We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting Paraty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada da Marquesa
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Paraty
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Interesting Paraty”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We enjoyed our two night stay in Paraty at the Pousada Marquesa - we found the staff at the hotel very helpful. Possibly, it was a little overpriced for South America. During our stay, a festival was taking place in the local parish church which allowed us to get a feel for the local community.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAMcCabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    64
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
67
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We had three nights at this hotel.

We had specifically asked for, and had been assured TWICE by Bruno (the only English speaker on staff, apparently) by email when we booked and confirmed that we would get a quiet room away from the square. When we arrived we were given a room at the front of the hotel, on the square, that got a lot of noise late at night and therefore disrupted our sleep on the first night.

The following morning, because nobody on the staff seemed to speak English and we could not communicate sufficiently well in Portuguese, I emailed the hotel about our room, hoping that Bruno would pickup my message. Apparently he got my message and the staff moved immediately to move us to a room at the back, which was quieter.

Strangely Bruno never actually replied to my email, or made an effort to speak to us himself. We never met him while we were there, as far as we know.

While our first room had been a triple, and therefore had a bit of extra space, our second room was a double and it was quite small. Fortunately there are pleasant communal areas on the hotel. Both bathrooms were good and the second bathroom actually had a light-well over the shower, meaning the bathroom had some natural light.

In both rooms the DOUBLE BEDS WERE SMALL OLD FASHIONED DOUBLE SIZE. I have not seen this since backpacking and using pensiones in Europe in the 1980s. I understand the beds fit the antique bed-heads (previous reviews talk about the lovely antiques throughout this property). But at these prices, I expect comfort that reflects modern tourist expectations, which one finds in most other properties in the price bracket. I would hate to have to sleep in one of those little beds if it were hot.

The property is pretty and many of the staff in the bar and pool areas were very nice and obliging. The breakfast buffet was good and offered variety. The bar had great drinks and light meals.

We found the reception staff offhand and not particularly helpful. It's surprising that in middle bracket hotel in an international tourist destination nobody on reception spoke English (and we tried a few other languages, too). I don't think that's cultural imperialism, just commercial reality. After all, Brazil will host two world events in the next few years and Paraty will, no doubt, benefit from this.

The building itself is old and beautiful - wonderfully renovated and furnished with antiques. There seemed to be a few families there with children who frolicked in the pool. If you're after "adult" accommodation, this would not be the place for you, particularly a weekend, when urbanites from Rio and SP arrive.

But maybe this hotel is only meant for people who speak Portuguese and can sleep in small beds. On balance, I would not return or recommend given there are myriad other - better value - options in and around this lovely tourist town.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tongi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
298 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I stayed for three nights in Pousada da Marquesa with two friend of mine who were visiting Brazil from abroad. We arrived on a Monday and stayed over on a Tuesday, which was a holidady in Brazil and left on a Wednesday.
During the holidays the hotel offered one type of service and breakfast, but the working day it changed complete. The good breakfast gave away for a not so good breakfast where fresh breads were missing and so were the eggs. I had to advise the waiter that in case we wanted eggs he had to make it to order because I had seen them on the buffet the day before...
The pool area was not so well kept either, full of the leaves from the rain of the day before...
Besides that the Pousada is very well decorated with time pieces and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the noise of the main square
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiriamM972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed at the Pousada for just one night, breaking the road journey from Rio to Santos. What an amazing place Paraty really is, and the Marquesa did not disappoint either. The public areas are full of old bits and pieces, clocks, nautical items, cash tills, sewing machines....all sorts. The garden area has a pool with terrace for drinks and snacks. Unfortunately we did have chance to try the bar food, only breakfast in the morning, which was fine without being anything overly special.

Our room was spacious and quiet, choosing one at the rear of the hotel. Only minor complaint, the bed was a bit noisy due to the planks of wood under the mattress. Wish we had been able to stay longer.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of pousada should be quieter than the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
184 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This is a wonderful establishment which is well located, fabulous garden and swimming pool area, excellent service and most importantly it has kept the style and charm of the period it represents which dates back to the 18th Century - in other words an authentic experience for those who are seeking this kind of window into the past. The only aspect for which I didn't give it a 5 star rating is that on Fridays and Saturdays the church square goes into party mode till 3 or 4 am and honestly if your room is located on the side of the square you either join the party of you can forget about a good night sleep!

Room Tip: Ask for the quieter rooms away from the church square
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlderleyEdgeTiger007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at Pousada da Marquesa. The staff was friendly, but only Bruno spoke English -- and he was very helpful. The facility has a great deal of character with lots of antiques and quaint rooms. Our room (number 7) was adequate, but not extraordinary.

We enjoyed renting a private boat (the Latitude at barcolatitude@hotmail.com) to snorkel at 3 locations in the bay. The first stop was near Jurumirum. It didn't have great visibility, but we saw turtles. The second stop was at Ilha Comprida. It had very good visibility and a variety of fish. The third stop was off a small island near Praia Vermelha. It was decent. We had a nice casual lunch at a restaurant on Praia Vermelha. We also enjoyed our visit to Cachoeira Toboga -- including the cachaca distillery across the street.

Paraty was our second stop on our 1-week Sao Paulo to Rio Brazilian-beach road trip. Our first stop was in Ilhabela (at Porto Pacuiba), and subsequent stay overs were at Ilha Grande (at Pousada Naturalia), and Ipanema (at Arpoador Hotel). I highly recommend this road trip itinerary (flying into Sao Palo and flying out of Rio).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This hotel is full of antiques. The bedroom was spacious and comfortable, and the areas around the hotel for relaxing were lovely - like a country home. The staff, thought they spoke very little English, were friendly and helpful. The outside bar was charming and the barman made great caipirinhas. Close to the town and altogether a beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanSNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paraty hotels
Pousada do Ouro
#2 of 28 in Paraty
534 reviews
Pousada do Sandi
#5 of 28 in Paraty
483 reviews
Historic City Center
Pousada Porto Imperial
Pousada Porto Imperial
#4 of 28 in Paraty
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada da Condessa
#7 of 28 in Paraty
321 reviews
Historic City Center
Pousada Pardieiro
Pousada Pardieiro
#12 of 28 in Paraty
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada da Marquesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada da Marquesa

Property: Pousada da Marquesa
Address: Rua da Geralda, 99, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paraty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Pousada da Marquesa 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Pousada da Marquesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Da Marquesa Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing