We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty beaches, but snorkeling not great”
Review of Paraty Bay

Paraty Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
US$55.00*
and up
Kayaking Adventure in Paraty
Ranked #2 of 146 things to do in Paraty
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Jesup, GA
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Pretty beaches, but snorkeling not great”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The beach was pretty with nice sand. Very few amenities on the shore. Snorkeling was very limited....seemed to be just one main variety of fish. Should mention that we visited after a big rain, so this may have had some effect, but there is no coral in this area to attract fish. The water was also cool for snorkeling, even in their summer.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank paharlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,129
    387
    83
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“A piece of paradise!”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We went on a boat ride exploring the numerous bays and islands. The blue water and lush vegetation makes this a piece of paradise.
We swam with a sea turtle, snorkeled with dozens of fish, spotted tiny monkeys and an agouti (a cute cross between a mouse and a deer) and also came across a pod of dolphins.

You can book a boat in the harbor of Paraty or in any of the travel agencies in the city. We went on a smaller boat (fits 2-10 people comfortably) which you can rent for the day (with a skipper). There are also bigger boats (cheaper) but they take lots more people and you definitely miss the tranquility the bay has to offer.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen_and_Pedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Amazing relaxation spot”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We drove from Rio de Janeiro to Paraty so we got to enjoy the beautiful scenery. As soon as we arrived in Paraty we realized what a charming little place Paraty is. Most of the roads in town are cobblestone and there are a great number of little restaurants, bars ans shops along the roads.

I definitely recommend that you go on a private boat tour, there was 4 of us and we all payed for 3-4 hours and it was the highlight of the trip. Our very friendly captain was also our bar man, making us amazing caipirinhas while driving the boat and taking us snorkeling by different islands.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank barbarapallavicini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaguariuna, SP
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Blues”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

If ypu ever have a chance come to Paraty's Blues and Jazz Festival...If you can't well just come anyways...it's a Lovely Place!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chilly_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“The ultimate relaxation spot:”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Paraty is small, historic, fishing, tourist town. I don't stress the "tourist" part because I rarely felt that way while there. We were in Rio before we arrived in Paraty, and although I love Rio, it was the perfect place to unwind after the big city pace of Rio.
The inner (historic) part of the town is closed to cars. The streets are mostly cobblestone there, which made for an interesting walk between the restaurant and our hotel during a rainstorm. The beaches are clean and quiet and the water is clear and inviting. We went on a boat tour of the area and swam a bit among the brightly-colored tropical fish.
But largely we spent the week relaxing. We ran into a couple we met in Rio, so we had wonderful dinner companions for a few of the days we were there.
Our hotel was rustic but comfortable, and they had a wonderful breakfast every morning.
It's one of those places that stay with you long after you've returned home.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phillip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paraty Bay also viewed

 

Been to Paraty Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing