We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, hidden place”
Review of Pousada Bromelias

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pousada Bromelias
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Paraty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This hotel is lovely if you are looking for a secluded, relaxing place; it is in the middle of the rain forest, thus very quiet and about 10 km from Paraty (there is a bus a few times a day; or you can take a taxi for around 25 dollars); The hotel itself is beautiful - the waterfall, the spa area, the pool and the restaurant are all nicely done and well kept;
The only slight negative point was that the staff was not particularly attentive - there was hardly any staff around and none of them spoke good English.
However, I would definitely recommend it, if you are looking for privacy and relaxation - the massages were also great!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EGiselbrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 11 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

Lovely hidden place ideal if you are looking for some fun and relaxation.
Great room with a delicious hot tube and a picturesque balcony, perfect for couples! A beautiful lake/waterfall withing the property and a tasty breakfast are the other reasons why you should go spend a weekend in Bromelias.
We loved!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Débora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and it didn't stop raining. Despite that we managed to enjoy the beautiful countryside around here. Room had a great view over the valley with lots of nice plants and birds.The waterfall right at the foot of the hotel was amazing to explore and swimming in the pool below it was amazing. The staff were very helpful and everything was well kept.
Only slight disappointment was the evening meal which was very average, we ate subsequent nights in the pousada next door (French owned with very nice food).Breakfast was great though.Overall recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights March/April 2013. Being in the rainforest we experienced a couple of rainy days, but it was the perfect place to be. Dramatic drive up through the forest to find the cluster of cottages amongst beautiful gardens. Great pool, lots of spots for sitting a reading (rain or in the sun). The chalets are fantastic but make sure to open the drawer in the table next to the bed: this houses the matches for the candles and the mosquito plug ins! We only realised this on the last night - that said the mosquitos were mostly outside and not a nuisance. Food is fantastic, as are the staff - the service tends to be relaxed, but this is to be enjoyed and is far better than being pestered every five seconds. The bar is quiet but atmospheric at night and they mix a great caiparinha! A swim in the local waterfall is a must.

Room Tip: Stay in a luxury chalet with its own jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonJosh34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

A very nice resort. Located at 4km (2.5mi) from BR-101 (coastal route).
Really good service with excelent regional food. The luxury rooms have a great Bathtub, hot water,cooler ,AC ,and sat-TV.

Beatiful place really , but bring some bug repelent as there are of course some mosquitoes (you are in the middle of the forest after all)

Would definatly come back there, althought I thought it was a little too pricey.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gfgodoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

When I was looking for a place to stay in or near Paraty I read a review that said that there are no birds near Paraty. That seemed strange. Since Bromelias seemed a bit out of town (20 min by car), I decided to book there with my birding wife and friends. The hotel website's good directions got us there just before nightfall. My wife and I had the luxury suit - and the 1st night was awful! While we had something like a mosquito net around 3 sides of the bed, the mosquitoes found there way easily through the 4th side. And there were many, since it had been raining. The next morning I asked what we could do about the mosquitoes and was told that there were some gizmos in the drawer. Fortunately I had just bought the same device for my home in Rio and knew that you have to insert a strip of repellent (also in the drawer) into the device and then plug that into an outlet. 2nd night was much better, and in the 3rd (with newly opened repellent) there were no mosquitoes! (To make sure, remove the key from the plastic card and leave that in the slot to continue having power in the room. Just turn the lights out!) There was one other problem: nobody showed us how to turn on the outside door light. While the grounds are well lit, that is not the case at the cabin entrance. Unfortunately because of this, my wife fell trying to get to the door before I got the flashlight out. After that we finally found the outside light switch! Oh, and only one person speaks some English and she isn't there all the time. - So why a ''very good'' rating? The grounds are fantastic! It's an old cocoa plantation and there are many of the birds you see in the Ubatuba hotspots (Best bird seen: Cinnamon-vented Piha from the deck of my cabin). So, if you are a birder but your family is not, this place is great. There is a nice pool. The spa facilities near the natural pool are beautiful as is anything that has been built. Very artistic and at times Japanese inspired. Paraty is a gem and the stores are fun. Finally, the food at Bromelias is great! One last thing: The luxury cabins are worth it only if you use the tub, something rare in Brazil, and like a large deck. The standard cabin my friends had seemed very nice but without these.

Room Tip: Luxury cabins are nearer the forest edge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gypsgris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed next door at Le Gite D'indaitatiba, but as their restaurant was shut we had 2 meals here & wandered around their facilities.
The food was very good. Especially the first meal was provided during a power cut.
The place is beautiful, with lovely grounds and facilities.
I cant comment on the rooms, but I would expect them to be lovely.
I guess my thoughts if you are looking at both places are: Bromelias is 4 star all hedges clipped & perfect, all very beautiful & nice. Le Gite is trough around the edges, but close enough to enjoy both sites ( a 10 min walk). I dont imagine because of the setting, anything can beat Loft 2 at at Le Gite for a room !

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliet h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paraty hotels
Pousada do Ouro
#3 of 28 in Paraty
575 reviews
Pousada do Sandi
#5 of 28 in Paraty
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic City Center
Pousada Porto Imperial
Pousada Porto Imperial
#4 of 28 in Paraty
546 reviews
Recanto da Praia
#10 of 28 in Paraty
206 reviews
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#25 of 28 in Paraty
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Bromelias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Bromelias

Address: Rodovia Rio-Santos BR-101, Km 562 | Graúna, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Paraty
#8 Romantic Hotel in Paraty
Price Range: £104 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Bromelias 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada Bromelias In a 500.000m2 area, with only 10 bungalows completely independent and apart from the social areas, you will find comfort and privacy. A hideaway place with tranquility and peace for you to relax and renew your energies: This is Pousada Bromelias. Built in harmony with the nature, inside the Atlantic Forest, you will find a diverse and amazing scenery with native flora, many kinds of trees, rare bird species and few small native animals that can be seen everywhere. Social Areas:>> Bar and Restaurant>> Tennis Court>> Swimming pool - Adult and Children>> Natural Pool by the waterfall and Waterfall>> Sauna by the waterfall>> Lounge with game room>> Spa for Body Treatments>> Spa for Ofuro Baths>> Parking lot>> WI-FI>> Pool and Beach towels are provided ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pousada Bromelias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Bromelias Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing