We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only one word: WOW!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Pousada Guarana
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Paraty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed in Paraty for a week and we had our best time in Brazil at this lovely pousada! David was more than helpful/friendly, showing us great places to visit and amazing restaurants and taking the time to chat with us every morning. The pousada itself is so charming: very cute, and well-kept, and a few dogs, cats and a hen! Very well located as well: far enough from the historic so it is peaceful and quiet, and close enough so we could easily walk to every major sites. The breakfast there is also the best we had in Brazil: the scrambled eggs were amazing,I could never get enough of it. Bref, I would recommend this place to stay to anyone visiting Paraty.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephanieMorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2011

Pousada Guarana is the best place we have stayed whilst travelling both the USA and South America. We arrived in the early evening and were shown to a beautiful room with a small outside area with a hammock and a DVD player (which was worth paying extra for as they have a huge selection of DVDs to choose from, great if you don't want to be 'out' every evening.) After we had settled in David gave us a great explanation of Paraty and gave us loads of recommendation for activities and restaurants that were tailored to what we were looking for from our stay. They organised a great boat trip for us, knowing which boats are the most fun and let us borrow bikes to explore the town on. The breakfasts were all delicious, fresh fruit and bread as well as homemade cake and eggs cooked to order. We were able to order pizza on a couple of nights when it was raining and we didn't want to ride into town. The animals make the place feel really homely and one rainy day we cuddled up with some cats and read by the pool. But the thing that makes this place so great to stay is the way the owners and staff treat the guests, they go out of their way to help you with anything you need and use their knowledge of the town to make sure you have a really good time.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannahKateK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Unlucky with the weather, but lucky with our choice of accommodation.

Pousada Guarana is a lovely place to stay, around 1.5 km from the beautiful historic centre of Paraty. The ambience is relaxed, with a nice traditional/ethnic feel to the decor. There is a lovely pool - if only it had been hot enough to want to go swimming! - with some nice sofas and hammocks to chill out around. You have breakfast in this area, and it was great watching the humming birds buzz around the tropical plants as we ate delicious home-baked cakes.

The rooms are pretty simple and I can see why some have described them as spartan, but they're clean and suited our needs (especially the extensive DVD collection when it was really raining).

The two things that, for us, set it apart:

(i) The interesting and very helpful hosts. David was very good, in an non-pushy way, at helping us work out how to make the best of our stay (which ended up being two nights longer than we planned) - making great recommendations on where to go given the variable weather (there really is a huge amount to do), what boat trip to go on and even a running route that was exactly the 5 miles requested!

(ii) The fun we had riding into town each evening along the riverside. The bikes are totally clapped out, but so was everyone else's in town, and they were a great way to get around. And it really is worth being able to go into town as it's great walking around the cobbled street, looking at the little art stores and dipping into the decent restaurants (most with live music).

We hope to be back one day (when the sun is out).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephenandkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

When we think of David and Jimena at their their most lovely and hospitable pousada, the first two words that come to mind are paradise and home. It is all so tastefully beautiful, but all the staff there make it the most welcoming and helpful place we have ever stayed. We began to call the breakfasts "food/art" - so delicious! Rooms are spacious with every amenity you could want. David and Jimena will help you enjoy the many attractions of Paraty with their complete knowledge of the area and clear communication. Pousada Guarana is not only the best overall place we have stayed while traveling(worldwide 51 years), it is by far the best value. We look forward to returning as often as possible.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bevo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Pousada Guarana was amazing and we can't recommend it enough. The first thing David did was give us a very detailed explanation of Paraty and the highlights of its surrounding. He also provided us with a map of the centre and another one of the surroundings of Paraty. The maps also provided useful information such as bus schedules, recommended restaurants etc. Next he led us to our room which was beautiful and included a small yard with a hammock. The entire place exudes a feeling of serenity and happiness especially with the attention to detail found throughout the place. The breakfast which is home made and very nicely presented is delicious.

The owners are animal lovers and you will never feel alone in the pousada since you're always accompanied by one four legged friend or another.

The owners' hospitably is first class, they literally treat you as family. We had some bus ticket problems and the owners went out of their way to help us. They even drove us to the bus station themselves at 11.30PM.

Free bicycles are also offered, which makes it easy to get to the historic centre (the pousada is about 1km away from the centre). The bicycle route is very nice since it passes alongside a river.

About 300 metres away from the pousada there is a large supermarket which will cater for all your needs. The bus stops are also very close by (around 100 metres away).

The surroundings are very quiet and safe. The only problem we had was that the place and the owners are so nice, and we felt so relaxed that we just didn't want to leave and go on with the rest of our holiday. If we could we will take the 16hour flight to Brazil just to stay here again :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank The_Grimas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We really liked Pousada Guaraná! It was the ideal place to recover our energies. Breakfast is excellent! Delicious to see, smell and, above all, to eat! We found something beautiful every place we looked at: drawings, engravings, plants, the room decoration, things that surprise and delight. The rooms are arranged so that privacy and good sleep is guaranteed. Some of the rooms have a small yard, with plants and a hammock. Really relaxing! The owners are friendly and super helpful. We totally recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alecoelho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I'm hesitant to say that this is the only place to stay in Paraty - there seems to be many options that can suit every taste out there.

That being said, with my experience at Pousada Guarana, I can say that (especially for the price) I would stay here again!

The things that people should know (and have been discussed before):
1. They do not take credit card (I didnt care)
2. It is a bit of a hike to the centre of town (I'd say 15-18 minute walk - but they definitely tell you that when you are booking)

Now the positives:

1. Service - David & Jimena (owners) and Gustavo (staff) are incredibly welcome people, definitely are in the right line of business in catering to travelers, they are there if you need help, advice about the town, but not in an evasive way at all.
2. Rooms, I dont know if there are different sizes, but the one we had was very spacious, and had that rustic yet trendy feel to it - good bed.
3. Grounds - The pool is smallish, but it didnt bother me at all- the breakfast area around it, and light lounge music was a good touch and made it very comfy to take an extended breakfast or relax throughout the day
4. Location - I actually liked/preferred this location - seemed like you are very far from the noise of the town (not that it's that noisy), the walk is decent, and you have an option of going down the riverside which is very pretty. We opted 1/2 the time to take their complementary bikes - nothing high-tech, but comfy enough for the 5 minute bike ride into town.
5. Breakfast - Perfect blend of eggs, breads, jams, fruits etc.


All in all, my wife and I both agree it was a sensational 3 night stay - had a blast in the town - there is lots to see here - I think 3 nights is a good time there, and with all I mentioned above- wouldn't bother looking around for another Pousada.

Many hotels/B&Bs on trip advisor are ranked #1 with 5 for 10 reviews - so it's not clear cut if it really deserves that ranking.

As of my writing, I am the 159th of 179 reviews to give it a perfect mark. That speaks for itself.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevedominic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paraty hotels
1.3 mi away
Pousada do Ouro
Pousada do Ouro
#3 of 28 in Paraty
575 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#25 of 28 in Paraty
359 reviews
1.1 mi away
Recanto da Praia
Recanto da Praia
#11 of 28 in Paraty
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Resort Croce del Sud
Resort Croce del Sud
#7 of 28 in Paraty
406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pousada Aguas de Paratii
1.1 mi away
Pousada Mare Mansa
Pousada Mare Mansa
#15 of 28 in Paraty
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pousada Guarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pousada Guarana

Address: Rua 5 13 | Portal de Paraty, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Paraty
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paraty
#5 Spa Hotel in Paraty
Price Range: £47 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Pousada Guarana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada Guarana a place of quiet and beauty For the past ten years we have tried to create a place for traveler's to get away from the hustle of daily life, or a place to relax and recharge after traveling through the big cities of Sao Paulo or Rio de Janeiro. Our hotel caters perfectly for small groups of friends, honeymooners, or couple's getaway. Here you will find quiet corners to chat or relax surrounded by lush gardens and hummingbirds sipping flower to flower. There will likely be a furry friend to keep you company as well should you desire. We want our guests to have the best experience possible. From beaches to waterfalls, fine dining to outdoor adventure, we can help you to the best our lovely town has to offer. Your hosts, David & Jimena ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Pousada Guarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Guarana Paraty
Pousada Guarana Hotel Paraty
Hotel Pousada Guarana Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing