We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pousada in Paraty!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Pousada Guarana
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Paraty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Pousada Guarana back in September 2012 for two nights and truly wished we could have stayed here longer. The owners, David and Jimena, were very accomodating, friendly and helpful. The time we spent there were kind of slow days for the pousada, but I doubt that would make any difference in the amount of attention and care we recevied:) There were several occassions where David went above and beyond to help make us feel welcome:

- he readily suggested restaurants and activities around town and how to best to get to them so we could maximize our short time in Paraty
- he supplied me with an extra bottle of shampoo when I mentioned I was running low on my own
- he chatted with us about his life, Paraty, and Brazilian life while we hung out around the pool area between activities
- and he gave us a ride to the bus station when we left (we had some heavy packs so this afforded us time to relax a little longer)

During our stay we were provided two very lovely breakfasts by the lady who worked in the kitchen. Normally the breakfast is buffet-style, but since it was just us at one point, we received a private breakfast. However, we could tell this meal was always the same high quality for everyone because when we left they did the buffet for us and two other patrons. My boyfriend particularly liked the cheesy eggs that were made for us and David actually gave him the spices that they used to take home!

As others have noted, the grounds are lovely and relaxing, and reflect the calm attitude and personality of the pousada's owners and their artistic tastes. The pousada is about a 20 minute walk from the historic center of town (and the bus station), but this is good since it provides quiet and solitude from the surprisingly bustling town. We also used the bikes provided for free by the pousada to get around, and really enjoyed biking along the canal that stretches down to the historic center. Don't bother with taxis from the bus station if you can help it - they are overpriced and unneccesary.

We also loved the presence of all the animals that David and Jimena keep on the grounds (Jimena runs an animal shelter that takes in dogs and cats and is trying to promote responsible pet ownership in Brazil). It was so nice to swing in the hammocks with puppies running around and it was nice hanging out on the big couch near the pool petting the cats that roamed the pousada. Although all the pets seemed friendly, if you are not into dogs and cats or have allergies, then you will want to reconsider staying here.

The rooms are spacious, clean and have simple but lovely decorations. We traveled with backpacks so we didn't really need drawers, but there was an open unit with hangers, shelves and a mini fridge in our room. The shower was big (compared to other places we stayed in Brazil) and the water was always hot. Exactly what we needed:)

I should also mention that David and Jimena were very responsive to emails and our questions when we were planning this trip and when we reached out to them while in-country before we arrived. That helped put my mind at ease about this place and I would definitely recommend Pousada Guarana as a place to stay in Paraty. Thanks to David and Jimena for your hospitality and we hope to return one day:)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlohaGirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed it. we were unfortunate in that it rained heavily for 85% of our stay- very bad timing. However, we still had a great time. We used the bikes they let you borrow for free, these were handy since the Pousada is on the edge of town. we had a great walk up in the hills and did some sliding down the rocks- ask David he'll tell you about this little local phenomenon.
The beach isn't great, so don't plan on going there unless you want to hire a canoe like we did. we had a fun morning in the rain canoeing around the bay.
The Pousada has a great DVD collection, this was very relaxing especially since we needed to dry out every so often and just chill after a busy time in Rio.
Restaurants are expensive in Paraty, so don't expect to find a bargain.
David will recommend a good place to go for a Caiparinha! where the guy makes his own Cachaca don't miss out, but stick with the lime one- classic is best :) it's worth it.

We took the local bus along the coast after our stay to get the boat over to Ilha Grande, this was very easy as the bus stop is just at the end of the road and this a very cheap way to travel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britishgoabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

My wife and I with 2 friends stayed at Pousada Guarana for 5 nights in February and found it very relaxing with David, the owner going out of his way to make sure everything was perfect for us. The rooms were clean and very well kept, the breakfasts were the best, with various fresh fruit, cereals, egg, fresh bread and cake with juices and coffee. They rescue local dogs and cats so they are wandering about the Pousada but are very well taken care of and are no nuisance at all. They also have an on-site massage therapist who is probably the best in Brazil, and very reasonably priced. Great experience and wouldn't hesitate to go back if we're in the area again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwoGoGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I was recommend this pousada by some friends and am so happy as it was just perfect.
David and his wife are the best hosts ever and spent a lot of time making sure our stay was perfect and helping me book the next legs of my trip.
The rooms are lovely and the pool area is so relaxing. Breakfast was amazing and there was also cake and coffee available all day. There were bikes to ride along the river into town and the restaurant recommendations were excellent
I can't recommend this place more.....please go!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abby_1234_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

From its thoughtfully designed interior to the quiet setting, Pousada Guarana is a hidden oasis even in beautiful Paraty. Despite its distance from Old Town (15-20 minute walk), it never really felt far away from the action (esp. with the bikes David kindly lent us!) and provided a relaxing atmosphere, making it feel more like a home away from home than a hotel.

But what makes this place really five stars are the hosts -- whose warmth and recommendations make you feel instantly at home. David will gladly draw up maps of nearby restaurants and is always ready with suggestions of what to do given the amount of time you have. When we were in a jiffy after realizing ATMs closed after 10 p.m., he was even kind enough to lend us 10 Reals to make sure we were able to catch our bus back to Sao Paulo in time.

Delicious (and locally-sourced organic!) breakfast, comfortable rooms, tastefully decorated property, and wonderful hosts in a beautiful sea-side town makes Pousada Guarana a five star stay and one we look forward to returning again to soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cloverdust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

A beautiful and stylish pousada. Breakfasts are excellent and the owners go out of their way to ensure a great stay. Hint: ask David for restaurant recommendations, every place we visited was superb.

It's a little out of town, but not too far (probably a 10-15 min safe walk down a well lit path next to the river) and and there are some bikes available to borrow for the day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

The Guarana Pousada is more like a small boutique hotel with 10 lovely rooms. We stayed in one with air condition which in the nice heat of Paraty was nice but the rooms are lovely and big with high ceilings and fans which do not really require air con! The rooms were spotless and even had a mini safe inside.

The Pousada does not look much from the outside but once inside it is like walking in a hidden garden with mature trees and plants. The swimming pool is perfect and refreshing after a day of exploring and the breakfast/lounge area around the pool is very nice. Breakfast is served around the pool and it has nice scrambled eggs and croisants etc and lovely juices and very tasty coffee.

The is in a very quite street about 10 minutes walk to the old town, or can use the free bikes on offer, everybody seems to cycle in Paraty!
The hosts David and his wife were great and very helpful in anything you need. Highly recommend this place for Paraty.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndreasMWAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paraty hotels
1.3 mi away
Pousada do Ouro
Pousada do Ouro
#3 of 28 in Paraty
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#24 of 28 in Paraty
358 reviews
5.0 mi away
Resort Croce del Sud
Resort Croce del Sud
#7 of 28 in Paraty
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Chale Recanto da Praia
Chale Recanto da Praia
#11 of 28 in Paraty
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pousada Aguas de Paratii
1.1 mi away
Pousada Mare Mansa
Pousada Mare Mansa
#15 of 28 in Paraty
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pousada Guarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pousada Guarana

Address: Rua 5 13 | Portal de Paraty, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Paraty
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paraty
#5 Spa Hotel in Paraty
#5 Family Hotel in Paraty
Price Range: £49 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Pousada Guarana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada Guarana a place of quiet and beauty For the past ten years we have tried to create a place for traveler's to get away from the hustle of daily life, or a place to relax and recharge after traveling through the big cities of Sao Paulo or Rio de Janeiro. Our hotel caters perfectly for small groups of friends, honeymooners, or couple's getaway. Here you will find quiet corners to chat or relax surrounded by lush gardens and hummingbirds sipping flower to flower. There will likely be a furry friend to keep you company as well should you desire. We want our guests to have the best experience possible. From beaches to waterfalls, fine dining to outdoor adventure, we can help you to the best our lovely town has to offer. Your hosts, David & Jimena ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Pousada Guarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Guarana Paraty
Pousada Guarana Hotel Paraty
Hotel Pousada Guarana Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing