We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Paraty
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Great breakfast and nice setting but pool could have been cleaner, facilities could have been better explained, and the rooms need to be aired - they smelt musty. It was all just a little tired and needs refurbishing.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

We went back to BambuBamboo because we love this place. Its so relaxing to be there due to the lovely staff, garden, svimmingpool, sauna and not to forget the number one spa in Brazil!
I am not able to explain how Luciane can make you so well, almost like newborn after been treath so well. The owner do everything so your stay will good. Thank you!
And dont forget the breakfast, its so delicous and its so nice to be there surroned by palms, flowers and look a lot of colorful birds.

It was our fourth time beeing there so we know what we want to do during the stay. First we only like to take it easy and relax, then we can go to one of the beautyfull beaches neraby Paraty by local bus or with a guided tours. Every day a lots of sconners went out from the harbour and let you se everything from the sea. The boat stop several times so you can swim or be with a little boat to ver nice beaches far from people. First time we think its smart to take a guided tour. The guides are very clever and tell you about Paraty's history, plants, trees and people. And not forget just walk aurond in Historic Center. It's so nice walk among old houses from the 1600. Its a lot of nice restaurants there.

Thank to everybody at BambuBamboo making our vacation so nice!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonandbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

I was using four guide books on Brazil when I started to look for a pousada in Paraty for this trip about three weeks ahead. All the pousadas in the town listed in these guides were booked by that time even though it was low season. After seeking the reviews of this place, I was happy to find they had a spot. Many reviewers mentioned Ben as very helpful which was an attraction as we speak no Portugese and would have little time to figure things out. Before we arrived, I had to decide whether or not to stay over Sunday night (which was our preference at that time) or travel back Sunday evening. The issue was getting back to Rio for our noon Monday flight to Manaus. I emailed Ben for his opinion and he advised against even though he had space at the pousada. In this way he won me over even before we arrived as giving trustworthy advice which was not strictly in his interest.

When we arrived in Paraty, we were travelling fairly light having left our big cases in our studio apartment in Rio and since it was mid day we elected to walk to the pousada. I would not actually recommend this as it is farther than I thought. It is certainly walk able but a bag can start to feel heavy after a bit and it is 20-30 minutes. However, the main issue and one that you need to be aware of is that Google maps had messed up the location, confusing it with somewhere else I guess and we had all the directions and street names wrong. Eventually a Brazilian family took pity on us and delivered us to the pousada in their car. Ben was somewhat concerned as apparently it is not generally a great idea to accept rides from strangers.
We saw that residents of Paraty were very inclined to get around on bikes and there are even separated bike/pedestrian lanes in some places. We decided to rent bikes and this proved a great way to get back and forth from the pousada to Paraty. About half of the route is along the river and is scenic. The walk (without luggage) is very doable but we were glad to have the time saved as our time here was short.
The pousada felt like paradise when we arrived with its spacious white room off the garden and its swimming pool. Ben sits every guest down to orient them to Paraty and is very helpful. He was himself a little stressed as he was flying out to England the next morning but he cared for his guests to the last. We shared a cab into town with him to Paraty tours where he came in and helped negotiate rates to rent bikes for the whole weekend.
The weather was poor on arrival and was actually starting to rain. We were not deterred and decided to ride up to the waterfalls which is supposed to be an hour with a flat terrain and just a steep bit at the end.
We left too late in the day really at 3:30 pm since it gets dark at six. The rain got heavier and we were soon drenched and then we missed the turnoff to the falls and went kilometers further up the mountain than needed. The falls when we finally found them were distinctly anti climatic and we could only stay minutes in any case as it was getting dark and we had a rainy downhill ride in the dark ahead of with no bike lights. (Paraty tours has lights. We just forgot to get them.)
We arrived back exhausted and soaked and the pousada had comforts waiting for us. We showered, used the pool and steam room and then Ben ordered us a delicious pizza from the place next door (17 reales). The pousada usually will sell you wine but they were out. We had a choice of beer from the mini fridge or an offer to make us caipirinhas which were the best we had had in Brazil this far.
Bed comfortable, breakfast good. (they will make you eggs or waffles and the continental is great)

Great pousada!

Room Tip: decide if you want a garden room that opens on to the pool or upstairs with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConValerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Okay, this pousada is a bit of a walk into town (a good 30 mins to the historic centre) but this is far outweighed by staying in such a delightful place (and taxis are easily available). Beautiful peaceful setting by the river, immaculately presented, very friendly and helpful staff, especially the owner Ben who was a mine of information. We spent 3 nights here at the beginning of October, and wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuttonHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BambuBen, Owner at Pousada Bambu Bamboo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

What a tremendous review and a big thank you from us all here at Bambubamboo. We are delighted you had such a great experience in Paraty. Raul 'the horse man' has asked me to say muito obrigado as he is chuffed that you have reviewed your time with him so positively. Hope you make it back to Paradise .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We have just stayed three nights at Pousada Bambu Bamboo and had a wonderful, tranquil break, much helped by this hotel's friendly and attentive owner. On his recommendation, we enjoyed a boat trip out to island beaches, a superb morning of horseback riding in the forest above the town and a world-class massage in the spa attached to the pousada. The area round the pool is beautifully landscaped and breakfast by the river, watching the area's colourful birds, is a delight. The rooms aren't great, dark and a bit ramshackle, and when we were there hot water and internet access were intermittent, but despite this it was a pleasure to return from the busy streets of town to a greener, quieter haven -- so much so that on our last night we simply stayed put an enjoyed an excellent local pizza biked over from a nearby take-away (another owner recommendation). The walk into town is about 20 minutes, but this is a non-demanding stroll along the river, which we enjoyed. We have already told friends thinking of visiting Brazil that it is definitely the place to stay if they are going to Paraty.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HilaryWilce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BambuBen, Owner at Pousada Bambu Bamboo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Thank you for such a comprehensive and positive review about your time staying with us. Since you were here we have initiated a programme of upgrades to all the rooms and this will be completed by the end of October. We really appreciate your recommendation to your friends and the wider world through this site. Hope to get the chance to visit agin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed in Bamboo Bambu pousada for 3 nights after staying in another one located right in the center. This was more for a relaxing stay since the hotel offers a nice pool and is located about 5 min driving to city center. Like others said here, the host is excellent! Finding the hotel was a bit difficult - gps didn't help much and locals didn't know the pousada. We found it eventually and ohhhh would definitely go back there!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaudiaBoden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

About 25 minmutes walk into town but the Pousada is clean with a great breakfast view over the river. Spotlessley clean and loverly helpful staff. Loverçy swimming pool area and the host who is a Liverpudlian is a font of all knowledge !

Room Tip: Any room is great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BambuBen, Owner at Pousada Bambu Bamboo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Thanks very taking time out to post a nice review. Not sure about being the 'font of all knowledge ' but pleased you found some of the tips on how to optimise your time in Paraty useful. Hope one
day to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paraty hotels
0.8 mi away
Pousada Villa del Sol
Pousada Villa del Sol
#22 of 28 in Paraty
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Villa del Rey
Pousada Villa del Rey
#20 of 28 in Paraty
154 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chale Recanto da Praia
Chale Recanto da Praia
#11 of 28 in Paraty
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Resort Croce del Sud
Resort Croce del Sud
#7 of 28 in Paraty
404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pousada Aguas de Paratii
0.9 mi away
Pousada da Condessa
Pousada da Condessa
#6 of 28 in Paraty
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Bambu Bamboo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Bambu Bamboo

Address: Rua Glauber Rocha no. 9 | Portal das Artes, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Paraty
#6 Spa Hotel in Paraty
#7 Romantic Hotel in Paraty
Price Range: £40 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Bambu Bamboo 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern, comfortable and relaxing pousada close to the Historic Centre of Paraty. Highly respected for providing guests with genuinely friendly and personal service. Twelve comfortable suites (Garden Suites complete with private patios and garden). Superior Loft Suites built on two floors complete with two bathrooms and living area. Aircon, quality linens and original art works come as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pousada Bambu Bamboo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Bambu Bamboo Paraty, Brazil
Pousada Bambu Bamboo Hotel Paraty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing