural style and the preservation of original materials, including stonewalls, wooden furniture and many wooden details stand out. Some of the woods come from species now extinct. The Pousada is located in the historical center next to the Santa Rita Church, with panoramically view of the bay of Paraty and the Bocaina Mountains. It has a secret view of the roofs of the magical town. This is the perfect place for those who come to Paraty looking to unite with nature. Paraty is the most charming historical port town in the country, its geographical location and natural aspects captivate the tourist and inspire painters and photographers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pousada Arte Urquijo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Arte Urquijo Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing