We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostel Sereia do Mar
Ranked #60 of 257 Speciality Lodging in Paraty
Dungog, Australia
1 review
“Great location, Helpful staff”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Really enjoyed my time at this hostel. Loved the locaton, across from the beach where we hired paddle boards. Very helpful staff, great pizzas, good atmosphere, but lots of mosquitoes. Rooms clean and a comfortale size.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    55
    29
    17
    16
See reviews for
18
52
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jena
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We spend only one night at the hostel in a 10-bed dorm (35 Real including breakfast).
The hostel is about 20-30min walking or 5min by bus from the historical centre of Paraty and in my opinion it's not worthwhile. It is exactly in front of the beach but neither the beach nor the water seemed very clean to me. Therefore, it might be better to stay in the centre and visit other and more beautiful beaches by bus or boat.
The dorm was really packed with beds, most matresses were bad and there was one(!) bathroom for the 10-bed dorm and a 4-bed private room. We were there alone in low season, but it must be nice to be number 14 in the line of the morning toilette.. The hot water shower did not work. Cleanliness was alright.
The breakfast was good and the service very kind and helpful. Wifi worked.
The communal kitchen is small and not very inviting. There are very little tools available (but you can ask at the restaurant kitchen if you need anything).
I didn't try the pool.

All in all, you might find a better place in the historical centre.

Room Tip: Many rooms are in the front towards the pool and restaurant. But there are also rooms at the back wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thereblabla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Bittersweet stay at this hostel. Location is good right across from the beach with access to non motorised activities such as kayaking and stand up paddle. A short walk to town as well.

The staff were a mixed bunch with Peppi from Peru being most organised and helpful and then Mumma plastic surgery with no clue but a big smile as she wastes your time not answering your questions but waffling crap.

My partner and I stayed in a private room with its own bathroom at the end of the complex. It was interesting, when it rains the roof leaked a little and dropped dust as well of allow for loads of mozzies to get through the many cracks in the wood. The live music each night makes it difficult to sleep before midnight also.

We we're camping prior to our 3 night stay and must say we probably would have had more luck in our tents.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WillaBee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The hostel has a real "beach house-look to" it. Since it wasn't high season, we got an upgrade of our room. The room was not extremely spacious, but it was definitely OK. The hostel is located directly at the beach, so you can be sure you will wake up to a nice view. A downside is that it is not that close to the town center, but i have experienced it as a nice walk everyday I did it. The owner and personnel is really helpfull and when we left they even took us to the bus station. If you need anything, they will do everything they can to help!

Room Tip: We had a room at the street side. This was nice, since there is little traffic, but you have a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LNordin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hereford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We have been travelling around south America for 5 months now and while the staff were very nice it was probably he worst hostel we stayed in. The whole place smelt of drains at times and everything seemed a bit rough and badly made. There was loud music keeping us awake and it was awful music at that. There is a pool but I don't know why they bothered as it was about the same size as a bath and it was very dirty. The other people we stayed with went in a dorm room which apparently stank of urine and some had a toilet leak on their face overnight from the room upstairs.
The only positive is the staff were very nice and friendly. My advice is stay at the camp site up the road

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paraty hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed in a lovely double room for our first two nights. Such a comfy bed with two big huge pillows each. Private bathroom too. Beautifull wood finish everywhere, really warming :-) we moved to a dorm for the next few nights and found it just as comfy. I would highly recommend this hostel. I felt so relaxed and happy here. Best pizza I have ever had too.. dont miss out; eat in their in-hostle restaurant; its to die for !! <3

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breenamch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights and so glad we made the effort to get here. It's right on jabaquara beach which is the most beautiful beach in Paraty, the staff are lovely and really helpful. There are great restaurants close by. The vibe of the hostel is chilled and friendly. It's a ten to fifteen minute walk into town but so worth making the journey as its a great hostel and the beach is beautiful. Go to la luna restaurant almost opposite as that is fab too!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riss2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paraty hotels
1.2 mi away
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#25 of 28 in Paraty
348 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chill Inn Paraty Hostel & Pousada
1.0 mi away
Pousada Vitoria
Pousada Vitoria
#34 of 296 in Paraty
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Che Lagarto Hostel Paraty
0.7 mi away
Geko Hostel Paraty
Geko Hostel Paraty
#11 of 257 in Paraty
291 reviews
0.7 mi away
Conchas De Paraty Pousada
Conchas De Paraty Pousada
#93 of 296 in Paraty
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Sereia do Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Sereia do Mar

Property: Hostel Sereia do Mar
Address: Av. Jabaquara 33, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 257 Speciality Lodging in Paraty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Sereia do Mar 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the seafront, the Sereia do Mar is a unique place in a fascinating scenario: the Jabaquara Bay, a beach of calm waters and unique horizon, just a few minutes walk from the historic center of Paraty. Enjoy a full and tasty breakfast when you wake up, get close to an island in one of our kayaks, dance along during our live shows, try our delicious pizzas and caipirinhas ... these are just some of the great things that await you when you stay with us. All in a familiar and contagiously cheerful atmosphere with a staff that loves Paraty and enjoys to provide you an unforgettable vacation! Anyone under 18 must be accompanied by a guardian. Guests under 18 permitted only in private rooms(unless an entire dorm is rented). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hostel Sereia do Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Sereia Do Mar Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing