We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it: character and history with a smile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pousada do Principe
Ranked #13 of 307 Paraty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

This is not a standard and anonymous business hotel. It's an airy, colonial Portuguese building, with a swimming pool in a central courtyard, visited by humming birds and other exotic birds.

The rooms are a reasonable size, even with a huge bed in them. The free WiFi worked consistently, if not at lightning speed. Breakfast was good, and the service friendly and personal.

The location is great. It's five minutes amble from the historic old town, with its (?18th century, ?older) Portuguese style architecture, smart restaurants, bars, chichi boutiques, and the not-to-be-missed puppet theatre. Around Poussada do Principe there are some excellent shops. The electrical sockets in Brazil are continental Europe ones, but we'd brought US adaptors. We'd failed to find a simple USB adaptor to charge the phones in Rio De Janeiro, but found one in minutes here. The shops and restaurants here are much cheaper than in the old town, and just as good for people watching. The demonstration that passed us on Friday evening was good natured and tuneful.

We loved Paraty, and didn't see anywhere that we'd have preferred to stay than in Poussada do Principe.

We loved it, and would love to visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petermbenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 514 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

The hotel itself is ascetically pleasing. Beautiful, lush garden surrounding a shimmering pool and colonial style architecture. The rest of it is pretty ho hum. The open shower/sink arrangement is quite odd and walking down the long hall of rooms listening to the showers running (high window from showers opens into hallway) is even odder. But one can see why this would be a necessity with the humidity and mold issues in the tropics. The room felt a little stale, but couldn't blame it on visual mold directly, just saw some dust. Room wasn't really dirty though. Staff was nice but not overly nice. Just did what was required and lacked real English skills. The ceiling fan in our room had come half detached from the ceiling and as it hung over the bed, I was constantly afraid it would come flying off to my detriment in the night. Even though we advised staff of this, it was never fixed during our 3 night stay.
The location is ideal- around the corner from the bus station (which can be a very long corner as the streets are made up of large cobblestones.) There are restaurants all around, laundry service across the street and it's a 5 minute walk to the old city, 10 to the pier. This hotel is very average and acceptable for a few nights, but could become a top tier with some TLC.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Quaint colonial house located within walking distance from bus station. The staff are friendly and helpful. There is a swimming pool in courtyard, but we never used since there are beaches close by. The room does not have much space but was ok for 2 nights stay. There are insects and ants on the bed sometimes, common to most tropical destinations. . The surface areas were dusty and not entirely clean. The breakfast was good & included fresh fruit, juices and freshly prepared cakes, breads etc. There is unique open shower arrangement. Gets noisy in the evenings as all showers have windows opening on to the corridor.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DakshiW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Nice architecture and atmosphere. The pool area is very beautiful. The breakfast buffet was good, but on one busy morning they were not able to replace the items properly. The rooms are good, nice beds, but need an update or at least some restoration.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

the hotel is very good, very well located, but my room was very (extremily) close from the breakfast area... so in the morning at 7 o'clock in a Sunday, I felt like people were having breakfast in my room!!! What wasn't very pleasant!!

Room Tip: choose a room in the second floor or away from the entrance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwidman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The pousada is extremely well located if you arrive by coach. Just around the corner from thebus staion.. A five minute walk fromthe historic centre.
The rooms are clean and havetv and aircon.
Breakfast was very good. Fresh fruit, juice, rolls, cakes, scramlbled eggs.
A lovely swimming pool.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We spent one night here and were disappointed. The staff was very good and welcoming, but the general housekeeping left a lot to be desired. I think the Prince needs to make a visit. I left these same comments at the front desk. The room (211) was quiet, but the walls in the shower were a bit moldy. The gardening needs to be taken care of. At the top of the stairs, is a dead plant over the stairway, take it out. The light fixtures were full of bugs. These may seem like small things, but small things make the difference. The breakfast was very good, both the orange cake and passion fruit cake very fresh.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markroy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodlxbr, Proprietário at Pousada do Principe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Sorry your stay was disappointing, beleive you stayed in our worst wing (left) and room 211. Hope you enjoyed Paraty, thanks for comment, we will try harder and better to make guest stay a happy one, that´s our goal.
Best regards,
Rodrigo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paraty hotels
Pousada do Sandi
#5 of 28 in Paraty
533 reviews
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#25 of 28 in Paraty
356 reviews
Pousada do Ouro
#3 of 28 in Paraty
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada Villa del Sol
#23 of 28 in Paraty
281 reviews
Pousada da Condessa
#6 of 28 in Paraty
343 reviews
Historic City Center
Pousada Porto Imperial
Pousada Porto Imperial
#4 of 28 in Paraty
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada do Principe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada do Principe

Address: Av. Roberto Silveira, 801, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Paraty
Price Range: £66 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pousada do Principe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Pousada do Principe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Principe Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing