We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but overpriced”
Review of Pousada Bromelias

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pousada Bromelias
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Paraty
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good but overpriced”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The place is lovely. Right in the rain forest away from everything. Very peaceful and beautiful. Chalets are well equipped but lack quality finishings. You are in the middle of the rainforest so do expect a damp smell! There are plenty of mosquitos and for some reason the net in our room only covered 3 sides of the bed completely. Breakfast was good and typical of Brazil (cakes, bread, cheese, juice), coffee sucked.

In terms of customer service - the place was pretty deserted of staff. We checked in when we checked out as there was nobody to greet us as we arrived late at night and nobody the next morning at reception.

If I was to come back to Paraty, I'd probably look elsewhere to stay to be honest. But the location, scenery were great - just overall the value for money wasn't there (typical Brazil!)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stuayoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    41
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
108
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I would probably given this place a higher rating if I was given a chance to stay there. After making online reservation via hotel's site and receiving an e-mail confirmation, next thing I know is that the hotel owner "forgot" about my booking and double-booked my room for Easter weekend. No apologies was made from his part, but instead I was offered to be re-booked for the most expensive ( and still available) unit in the hotel, and pay the difference from my pocket (yes! no more, no less). After I called for 5 days and was unable to reach the owner ( his receptionists kept telling me he was away, didn't own a cell phone, etc, etc) I finally received an e-mail from him, advising that... my already double-booked reservation was canceled (?!)
Well, I guess an extensive customer service training is an absolute a "must" for this place... The respect for the customer is nowhere in place, and the owners mistakes are compensated by customer's wallet. I will never again book in this place. There are many more places around Paraty that offer excellent treatment to its customers.

Room Tip: best advice - don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ukraniana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbrovsky, Proprietário at Pousada Bromelias, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Ukraniana,

Your reservation has never been confirmed. According to our Policy, bookings are only confirmed with a 50% down payment, which it did not happen in your case. You have tried to make the booking and unfortunately, due to an internet system problem, you were not given the chance to make the payment and then confirm your booking.

We did offer you another option of accommodation which was available. Of course the price for Luxury is not the same price for Standard. If we had actuallly double booked your bungalow, then it would be correct to offer you an upgrade, but Ukraniana, YOU DID NOT MAKE ANY PAYMENT TO US. Instead, you have made several phone calls during 5 days, disrespecting our staff with very low comments and impolite words.

You have also threatened us in writing bad things in web channels such as this one, in case we did not accept your offer in booking a Luxury for the price of Standard.
No, we do not have to accept such proposal after so many low comments and threats. We have the right to not accept this situation.

We have been in this business for 16 years now and we really praise Peace and Respect to others.

Writing such a review here only shows that you are not familiar with Hotel procedures and Travel plans.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This hotel is lovely if you are looking for a secluded, relaxing place; it is in the middle of the rain forest, thus very quiet and about 10 km from Paraty (there is a bus a few times a day; or you can take a taxi for around 25 dollars); The hotel itself is beautiful - the waterfall, the spa area, the pool and the restaurant are all nicely done and well kept;
The only slight negative point was that the staff was not particularly attentive - there was hardly any staff around and none of them spoke good English.
However, I would definitely recommend it, if you are looking for privacy and relaxation - the massages were also great!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EGiselbrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Lovely hidden place ideal if you are looking for some fun and relaxation.
Great room with a delicious hot tube and a picturesque balcony, perfect for couples! A beautiful lake/waterfall withing the property and a tasty breakfast are the other reasons why you should go spend a weekend in Bromelias.
We loved!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Débora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lambourn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and it didn't stop raining. Despite that we managed to enjoy the beautiful countryside around here. Room had a great view over the valley with lots of nice plants and birds.The waterfall right at the foot of the hotel was amazing to explore and swimming in the pool below it was amazing. The staff were very helpful and everything was well kept.
Only slight disappointment was the evening meal which was very average, we ate subsequent nights in the pousada next door (French owned with very nice food).Breakfast was great though.Overall recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights March/April 2013. Being in the rainforest we experienced a couple of rainy days, but it was the perfect place to be. Dramatic drive up through the forest to find the cluster of cottages amongst beautiful gardens. Great pool, lots of spots for sitting a reading (rain or in the sun). The chalets are fantastic but make sure to open the drawer in the table next to the bed: this houses the matches for the candles and the mosquito plug ins! We only realised this on the last night - that said the mosquitos were mostly outside and not a nuisance. Food is fantastic, as are the staff - the service tends to be relaxed, but this is to be enjoyed and is far better than being pestered every five seconds. The bar is quiet but atmospheric at night and they mix a great caiparinha! A swim in the local waterfall is a must.

Room Tip: Stay in a luxury chalet with its own jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonJosh34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

A very nice resort. Located at 4km (2.5mi) from BR-101 (coastal route).
Really good service with excelent regional food. The luxury rooms have a great Bathtub, hot water,cooler ,AC ,and sat-TV.

Beatiful place really , but bring some bug repelent as there are of course some mosquitoes (you are in the middle of the forest after all)

Would definatly come back there, althought I thought it was a little too pricey.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gfgodoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paraty hotels
Pousada do Sandi
#5 of 28 in Paraty
509 reviews
Pousada do Ouro
#3 of 28 in Paraty
545 reviews
Historic City Center
Pousada Porto Imperial
Pousada Porto Imperial
#4 of 28 in Paraty
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#24 of 28 in Paraty
353 reviews
Pousada da Condessa
#6 of 28 in Paraty
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Bromelias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Bromelias

Property: Pousada Bromelias
Address: Rodovia Rio-Santos BR-101, Km 562 | Graúna, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Paraty
#8 Romantic Hotel in Paraty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Bromelias 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada Bromelias In a 500.000m2 area, with only 10 bungalows completely independent and apart from the social areas, you will find comfort and privacy. A hideaway place with tranquility and peace for you to relax and renew your energies: This is Pousada Bromelias. Built in harmony with the nature, inside the Atlantic Forest, you will find a diverse and amazing scenery with native flora, many kinds of trees, rare bird species and few small native animals that can be seen everywhere. Social Areas:>> Bar and Restaurant>> Tennis Court>> Swimming pool - Adult and Children>> Natural Pool by the waterfall and Waterfall>> Sauna by the waterfall>> Lounge with game room>> Spa for Body Treatments>> Spa for Ofuro Baths>> Parking lot>> WI-FI>> Pool and Beach towels are provided ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pousada Bromelias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Bromelias Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing