We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pousada Arte Urquijo
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Paraty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Location is in the old town ( close to the sea) and is perfect for exploring Paraty. ( SatNav struggles to get you there over the last few hundred metres) This is a tiny pousada full of local paintings and sculptures, with a small number of very quaint bedrooms. A cosy bar with excellent caipirinhas and wines and likewise a small but neat breakfast area, but all immaculately clean and well presented. Breakfast itself was a delight, with fruit, and fresh pancakes to order, omelette and china tea cups. The owners were extremely welcoming and very helpful. On arrival you are asked to leave your shoes at reception and are given new rush flip flops to use ( and take with you at the end of your stay) . This shows the care they take over keeping it immaculately spic and span. Probably not suitable if you struggle with tight staircases or have limited mobility. Paraty itself is a true delight of a place. We will be going back and staying at this pousada again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Middleagedskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

Overall we left Arts Urquijo disappointed. We stayed over Easter and the cost of the room was very high perhaps due to the holiday.
While we loved the location and the room itself, tho small, was quite comfortable we where disappointed with the service. We do not speak Portuguese and this was part of the problem.
We stayed for 4 nights.
We came to breakfast everyday at 8:00 on the first day all the breakfast things where not ready, the tables not laid or the food available. This all came out very slowly, just as we were finishing the juice arrived for example, kind of late. On the 2nd day same story on the 3rd day same story. This was quite disappointing particularly when things like the fruit and juice did not come out or came after we had finished. We asked for eggs and they did come but just enough for one person even tho we asked for eggs for 2.
Additionally the shampoo etc was only there once and not replenished daily.
These might seem small matters but it is not a small matter when we paid over $200 per night. It is actually a big deal as at that price you expect breakfast to be ready and shampoo delivered.
Charging these rates you need to get the details right.
The staff seemed very pleasant just slow. I would advise the hotel to get the details right or reduce the price of the rooms.

Room Tip: Some rooms are very small ask for the biggest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VermontVt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This is a very special place. The owners have an exceptional good taste of art and the place is packed with it. An experience in itself to just visit and tour, including all the rooms that each is different but all with good taste. Add good food and great cocktails or fruit juices to the exceptional service and fair prices band I see no reason why this is not the top place in Parati... I have already send friends there and they were also thrilled, I thought a tripadvisor review was overdue..

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John_TA14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Hadn't heard of Parity 3 months ago, but I will make sure any travelers to Brazil I know go there!
And this little boutique Pousada is something special. Cute rooms, lovely ambiance, sensational location and lovely staff make this ideal for time out of a hectic itinerary.
...and you can't beat that hammock .....

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monty5Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The smallest, the coziest !!! You can smell charm, class and art all around the antic building! It is full of art pieces and valuable tableware, lots of decorations and details reflecting excellent taste!!! If you are looking for a big American size rooms, don't bother to come there. We had the experience to stayed in two of the six rooms and both were unforgettable! Great attention for the people working there always kind and friendly, helping you all the time. You also can get advises for things to do like trip boat, jeep tours, and other entertainments going to the Paraty Tours just a few blocks away from there. I truly recommend the place and hope to enjoy it as much as we did!

Room Tip: with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabrielaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

High attention to detail, luxurious decor and interiors, attentive staff, perfect location, extremely high level of charm and authenticity. Rooms are small but I'd rather have small with fully of charm than large and lifeless.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aubert1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I stayed at this Pousada on a Saturday night, after making a last minute booking.

My room was great, and so was the member of staff I dealt with.

The location is perfect in the heart of the old town of Paraty, but there is a MAJOR BUT:

the walls and ceilings are paper thin. Having gone to bed at 11pm, I was surprised to be woken by the neighbours upstairs shortly after 1am. They were stomping around the room and screaming at each other in Portuguese until they finally gave up two and a half hours later. I banged on the ceiling and that didn't help. Neither was there anyone from the pousada who tried to intervene.

Maybe i was just unlucky, but at £200/$300 a night, the least i expect is to be able to sleep. Maybe these guys were off their heads on something, or just plain drunk, but i don't know if I would stay there again: what was supposed to be a quiet getaway from the chaos of São Paulo turned into a sleepless night punctuated by a screaming couple who ignored all efforts to shut them up.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil_London_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paraty hotels
Pousada do Ouro
#3 of 28 in Paraty
566 reviews
Pousada do Sandi
#5 of 28 in Paraty
533 reviews
Historic City Center
Pousada Porto Imperial
Pousada Porto Imperial
#4 of 28 in Paraty
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic City Center
Pousada Pardieiro
Pousada Pardieiro
#13 of 28 in Paraty
216 reviews
Pousada da Condessa
#6 of 28 in Paraty
342 reviews
Chale Recanto da Praia
#10 of 28 in Paraty
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Arte Urquijo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Arte Urquijo

Address: Rua Dona Geralda, 79 | Centro Histórico, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Paraty
Price Range: £110 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Arte Urquijo 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in an old restored "sobrado" (two story house) where its architectural style and the preservation of original materials, including stonewalls, wooden furniture and many wooden details stand out. Some of the woods come from species now extinct. The Pousada is located in the historical center next to the Santa Rita Church, with panoramically view of the bay of Paraty and the Bocaina Mountains. It has a secret view of the roofs of the magical town. This is the perfect place for those who come to Paraty looking to unite with nature. Paraty is the most charming historical port town in the country, its geographical location and natural aspects captivate the tourist and inspire painters and photographers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Pousada Arte Urquijo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Arte Urquijo Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing